Old 05-26-2020, 12:21 PM   #1
JimS
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper Instruments

Hi Folks,

Brand new user of Reaper, downloaded first time yesterday morning and spent the day watching Kenny's videos, which were excellent.

My background is a gigging musician for years, singer/guitar player. I wrote some tunes years ago using a Yamaha 4 track cassette player and only recently started using a DAW; Cubase LE 9.0 which came free with an Audient interface. Of course, been struggling with Cubase big time and then someone mentioned to checkout Reaper. After watching Kenny's videos, I was sold. Bye bye Cubase.

I'm still very fresh to the whole DAW thing and will be going on a major learning curve for a while. My first project is going to be a cover of "Everybody Wants to Rule the World". I found the shaker sound, but am still looking for the synth sounds, which I'm to understand is from a Prophet 6. The search continues.

My question is about the Instruments, in Kenny's videos he mentioned Reaper comes with a lot of stuff, but I found only a few instruments in the menu. Is there another file I need to download that has instruments? Thanks all!

Jim
JimS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 12:29 PM   #2
Tobbe

Hi,

Their are tons of free VSTi out there. If you into orchestra music we have Spitfire Labs free instruments. We also got Orchestral Tools. And this place: http://www.vst4free.com. Not only vsti, but also top notch reverbs, EQ, delays. Good reverbs are DragonFly Suite.
Old 05-26-2020, 12:36 PM   #3
billybuck

Jim, the Reaper instruments are pretty bare-bones, likely designed to get you through in a pinch, IMO. While they can be used to recreate a lot of sounds, you’d probably need to use multiple instances of them, along with incorporating other Reaper effects. That’s probably a little daunting if you’re just starting in a DAW.