Old 12-20-2018, 08:48 AM   #1
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 115
Default Anyone knows how precise is Reatune in cents?

I mostly use Reatune to tune my string instruments and it`s pretty cool but when I got a 5 string bass and a baritone guitar Reatune seemed to dislike`em as it`s digital "needle" jumps like crazy making tuning process slightly complicated. Think about getting Peterson software or maybe smth else, just wanna make sure that would be a huge improvement, so I need to know Reatune accuracy in cents to compare
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 09:12 AM   #2
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23,444
Default

Have you tried increasing the window size? Usually need to do that for bass etc. so that the window is big enough for those longer waveforms.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 09:18 AM   #3
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Have you tried increasing the window size? Usually need to do that for bass etc. so that the window is big enough for those longer waveforms.
Hi again!
Umm, actually no, I`ll do it asap
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 05:24 PM   #4
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,236
Default

I set mine to 200mS and saved it as the default. Haven't needed to touch it since.

If you use ReaTune to convert audio to midi, you may have to shorten it up again to get it responsive to short notes though.
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 03:18 AM   #5
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philbo King View Post
I set mine to 200mS and saved it as the default. Haven't needed to touch it since.

If you use ReaTune to convert audio to midi, you may have to shorten it up again to get it responsive to short notes though.
Oh no, I have a hardware midi conveter. Thanks!
How did you set it as default? I`d like to do as well, also I want every new project starting with 1\128 snap grid. Would be super nice
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 08:53 AM   #6
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 111 View Post
How did you set it as default? I`d like to do as well
Click the "+" button > Save as default preset.
Quote:
also I want every new project starting with 1\128 snap grid. Would be super nice
I would close all projects first so you get your current default project settings, then after setting all the project type changes you want, go to Project Settings > Save as default.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 08:59 AM   #7
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23,444
Default

A potential helpful hint...

I keep an instance of ReaTune in the Monitor FX chain. That makes it global and in every project, and retains the window setting (I think). Also, it's handy because I keep it disabled until I need it and anytime I need it, I just enable and press the solo button on the track I'm tuning from.

Hope this helps.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 12:18 PM   #8
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 115
Default

Awesome! Thanks everyone!
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.