Old 01-19-2019, 08:57 PM   #1
thetechguy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 6
Default is there a keyboard shortcut for recording?

Hi all,
I have installed many plugins and i am ready to start. To make it easier is there a keyboard short cut for recording and stop recording?
I appreciate any help.
thanks.
thetechguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 03:44 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,983
Default

Go to the actions window and type in transport record and you'll see if there's any shortcut assigned or you can assign your own
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 11:04 AM   #3
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 2,784
Default

CTRL-R starts and stops recording.
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 11:07 AM   #4
Jack Ruston
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 213
Default

Bind it to whatever you like - for me, F12
__________________
www.jackruston.com
Jack Ruston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 12:34 PM   #5
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,687
Default

⌘R is default. (Might be control-R in Windows.)
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 01:05 PM   #6
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 167
Default

"r" for me... Simples......
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 01:36 PM   #7
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,823
Default

I use the R key to start and the space bar to stop
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 01:46 PM   #8
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,706
Default

Note that in preferences you can enable an alternate set of actions that work only while Reaper is recording. I use this to prevent accidentally stopping the recording by bumping the spacebar, etc.

I can also hit 'esc' during a recording to immediately stop and delete all the most recently recorded files from disk (saves hard drive space and time to just get rid of bad takes on the fly). Or I can hit 'R' to retry just the last take with a single key press (built a custom action for this).
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 02:01 PM   #9
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Note that in preferences you can enable an alternate set of actions that work only while Reaper is recording. I use this to prevent accidentally stopping the recording by bumping the spacebar, etc.

I can also hit 'esc' during a recording to immediately stop and delete all the most recently recorded files from disk (saves hard drive space and time to just get rid of bad takes on the fly). Or I can hit 'R' to retry just the last take with a single key press (built a custom action for this).
Where is this in prefs please ?
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 02:05 PM   #10
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Where is this in prefs please ?
prefs/keyboard/use alternate... Then you'll have a new section in the actions list dropdown .
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool

Last edited by foxAsteria; 01-20-2019 at 02:14 PM.
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 02:51 PM   #11
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
prefs/keyboard/use alternate... Then you'll have a new section in the actions list dropdown .
Nice. Is there a way to start with the same already assigned keys in Main and then modify Main (alt) from there ?

My Main alt comes up with no keys assigned.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 03:24 PM   #12
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Nice. Is there a way to start with the same already assigned keys in Main and then modify Main (alt) from there ?
Nope. Hence my longstanding request for global shortcuts, which is now in the dev releases but still does not address this problem:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=51517
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 03:47 PM   #13
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,983
Default

Can I copy and paste in a keyboard.ini file or something
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 04:03 PM   #14
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Can I copy and paste in a keyboard.ini file or something
I figured there would be a way but couldn't figure out which file....didn't look too hard tho.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 02:26 PM   #15
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,550
Default

Shortcuts are at the end of the reaper-kb.ini file.
Here is an example of how the shortcuts are shown:

KEY 5 73 24900 0
Where
KEY 5 73 is SHIFT+I
24900 is the action Command ID.
The last 0 is the action menu id number for the Main.

It seems the action menu id number for the MIDI editor is 32060 and for the Main (alt recording) 100. I haven't checked it for any other menus.

Last edited by xpander; 01-21-2019 at 02:31 PM.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 02:31 PM   #16
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Shortcuts are at the end of the reaper-kb.ini file.
Here is an example of how the shortcuts are shown:

KEY 5 73 24900 0
Where
KEY 5 73 is SHIFT+I
24900 is the action Command ID.
The last 0 is the action menu number for the Main.




It seems the id number for the Main (alt recording) is 100.
Thanks but there doesn't seem an easy way to copy them all over to Main (alt recording). I don't really need this so no big deal.

This is my file for example. https://pastebin.com/zNuG28Hq
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.