Old 03-20-2007, 02:51 PM   #1
JPV
Human being with feelings
 
JPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 150
Default "Apply FX to item as new take" question

I am trying to use the "Apply FX to item as new take" feature to destructively apply fades to audio clips, however I find that this will sometimes result in a short tail being added to the end of the clip.

Is this normal behavior?

What I am trying to do, is achieve a crossfade loop by splitting an audio clip in half, then moving the first piece of the clip to the end and the end piece to the front and then overlapping them for the crossfade. I then glue the 2 pieces together.

In order to remove any clicks, I am trying to apply a very short fade to the start and finish, of the glued clip, and then use "Apply FX to item as new take" to destructively apply the fades. However when this tail appears, the whole thing is ruined.

Any thoughts?

Last edited by JPV; 03-20-2007 at 03:05 PM.
JPV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 03:08 PM   #2
quasar333666
Human being with feelings
 
quasar333666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 110
Default

Try
Preferences>Media>Tail length when using Apply effects to media:

Set it to 0.

Welcome to the Harvest.
__________________
http://www.quasartrance.com
"Give me Reaper, or give me death!"
quasar333666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 03:25 PM   #3
JPV
Human being with feelings
 
JPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 150
Default

Thanks, I was looking for something like that, as I saw mention of being able to change the tail, but couldn't find it.
JPV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 03:29 PM   #4
bigwoody
Human being with feelings
 
bigwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,681
Default

Unless you are actually affecting the new track with some kind of fx, it would be much easier to do this with "Glue". Move your items as you described, get happy with the cross fades, then select the two (or as many pieces as you want) the right click and choose "Glue Selected Items"....bango, you should be all set!
bigwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 03:41 PM   #5
JPV
Human being with feelings
 
JPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwoody View Post
Unless you are actually affecting the new track with some kind of fx, it would be much easier to do this with "Glue". Move your items as you described, get happy with the cross fades, then select the two (or as many pieces as you want) the right click and choose "Glue Selected Items"....bango, you should be all set!
Yeah, but glue won't destructively apply fades.
JPV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 03:50 PM   #6
bigwoody
Human being with feelings
 
bigwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,681
Default

Pretty sure that it does....try a quick test. I just did with a pretty strong cross fade as well as a volume change on the second part...all were "taken"
bigwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 04:10 PM   #7
JPV
Human being with feelings
 
JPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwoody View Post
Pretty sure that it does....try a quick test. I just did with a pretty strong cross fade as well as a volume change on the second part...all were "taken"
Not here it doesn't. Try moving the fade handle back after applying "glue", and see if the fade is still there.
JPV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 05:43 PM   #8
bigwoody
Human being with feelings
 
bigwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,681
Default

Yep your right. The glue will honor the cross fades, but not the fades and the beginning and end....interesting and probably makes sense as there is nothing to "glue" to at that point (only at the join). So at the end of the day you got your question answered about the tails, and I learned something as well. Since you are trying to use these as loops you would want the fades to become part of the new file, so that makes sense too.
bigwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 06:16 PM   #9
JPV
Human being with feelings
 
JPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 150
Default

Yeah, it's still tough sometimes to get smooth loops, even using short fades, due to the fact that sometime the slope of the end and start don't always match right, even if they fade in/out to zero.

I'm finding that the best way is to trim at zero crossing points.

Now if Reaper only had a snap to zero crossing toggle.
JPV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 11:48 PM   #10
Staccato
Human being with feelings
 
Staccato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coos Bay, OR
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPV View Post
Yeah, it's still tough sometimes to get smooth loops, even using short fades, due to the fact that sometime the slope of the end and start don't always match right, even if they fade in/out to zero.

I'm finding that the best way is to trim at zero crossing points.

Now if Reaper only had a snap to zero crossing toggle.
I hope that it shall.
__________________
Playback's A Bitch
Staccato is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.