Old 12-22-2010, 04:28 PM   #1
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default Windows 7 64 People.

Do you run 'As Administrator'?

Just curious. If so why?
lxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 05:32 PM   #2
djz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 176
Default

I don't. Not really any reason to run as admin.
djz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 05:36 PM   #3
mtsproductions
Human being with feelings
 
mtsproductions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cinemaland
Posts: 1,366
Default

Absorutley as admin its a windows 7 security thingy majigy actually some aps you won't be able to install unless you are runing as admin I just disabled the whole uac option
__________________
Cinematic Sound Design
mtsproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 05:40 PM   #4
Sigilus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,763
Default

I stripped out security so no. But if you have UAC enabled, you should.
Sigilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 05:42 PM   #5
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,544
Default

Quote:
I stripped out security so no.

+1!! That's the best way.
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 06:07 PM   #6
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenneth R. View Post
I stripped out security so no. But if you have UAC enabled, you should.
How do I do this?
lxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 06:14 PM   #7
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,544
Default

Go to Control panel. In the use accounts there is a link to change UAC settings. I pulled the slider all the way down and am now never asked for "permission".
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 10:56 AM   #8
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,374
Default

I've run all my computers for the last 10 years as admin. I also run all my current W7 systems (32 and 64 bit) as admin with UAC turned off too.
I also run a hardware firewall for internet.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 11:50 PM   #9
chrisharbin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,031
Default

I realize that having the UAC off is considered a no-no for security reasons, but I ditched it (moved the slider to off) Even as admin, I couldn't always install stuff. Software companies have told me (vista/win7) to ditch it.

I'm sure there is the other side of the coin but vista/win7 (currently x64) for about 2 years without incident.
chrisharbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 02:02 AM   #10
joelsampson
Human being with feelings
 
joelsampson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 892
Default

No. Unless prompted by software, such as Sonar to register enter the code. It's not like the admin account of Linux (or UNIX) which can keep you out of trouble. So it would probably be ok. . .
__________________
Trying to get work out the door. . .
My resource links: http://www.djemberecords.com/links.html
joelsampson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 11:42 PM   #11
raaja
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxm View Post
Do you run 'As Administrator'?

Just curious. If so why?
No need - Just run as Admin when you are installing.
After installation its all casual.
raaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.