Old 01-23-2015, 01:48 PM   #1
Muddy Tbone
Human being with feelings
 
Muddy Tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 302
Default Does Reaper Have a Tool to Measure Amplitude?

I have a keeper track and a comp track that have been mistakenly recorded at different levels. This is a first for me I always keep accurate tracking notes to avoid things like this.

Does Reaper have a tool (aside from the track dB meter) where I can view the signal level of each track, in order to match the output levels? I'm just trying to get reasonably close in the volume of each track and then fine tune the volume matching by ear.

I'm automating the mute function of both the keeper and the comp track alternating back and forth masking a few mistakes. It's very important that the volume of both tracks be identical.
__________________
I wouldn't want to be a member of a club that would have me as a member of the club...Groucho Marx
Muddy Tbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 01:54 PM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,836
Default

No specific tools are really needed, what I would do is put a time select around an area that is played the same on both parts i.e. similar dynamics and peaks, and then match the sticky peak value (reset by clicking on the meter if it's old) on both tracks.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 02:16 PM   #3
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,870
Default

In SWS, you have a measurement tool, and even a normalization (to X dB) tool. Just type "RMS" in the action list, and you'll find it!
__________________
Windows 7x64 SP1 | NVidia Quadro2000, 10.18.13.6191 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.2.1
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 02:49 PM   #4
Muddy Tbone
Human being with feelings
 
Muddy Tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beingmf View Post
In SWS, you have a measurement tool, and even a normalization (to X dB) tool. Just type "RMS" in the action list, and you'll find it!
OK thanks. Now it's time to download SWS. I've never worked with the SWS extensions before.
__________________
I wouldn't want to be a member of a club that would have me as a member of the club...Groucho Marx
Muddy Tbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.