Old 09-06-2018, 06:59 AM   #161
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,629
Default

You in fact can read a file into memory and use the content as a number of samples and then output one after the other in an @block to the sample variable(s).

BTW.: it would be better to create a new topic instead of hijacking an unrelated thread.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 12:23 AM   #162
ReaMike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 88
Default

Very nice!
ReaMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 03:24 PM   #163
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,167
Default

Hello again!

I'd noticed this when using PadSynth in Windows 7 (64-bit) and now I notice it as well in Linux...

When first loading PadSynth, the CPU spikes very high (causing Xruns in the process) and then after several seconds it settles down to a reasonable level.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 07:33 AM   #164
geraintluff
Human being with feelings
 
geraintluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mostly inside my own head
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
I'd noticed this when using PadSynth in Windows 7 (64-bit) and now I notice it as well in Linux...

When first loading PadSynth, the CPU spikes very high (causing Xruns in the process) and then after several seconds it settles down to a reasonable level.
Yeah - it's generating a bunch of samples to use later. I expect it behaves the same when you hit "Regenerate" after modifying the waveform parameters.

I have already spread this out over the first 18 blocks (one per sample), so that REAPER remains somewhat responsive instead of completely locking up for a couple of seconds.

If it's particularly bad on some configurations (e.g. tiny block sizes, maybe?) then I can poke it a bit more. However, I'm afraid that aside from spreading it out even more carefully, there's not much else I can do about it - because JSFX (rightly!) doesn't have background threads for this kind of processing.

Last edited by geraintluff; 10-10-2018 at 08:07 AM.
geraintluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 01:37 PM   #165
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,167
Default

Thanks for the explanation!

I'm using relatively conservative block sizes (256, 3 blocks) and I even tested it today with 512 (and 2 blocks). Also my CPU isn't "throttled"; it's operating all the time at full frequency.

My CPU is a Core i3 6300, so it's not amazing. But it's quite adequate for lots of other software synths.

I don't expect that you'll change your plugin based on what I'm saying; I know it's not all about me. But I wanted to make you aware of what is happening, in case it is a concern in general.

Update: the latest dev build of Linux Reaper fixed my "non-stop xruns" problem (that had nothing to do with PadSynth), so now I can load PadSynth and just wait a few seconds for the CPU to "calm down" (it'll make some realtime xruns, but they'll stop), then I can use the pluginy. So there's no specific problem in Linux Reaper when using PadSynth. The CPU does spike when loading presets but that'll happen in any OS.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18_x64) - REAPER for Linux

Last edited by JamesPeters; 10-11-2018 at 03:26 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2018, 11:38 AM   #166
geraintluff
Human being with feelings
 
geraintluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mostly inside my own head
Posts: 279
Default New effect: Atlantis Reverb

I wanted to write an effect for super-long ambient reverbs/textures, so: here's Atlantis Reverb:



(audio demo)

It uses some of the same concepts as PaulStretch, so it can be used to make similar sounds. The shimmer section lets you add gradual octave-shifting to the reverb, to add some high-end sparkle.

Have fun, and let me know what you think!

Geraint

Last edited by geraintluff; 11-27-2018 at 04:56 AM. Reason: Renamed "sparkle" to "shimmer" - thanks @sinkmusic :)
geraintluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2018, 11:46 AM   #167
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,329
Default

A Paulstretch-alike reverb ! wow, let's go try it !
Thank you !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2018, 11:47 AM   #168
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,329
Default

... Listening to the audio files on your website, it sounds a bit like a Shimmer reverb, with a strong octave effect. I will try it tonight, thanks again for sharing
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 08:22 AM   #169
citizenkeith
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 660
Default

I was mixing somebody's home-recorded tracks yesterday, and the bass guitar DI had some transient spots... I tried Smooth Limiter for the first time and was VERY impressed. Added this one to my Favorites folder, where it joins Spring-Box. Thank you for your hard work!
citizenkeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 01:20 PM   #170
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,736
Default

I find all GL plugins really just incredible.
And that they are all free is utterly insane, i would genrerously pay for them if they weren't.

GL Rocks !!
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 04:26 PM   #171
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Xalapa, Mexico
Posts: 756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geraintluff View Post
I wanted to write an effect for super-long ambient reverbs/textures, so: here's Atlantis Reverb:

(audio demo)

It uses some of the same concepts as PaulStretch, so it can be used to make similar sounds. The shimmer dial lets you add gradual octave-shifting to the reverb, to add some high-end sparkle.

Have fun, and let me know what you think!

Geraint
What a wonderful new reverb! I love it and see already a lot of cases where it would fit just perfectly. Such a nice fresh colour!
timothys_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 04:29 PM   #172
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 333
Default

Ooh yeah. Nice verb

Thanks man!
__________________
[Tunes] | [Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [Routing Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [Filther: Thread|Github|Reapack]
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 04:51 PM   #173
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,175
Default

atlantis-fact,or,fiction>?

seems to be a js fact these dayzz.
another great share=franks_a_lot!
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2018, 09:34 AM   #174
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,691
Default

Now, we have reverb, filther, tracker, patterns, what is missing is some sound awesome generator to trigger those? Any suggestions? (beside synth1, oatmeal, farbrausch, hammer and string, Venom VB-303) Oh we have already PadSynth. Plus Airwindows arsenal.

It could be a fun game, allowing a limited set of tools, created here mainly, then seeing what is possible using only those. For example I would allow above mentioned vsti, beside all what is available for Reaper freely as jsfx or shared vst. Synth1, Oatmeal, Farbrausch, Hammer and String, Venom VB-303, PadSynth, Airwindows (e.g. channel4, console, totape5, basskit). Plus I want to add another magic free mono vst, from Amiga times, sounds fantastic: Aegis.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 01:10 AM   #175
sightlessness
Human being with feelings
 
sightlessness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 852
Default

Spring box is awesome, sounds great in your youtube demo (your voice I take it).
Thanks for sharing.
__________________
I want to live PEACEFULLY PLEASE WORLD "LEADERS" GET THIS DONE/LET IT BE FOR GOOD AND MAKE HISTORYYYYYYY! Thanks.
sightlessness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 04:34 AM   #176
geraintluff
Human being with feelings
 
geraintluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mostly inside my own head
Posts: 279
Default

It's really great (and motivating) to hear that people are enjoying my effects.

Quote:
Originally Posted by geraintluff View Post
I wanted to write an effect for super-long ambient reverbs/textures, so: here's Atlantis Reverb
Updated with a new feature: release mode! Note the new controls in the "decay" section:



If you have a super-long reverb, it can end up muddy if you change chords too fast. This feature lets you move all the current echoes over to a second faster-decaying reverb line. When triggered briefly just before a new chord is introduced, this means the previous chord is moved over to the faster-decay line, so it competes less with the new chord.

Releases can be triggered by clicking the button, by automation (button can record envelopes), or by lifting the sustain pedal (CC-64) if you have that switch turned on. You should see a white line appear in the spectrum display, decaying faster than the orange one.

Geraint
Attached Images
File Type: png Atlantis-Reverb.png (17.9 KB, 382 views)

Last edited by geraintluff; 11-28-2018 at 08:18 AM.
geraintluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 06:28 PM   #177
Arthur McArthur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 435
Default

These new FX are fantastic, Geraint. As a fun little challenge, I wanted to make a quick sketch using only your plugins (no external or REAPER fx, even EQ.) I had a blast and the diversity of sounds I could make was surprising.


MP3 here:

https://instaud.io/2Z2Y
Attached Files
File Type: rpp GeraintFX only sketch. Arthur McArthur.RPP (213.1 KB, 23 views)
Arthur McArthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 01:22 AM   #178
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,691
Default

Cool Arthur, did you use impyC?
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 07:36 PM   #179
Arthur McArthur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 435
Default

Thanks Tone. No I didn't, I started producing relatively recently (12ish years ago) and started on FL Studio so I never got used to or liked MPC workflow
Arthur McArthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 11:47 AM   #180
Jorgen
Human being with feelings
 
Jorgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 5,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur McArthur View Post
These new FX are fantastic, Geraint. As a fun little challenge, I wanted to make a quick sketch using only your plugins (no external or REAPER fx, even EQ.) I had a blast and the diversity of sounds I could make was surprising.


MP3 here:

https://instaud.io/2Z2Y
Well done, good sounds.
__________________
https://www.jorgensandberg.se
Jorgen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 11:13 AM   #181
JayJSE2
Human being with feelings
 
JayJSE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 175
Default

I'm not sure if this is a bug or not, but the spectrum matcher doesn't keep the correction when reloading a project (it keeps the preset and reference curve, it just doesn't apply any correction.

Whether that is a bug or not, is there any way of making it so that the eq curve can be copied into reaeq?
JayJSE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 06:31 PM   #182
ReubenAlfie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geraintluff View Post
I wanted to write an effect for super-long ambient reverbs/textures, so: here's Atlantis Reverb:



(audio demo)

It uses some of the same concepts as PaulStretch, so it can be used to make similar sounds. The shimmer section lets you add gradual octave-shifting to the reverb, to add some high-end sparkle.

Have fun, and let me know what you think!

Geraint
This is the one chief. Game changer.
ReubenAlfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 05:16 PM   #183
jasonwuest
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Atlantis is bloody amazing.

I usually don’t like algo reverbs. I can count the ones I have liked on one hand. This one, I LOVE.

Thank you!
jasonwuest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 03:55 AM   #184
geraintluff
Human being with feelings
 
geraintluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mostly inside my own head
Posts: 279
Default Moved ZIP away from Stash

Hi - it turns out that the ZIP is now too large for the Stash (2MB limit), so it was missing all changes since August.

I've moved it to a different location - give me a poke if it doesn't work.

Geraint
geraintluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 05:53 AM   #185
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,487
Default

@geraintluff


Why no using the automatic ZIP like brought by GitHub ? :P


https://github.com/geraintluff/jsfx/archive/master.zip
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 06:58 AM   #186
geraintluff
Human being with feelings
 
geraintluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mostly inside my own head
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Why no using the automatic ZIP like brought by GitHub ? :P
Haha - please don't install using that link.

Unfortunately, the way things are organised inside my git repo is very different to the way they are released. The ZIP is (hopefully) organised the same way as it's installed by ReaPack.

(Plus there's a bunch of extra unnecessary gunf in there, which I know is bad, but mostly it's a hack so that GitHub hosts the website for me. )

I could use a separate "release" branch and just constantly force-overwrite it, I guess...

Last edited by geraintluff; 01-16-2019 at 08:20 AM.
geraintluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 09:24 AM   #187
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,487
Default

Quote:
Unfortunately, the way things are organised inside my git repo is very different to the way they are released.
Indeed, Reapack advanced features can make things less portable than just copy pasting the repo zip :P


Noted, cheers !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.