Old 08-27-2018, 02:21 PM   #1
Hemtunes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Default Video Playback Troubles

Hi,
I've been having trouble getting smooth-playing video in the Video Window. Have spent significant time searching for answers and checking all my settings, versions, etc. The problem is that when I try to play a video through Reaper, (I'm doing the audio mix on a video project,) the video always catches, the audio is choppy, and playback slows down. These are videos which run smoothly on my system if played directly through VLC, QT, etc. but always get bogged down within Reaper. I've had this problem consistently with a number of videos.

Here is a comprehensive list of my system and the particulars:
MacBook Pro - June 2009 (older machine but works great in every other fashion)
Retrofitted Hybrid Drive - 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 750GB
8Gigs of RAM
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 512MB
OSX 10.10.5
Reaper v5.941 64bit
VLC v3.0.3 (set as Video Decoder Priority)
Current Video that's giving me trouble: MPEG4 2880x1440 H264 3:40
Frame Rate of Video and Session are matched - 29.97

All works great until I open the Video Window. Even in a session with only a single track - the video track - as soon as I open the video window, I get this problem.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as I'm about to dive into an important project. Thanks!

Best,
Hemtunes
Hemtunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2018, 02:34 PM   #2
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,221
Default

Try transcoding to half its resolution, using the ProRes Poroxy codec in a Quicktime container. I recommend quality level 12-15.

Tencoder is a good application for this. Keep the audio separate. You can glue a copy of the video item and then disregard the audio of the video, if it has any, in the source properties of the video item.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2018, 03:25 PM   #3
Hemtunes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Thx, airon. Tried this, sadly with the same result.
Hemtunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 03:36 PM   #4
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 414
Default

Go to the pre releases forum. And download one of the reaper pre releases which says "icc18". I have had a similar issue. I reported that and they fixed it in icc versions. But that's still not updated on regular releases.
svijayrathinam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 08:57 AM   #5
Hemtunes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks. Will give it a try.
Hemtunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 02:00 PM   #6
Hemtunes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Default

svijayrathinam - Thank you! That made a huge difference. I still have trouble when I have a high track and plugin count, but it works quite well as long as I mute whatever tracks I'm not working on.
You're a lifesaver!
Hemtunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.