Old 11-27-2009, 03:37 PM   #1
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default Installing sample players which drive?

Lets say for example I have a system drive, a sample drive, and an audio drive. And lets also say I am installing Kontakt 3 and the library on my computer. Would installing the Kontakt player on my sample drive(with my samples) be a bad idea? Or should I install the player on my system drive?
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 01:54 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,739
Default

I suggest the following:
-- the Kontakt Player --> your system drive,
-- the Kontakt Player libraries --> your Sample drive,
-- your recordings --> your Audio drive.

Mind you, your post confused me - what are you currently putting on the Sample and Audio drives?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 09:58 AM   #3
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
I suggest the following:
-- the Kontakt Player --> your system drive,
-- the Kontakt Player libraries --> your Sample drive,
-- your recordings --> your Audio drive.

Mind you, your post confused me - what are you currently putting on the Sample and Audio drives?
Well right now I have 2 drives; system(320gb) and audio/samples(250gb).

I built my computer 2 years ago and I'm in the transition of building another. I recently bought a quieter case and psu and would like to optimize my hard drive set-up while I'm at it. I'm gonna hang on to my mobo,cpu, and ram for a while until the 1366/1156 prices go down a little more plus I'm not sure which route I want to take yet.
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 10:05 AM   #4
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

Currently I have a sample player installed on my audio/sample drive. Not really sure why I installed it there in the first place. I plan on a clean OS install sometime soon and will correct this as well.
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.