Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2010, 09:05 AM   #1
Scooter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 57
Default Request for help - MIDI stops responding after 256 events received?

I'm triggering EZ Drummer (the VSTi: Dfh Sampler) from an M-Audio Keystudio keyboard controller.

I can play along for a while and then the Dfh Sampler just stops. So I inserted the JS Midi Logger and that revealed that the 256th event is the one where things stop responding. I repeated this test multiple times. In order to get things working again I have to go into Preferences and click Reset All MIDI devices.

I've searched the forum but I'm not finding anything that helps me to resolve this.

If anyone could point me in a direction I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks.
Scooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 09:50 AM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,847
Default

is that also true for any other vsti?

if NOT, it sounds like you may have EZ running only as a demo.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 10:01 AM   #3
Scooter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 57
Default

No I've noticed this with Proteus VX too, although I haven't diagnosed it in terms of the number of MIDI events before it quits as I've done with EZD>

My EZ Drummer is a full, paid version and not a demo.
Scooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 10:17 AM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,847
Default

OK... now lets just eliminate using any vsti so we are dealing with only midi and reaper...

on a track set to record midi, play in way more midi than 256 events and see if that works ok or not. Of course you won't get sound but you will get a midi track that will also 'play' back.

If this also stops at 256 events, at least we know something about where to search for the problem.

ummmm... by any chance, has the project length setting in the project or in the default project gotten set to something very short????
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 03:13 PM   #5
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,746
Default

Is 256 your audio buffer size too?

Try changing it (temporarily).
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.