Old 03-31-2021, 01:24 PM   #1
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,327
Default v6.26+dev0331 - March 31 2021

v6.26+dev0331 - March 31 2021
  • * Includes feature branch: VST3 bridging
  • * Includes feature branch: ReaSurroundPan
  • * Includes feature branch: media item lanes
  • * Includes feature branch: media item channel mapping
  • + ReaScript: correct documentation for Set/GetMasterTrackVisibility
  • # JSFX: fix flushing of inf/nan to zero [t=251603]
  • # Media item lanes: fix dragging items into lane-add area [p=2425679]
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 02:28 PM   #2
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
v6.26+dev0331 - March 31 2021[*]# Media item lanes: fix dragging items into lane-add area [p=2425679]
Much better now, thanks a lot for the fix

Regarding dragging multiple selected items into lane-add area, if we drag them from the first item into lane add area, they all drop ok. If we drag from the second or third item, even if they are all selected, they don't drop all on lane-add area.
Would it be possible to drop all selected items no matter from which item we drag them?

Vagelis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 04:15 PM   #3
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,327
Default

JS total weirdness here:

Wrong result:
p_outputval = p_minval + ((p_maxval - p_minval)*CalcValue(p_inputval));

Right result 1:
p_outputval = p_minval + (CalcValue(p_inputval)*(p_maxval - p_minval));
(just inverted the order in the second sub expression)

Right result 2:
v = CalcValue(p_inputval);
p_outputval = p_minval + (v*(p_maxval - p_minval));
(computing the CalcValue before multiplying it)

CalcValue(), p_minval, p_maxval always between 0 and 1.
p_maxval > p_minval

The "Wrong result" expression can return numbers < 0, which is impossible... dev331 is the first version I'm seeing it.

- Mario
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 04:21 PM   #4
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,327
Default

Attaching example screenshot and script.
Output value cannot be negative.

- Mario
Attached Images
File Type: jpg JS_Weird.jpg (61.5 KB, 138 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip MBValueTransformer.zip (3.0 KB, 112 views)
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 06:30 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
JS total weirdness here:

Wrong result:
p_outputval = p_minval + ((p_maxval - p_minval)*CalcValue(p_inputval));

Right result 1:
p_outputval = p_minval + (CalcValue(p_inputval)*(p_maxval - p_minval));
(just inverted the order in the second sub expression)

Right result 2:
v = CalcValue(p_inputval);
p_outputval = p_minval + (v*(p_maxval - p_minval));
(computing the CalcValue before multiplying it)

CalcValue(), p_minval, p_maxval always between 0 and 1.
p_maxval > p_minval

The "Wrong result" expression can return numbers < 0, which is impossible... dev331 is the first version I'm seeing it.

- Mario
Thanks, this is very helpful! Edit: duplicated, fixing!

Last edited by Justin; 03-31-2021 at 07:23 PM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 10:46 PM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
JS total weirdness here:
MANY thanks for checking this !!!
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 11:43 PM   #7
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
MANY thanks for checking this !!!
-Michael
It was not that hard, just noticed by pure accident while working at a JS plugin that things simply started being nonsense

- Mario
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 03:26 AM   #8
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 981
Default

Hi Schwa,


I do not find the Clang 12 installers from the last two Dev versions. For Some reason all the text like the FX browser plugin text appeared bigger in clang12 releases on Mac OS Big Sur. Now with the regular clang and the regular Mac OS installer that's not the case.
__________________
Vijay Rathinam MPSE,
www.theaudioville.com
IMDB Page : https://www.imdb.com/name/nm3221039/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 07:08 AM   #9
Paul1982
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 11
Default

Please devs, is it possible to bring back auto media lanes?

If there are many of us asking for its return, it is because it has advantages over fixed media lanes.

With auto media lanes, we haven't hatched line which takes place and when an item is not under another item, its height is at the maximum. So it's more readable. Moreover, when we want to put one item under another we don't have to enlarge the size of the track. So, it's faster.

Thanks for your understanding.
Paul1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 08:01 AM   #10
gxray
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul1982 View Post
Please devs, is it possible to bring back auto media lanes?

If there are many of us asking for its return, it is because it has advantages over fixed media lanes.

With auto media lanes, we haven't hatched line which takes place and when an item is not under another item, its height is at the maximum. So it's more readable. Moreover, when we want to put one item under another we don't have to enlarge the size of the track. So, it's faster.

Thanks for your understanding.
This as an option would be nice as it's a fair bit faster, and as you mention doesn't require minimum track height. But I'd imagine there's probably a good technical reason why it was removed.

(IE maybe some nasty complexity that was going to be a lot more difficult to maintain versus manual, or more edgecases/bugs)

Who knows though, who here can't say at least part of the reason why they love REAPER is the daily lotto-rush of checking the pre-release forum for changes and new features ;^)

Win some, lose some
__________________
Seasoned codemonkey
Dunno a thing about making music (here to learn!)
gxray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 08:54 AM   #11
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

Sad. Auto mode was so simple, transparent (no grey lane) and powerful (and complementary with fixed lanes).
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 09:07 AM   #12
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

I too think that if it isn't going to mess with a new overall method or feature (at some point) then auto was useful to have as well.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 09:21 AM   #13
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

For me, auto media lanes, fixed media lanes auto and free item are great and complementary.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 09:40 AM   #14
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svijayrathinam View Post
Hi Schwa,


I do not find the Clang 12 installers from the last two Dev versions. For Some reason all the text like the FX browser plugin text appeared bigger in clang12 releases on Mac OS Big Sur. Now with the regular clang and the regular Mac OS installer that's not the case.
Hmm those builds were discontinued because they never end up in releases. Having said that, we can probably make the list text size configurable on Big Sur, let me look into that.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 01:13 AM   #15
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 981
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm those builds were discontinued because they never end up in releases. Having said that, we can probably make the list text size configurable on Big Sur, let me look into that.
Thank you very much
__________________
Vijay Rathinam MPSE,
www.theaudioville.com
IMDB Page : https://www.imdb.com/name/nm3221039/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 02:56 AM   #16
AZpercussion
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Moscow / Tbilisi
Posts: 912
Default BUG with auto-coloring takes

Takes don't colored automatically in the record mode "auto-punch selected items" if punching item placed on a track with fixed lanes.

AZpercussion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.