Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 02-20-2018, 02:32 PM   #1
Bob Headroom
Human being with feelings

Default New to Windows 7: how to set up the various Windows sound settings?

Hi all

I'm new to Win7. Thankfully I've just got my EMU 1820M to work (no native drivers were released), so the next thing is to take a look at the Windows Sounds options. Seems there's quite a lot more going on than in XP! And I've no idea what a lot of it is nor how to set it. I'm guessing it will all be irrelevant when I am using ASIO(???). But it comes into play when using the EMU's WDM drivers, which I do for various programs, the internet, etc.

Here are the settings I am unsure about:

1) Volume Mixer > Left Click “Speakers” Icon > Advanced.
- Default Format. The default setting is 16 Bit / 44100 Hz (CD Quality). Is that what I should use? Or should I use 24 Bit?
- “Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device”. Ticked by default. What is best?
- “Give exclusive mode applications priority”. Ticked by default. What is best?

2) Volume Mixer > Left Click “System Sounds” Icon > Playback tab > Right click Speakers > Configure Speakers. I've chosen stereo here and presume that is correct. But then, when you press next it takes you to the Speaker Setup page. Should I tick or untick the “Front left and right” box?

3) Volume Mixer > Left Click “System Sounds” Icon > Recording tab > Double click icon > Listen tab.
- “Listen to this device”. Tick or untick?
- “Playback through this device”. Choose Default device or Speakers (EMU?
- Power Management. What to choose here?

4) Volume Mixer > Left Click “System Sounds” Icon > Recording tab > Double click icon > Advanced tab.
- Default Format. The default setting is 16 Bit / 44100 Hz (CD Quality). Is that what I should use? Or should I use 24 Bit?
- “Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device”. Ticked by default. What is best?