Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 01-02-2010, 12:17 PM   #1
rlyacht
Human being with feelings

Default Best way to use my existing gear (beginner Q)

I'm a guitarist getting started with reaper, and have bought hardcopies of the manual and also Home Recording for Beginners. I'd like to record myself playing guitar directly, i.e. no amp/microphone, use various VST effects, and ultimately use jamstix for drums (I know that's not a first step). I'll need to do all my listening using headphones. I have the following gear
  • Tascam US-122
  • Zoom G2.1U (stompbox with USB interface)
  • ASIO drivers for the Tascam and Zoom installed and working
  • "eh" laptop: IBM T43, Pentium M 1.86GHz, 2G RAM, onboard intel 915 audio, no firewire port, USB 2.0
  • Headphones
  • Numerous guitars

I realize this is not the greatest assortment of gear, and so I'm really just looking for advice about how best to use it. I could spend a little on more gear if it would make a big difference, but would prefer not to. I can get various combinations working, but I'm not sure what I'm doing is optimal.

Thanks for any advice!
rlyacht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 01:09 PM   #2
3mph

What do you plan to record? My advice is to forget your hardware and do it in the box with software. If you need to record vocals or drums you'd need additional mics, a soundcard with more I/O.

I don't know anything about drum-mics, but for vocal and guitar I recommend a Golden Age TC-1. Cheap and good sounding. For recording amps I recommend an used AKG C3000 - maybe in combination with the good'ole sm57.

A computer with core2duo would be an advantage too.