Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 10-29-2016, 11:01 AM   #1
MrDogBiscuit
Human being with feelings

Default Raising monitor level during recording

I'm very new to DAW recording and I have likely a simple problem.
I'm running a Roland Studio Capture with reaper into my Macbook pro.
I'm only recording drums at this time.

Everything is working well with playback, but for recording, I can't raise the monitor levels high enough to match what I get on playback.

My phones are output from the interface's direct out jack at this time.

In the simplest sense, I would like to raise the volume in my phones to match the playback so I can hear myself at the same time during playback.

Since I'm very new to this, I fear I might not be able to convey enough appropriate info if presented with a relatively simple question.

As this is my first post, thanks very much in advance!
MrDogBiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 01:03 PM   #2
Kenny Gioia

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDogBiscuit View Post
I'm very new to DAW recording and I have likely a simple problem.
I'm running a Roland Studio Capture with reaper into my Macbook pro.
I'm only recording drums at this time.

Everything is working well with playback, but for recording, I can't raise the monitor levels high enough to match what I get on playback.

My phones are output from the interface's direct out jack at this time.

In the simplest sense, I would like to raise the volume in my phones to match the playback so I can hear myself at the same time during playback.

Since I'm very new to this, I fear I might not be able to convey enough appropriate info if presented with a relatively simple question.

As this is my first post, thanks very much in advance!
Are you sure you're hearing anything at all while you're recording? By default, tracks don't monitor while recording. Make "Monitoring Input" is turned on. Right - Click the speaker icon on each track to see the options.