Old 04-30-2017, 03:14 PM   #1
Airal
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 406
Default Better JS updating

I use several JS plugins in tandem and when I make a change to one I have to update every other one by opening the editor and doing a full compile and reset. I also have to save the presets and reload them.

This is very time consuming and wastes time in O(n).

Instead, when doing a full compile/reset, can the following 2 actions take place?

1. Every other JS instance of the script also does a full compile/reset.

2. The presets are saved and reloaded each time. This avoids one having to save the preset for each plugin so they are not lost when the reset is done. I realize that one can't always be sure if the preset values will map over to the new state, but we can have a heuristic that says if none of the slider definitions were changed, then it safe(as the values will map directly and correspond to what they were before the script was modified).

Thanks.
Airal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2017, 05:16 PM   #2
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,467
Default

you can take the other instances offline and then bring them back on. This is a bit faster than recompiling each plugin.
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 04:10 AM   #3
Airal
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 406
Default

Still slow and doesn't retain presets. It would probably take just a few minutes to code up the ability to reduce 99.999% of the wasted time.
Airal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 06:41 AM   #4
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5,220
Default

Could be added to Reaper startup of a project

'The following JS plugins have been modified:

Keep or replace?'
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 09:10 AM   #5
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,467
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
Could be added to Reaper startup of a project

'The following JS plugins have been modified:

Keep or replace?'
on restart, all JS plugins are recompiled. They are all replaced with the modified code.

slider values, iirc, will be retained even if the value range has been changed such that the old value is something outside of the new range. (hope that makes sense)

I have a custom action that takes all plugins offline then back online for selected tracks - this is really only slow if there is some VSti or something in one of the chains that takes a bit to load.

I really only see an issue with the slider index being changed. But there is something a bit new to JS fx that might be useful.

http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...4&postcount=16
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 09:12 AM   #6
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,467
Default

Something in the IDE itself like a "recompile all instances" button would be fine.

There are times where I've not wanted everything to recompile - like doing a quick A/B to a change in code without saving with a new name.
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.