Old 02-16-2018, 09:32 AM   #1
WorldofNoise
Human being with feelings
 
WorldofNoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Buffa-love, NY
Posts: 103
Default Bootcamp

Hello,

I have a Late 2016 MacBook Pro i7 2.6 Quad, 16GB RAM, 256 SSD, that I'm thinking of using bootcamp on, as I continuously read Reaper works better under Windows.

Can anyone tell me if they've used Reaper in bootcamp and gained any performance or stability? Does this improve the graphic performance with a retina display? Thunderbolt still work as expected? I'd be using Windows 10 Pro.

Thanks!
WorldofNoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 05:24 PM   #2
minotaur
Human being with feelings
 
minotaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Strasbourg, France
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldofNoise View Post
Hello,

I have a Late 2016 MacBook Pro i7 2.6 Quad, 16GB RAM, 256 SSD, that I'm thinking of using bootcamp on, as I continuously read Reaper works better under Windows.

Can anyone tell me if they've used Reaper in bootcamp and gained any performance or stability? Does this improve the graphic performance with a retina display? Thunderbolt still work as expected? I'd be using Windows 10 Pro.

Thanks!
Late 2015 MBP here, 2.4Ghz, 16Gb ram, 256Gb SSD, boot camp with win10. Yes, the graphic response is genuinely faster. A user made a very good comparison video of it
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmdIOlI81Fg
A few times it's annoying. If you have a mouse with built-in double click, that might not work as well as on Windows. Dragging elements, composing midi notes in the editor sometimes requires two motion instead of one, as the grabbed item does not entirely follow the mouse. That's the worst I encountered so far, but honestly it's not that annoying.
It's probably useful to mention that I'm using Reaper only for audio, no video.

That said, OSX's way of handling the USB ports is way better than Windows'. I find having problems connecting the same amount of USB periphery on windows. I reboot it on OSX and it works just fine. (Have no Thunderbolt hardware.)
Oh, and for me bootcamp heats up the MBP chassis horribly, it's almost constantly on full cooling cycle, which is not only annoying cause it's loud, but also not very economic on your laptop. I still recommend OSX to be honest.

Last edited by minotaur; 03-13-2018 at 06:07 PM. Reason: secondary thoughts
minotaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 06:54 PM   #3
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,380
Default

i switched from win to mac and wasn't a fan of noticably slower gui initially as was slight surprise, but have frankly forgotten about it now, i do have blurry mouse cursors which i should be able to fix but haven't been concerned enough to invesitage.
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 09:13 AM   #4
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,291
Default

I tried that a few years ago after reading the same things. Reaper was clearly snappier with OSX. However, it was Windows XP I tried at that time and I didn't do any tweaking. I see more comments that claim the opposite - Windows having faster GUI response.

My focus is audio so I'll take any GUI lags vs losing stability if that's the case now. And I'm just not going to buy a newer Windows install for an experiment. If I had some Windows only plugin that I just had to demo, I'd launch the Windows version of Reaper with Wine in OSX.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 09:53 AM   #5
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 266
Default

Windows 10 on my iMac runs Reapers GUI loads smoother then on macOS 10.13.3.., I do not mind using windows 10 but prefer using macOS, both the GUIs of Logic Pro X and FL Studio on macOS are butter smooth so it is possible, after using those programs then using Reaper on macOS you really noticed the horrible lag.

.


.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.13.6
.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 10:07 AM   #6
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur8me View Post
...both the GUIs of Logic Pro X and FL Studio on macOS are butter smooth so it is possible, after using those programs then using Reaper on macOS you really noticed the horrible lag..
How does the audio performance compare? CPU use etc.?
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 10:15 AM   #7
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
How does the audio performance compare? CPU use etc.?

On my iMac the i7 6700k runs everything easy.., FL Studio running the exact same VSTs as I have in Reaper is about the same CPU use.., 1 or 3% difference.

.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.13.6
.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 10:23 AM   #8
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur8me View Post
On my iMac the i7 6700k runs everything easy.., FL Studio running the exact same VSTs as I have in Reaper is about the same CPU use.., 1 or 3% difference.

.

.
Cool, thanks.

Is FL all vector GUI now?
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 10:27 AM   #9
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
Cool, thanks.

Is FL all vector GUI now?

Yes it is.., its quite amazing to see and use.., pure eye candy, everything is movable and resizable.

.
.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.13.6
.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 10:30 AM   #10
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur8me View Post
Yes it is.., its quite amazing to see and use.., pure eye candy, everything is movable and resizable.

.
.
That is impressive.

I wonder how that would work with older machines... one of the big selling points of REAPER is backwards compatibility.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 10:38 AM   #11
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
That is impressive.

I wonder how that would work with older machines... one of the big selling points of REAPER is backwards compatibility.

Yes.., but I guess it depends on how old do you mean?.

.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.13.6
.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 10:43 AM   #12
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur8me View Post
Yes.., but I guess it depends on how old do you mean?.

.

.
Well, for instance REAPER will still work on old PPC Macs, you can open REAPER projects from years ago (something not possible with Logic, for example).

The low system overhead makes it perfect for people with old and underpowered machines.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 11:35 AM   #13
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
Well, for instance REAPER will still work on old PPC Macs, you can open REAPER projects from years ago (something not possible with Logic, for example).

The low system overhead makes it perfect for people with old and underpowered machines.

ok I understand.., but wouldn't updating reapers graphics for macOS be more to do with whether your graphics card can handle it rather than to do with not being able to open old projects from long time ago..?, meaning use an older less graphics intensive version of Reaper on older machines but on a newer computer use the newest version of Reaper and you can still open those old projects.

.
.
.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.13.6
.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 11:44 AM   #14
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur8me View Post
ok I understand.., but wouldn't updating reapers graphics for macOS be more to do with whether your graphics card can handle it rather than to do with not being able to open old projects from long time ago..?, meaning use an older less graphics intensive version of Reaper on older machines but on a newer computer use the newest version of Reaper and you can still open those old projects.

.
.
.
Yes, but it appears that both are important to the REAPER devs.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.