Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Old 08-31-2011, 06:56 PM   #1
Homeby5
Human being with feelings

Default Problem recording only certain MIDI sounds

I'm not sure how to phrase this so please be patient with me. I'm using the latest version of Reaper 4.02 and trying to record NI FM8 synth VST. I notice certain sounds that I'm creating are not being recorded in my MIDI file. I'm am seeing the level meters indicate the sound being recieved.

I've also tried another track and it does the same thing. Basically the sounds that are not being recorded are like the Synth sound on Pink floyd's Dark Side of Moon, first track. I'm trying to run a fast loop with eight repeating very short notes. I hear it in my phones and watch my meters. All appear good. Then when I stop the oscillation and play regular sounds from the synth, it starts recording fine.

Thanks for your help guys. I'm new at this stuff and am learning.

Last edited by Homeby5; 09-01-2011 at 06:54 PM.
Homeby5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 06:53 PM   #2
Homeby5

Bump - Anyone?
Old 09-04-2011, 11:58 AM   #3
Homeby5

Hello....Anyone
Old 09-04-2011, 12:44 PM   #4
Fabian

I guess you have to explain in more detail what the problem is. For instance, what does it mean that "certain sounds that [you're] creating are not being recorded in [your] MIDI file." Audio is not recorded in a MIDI file...

Describe your setup and what it is that you try to do.
Old 01-06-2012, 06:09 AM   #5
Homeby5

Ok....I'm using NI's Synth VST. I'll make a tract and while recording operate the synth tools to get the sounds I want on the tract. I hear it while monitoring it through my headphones. I also SEE the MIDI instances on the tract viewer. But when I playback, only the louder and higher frequencies get recorded. I open the MIDI editor to look and even though the instances are displayed in my tract view, they are NOT displayed in the MIDI editor tool. Hope that helps