Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Old 02-01-2012, 08:05 AM   #1
ckaiserca
Human being with feelings

Default New to Reaper - MADI Sound card Questions

Hello!

Charles Kaiser from Aurora, ON here. I am totally new to Reaper, but judging from the bit of a play that I have had with it today, I think it will suit my needs perfectly!

I am the technical director for a 400 seat theatre, and we are in the process of buying a new DiGiCo SD9 sound console that provides 56 channels of MADI output (BNC with seperate BNC World Clock). I would like to connect the SD 9 to a computer running Reaper to record some of the shows that we do here.

What is my best option for a MADI sound card for the computer that I am going to build? Any other options besides stuff from RME that I should be looking at?

DiGiCo is coming out with a MADI interface in March, but it is USB and I worry about latency.

Also, any advice for the specs that I should be striving for in my computer build?

Thanks in advance for any input.
ckaiserca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 02:42 PM   #2
zendrum

Hello Charles-

I use an RME HDSPe MADI card in my rig, but it seems you are already aware of RME.

The only other MADI card supplier I am aware of at this time is SSL. If you are mainly looking at recording tracks into Reaper without foldback, I would look into the SSL MadiXtreme 64. This card doesn't provide any on board zero latency monitoring or DSP for hardware accelerated effects, but if what you want to do is get audio into and out of your computer for recording live shows it may be just what you want. Plus, it is quite a bit less money than the RME unit or the SSL MX4 with on board DSP. Here is a link:

http://www.solidstatelogic.com/music...madi%20xtreme/