Old 05-18-2021, 05:13 PM   #1
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,908
Default REAPER 6.29

v6.29 - May 18 2021
  • + Actions: rename "Envelope: Clear envelope" to "Envelope: Clear or remove envelope"
  • + API: add hwnd_info hook for improved plug-in global hotkey integration
  • + API: fix typo in documentation of IReaperUIEmbedInterface [p=2438620]
  • + API: GetSetProjectInfo_String() supports TRACK_GROUP_NAME:x
  • + API: run hookpostcommand2 hooks for reascripts and custom actions
  • + Automation items: action to create new automation item uses razor edit areas if they exist
  • + Envelopes: add "remove envelope" action to envelope control panel context menu
  • + Envelopes: fix possible redraw of media lane envelopes when opening project [p=2444590]
  • + FX: fix monitoring window persistence when using new undo point option [t=252896]
  • + FX: improve embedded FX update frequency when mouse-editing
  • + FX: improve docked mixer visibility restoration when adding FX via docked FX browser [t=253330]
  • + FX: fix visual display of TCP/MCP parameter knob when parameter min/max is reversed
  • + JSFX: allow export_buffer_to_project() to use 64 channels
  • + JSFX: effects may now request samplerate for opened media using file_riff(fh,nch='rqsr',srate=desired_samplerate);
  • + macOS: rename ARM build to REAPER-ARM.app, Intel 64-bit to REAPER.app, update volume labels of disk images
  • + Media explorer: add option to preview through track named "Media Explorer Preview"
  • + Media explorer: fix re-sorting randomized file list after running action to set file as favorite [p=2437642]
  • + Media explorer: fix searching after renaming file
  • + Media explorer: refresh display after resetting column order to default
  • + Media explorer: support adding additional user-specifiable metadata display columns
  • + Media items: when mouse-moving selected area of grouped items, group the remaining right-hand side of items separately from the left-hand side, for consistency with cut/paste behavior
  • + Notation: fix key snapping on first beat of local key signature change [t=221385]
  • + Notation: improve edit cursor position rounding when using snap to samplerate
  • + Notation: assign current voice when inserting notes via "insert note at nearest A/B/C/etc" actions [t=216159]
  • + OSC: support touch status for up to 2048 tracks [t=253320]
  • + Project bay: show bypass/offline status for FX that are unavailable
  • + Project metadata: disallow spaces in IXML element identifiers
  • + Razor edit: add razor edit envelope editing behaviors
  • + Razor edit: add mouse modifiers to expand or compress envelope range, relative to average value or toward top/bottom
  • + Razor edit: ensure that pasted media items remain grouped and pasted automation items remain pooled across tracks
  • + Razor edit: fix media item display after pasting razor edit area and zooming [t=252759]
  • + Razor edit: skip hidden envelope lanes when marquee-creating razor edit areas with "move envelope points with razor edits" disabled
  • + Razor edit: when editing or cutting, group the remaining right-hand side of items separately from the left-hand side [p=2439372]
  • + Razor edit: when mouse-copying items, create new groups if necessary
  • + ReaPlugs: display more significant digits of ReaDelay/ReaPitch pan position [t=253521]
  • + ReaScript: show file/line number for Lua calls to ReaScriptError()
  • + ReaScript: improve Lua ReaScriptError() behavior when called from extension-added functions, allow ! prefix to stop script execution
  • + ReaScript: support "NUMCHANNELS", "NUMSPEAKERS", "RESETCHANNELS" for ReaSurroundPan via Track/TakeFX_SetNamedConfigParm
  • + ReaScript: ReaSurroundPan FX_Get/SetNamedConfigParm("NUMSPEAKERS") will interpret a value like "6S" as 6-channel surround, "8I" as 8-channel ITU, "12A" as 12-channel Auro, etc
  • + ReaSurroundPan: add new 2D/3D surround panner plug-in
  • + ReaSurroundPan: supports common speaker spatial arrangements and user-customizable arrangements up to 64 inputs/outputs
  • + ReaSurroundPan: add actions to display ReaSurroundPan embedded in TCP or MCP
  • + ReaSurroundPan: support axis linking (forcing edits to a particular shape on the z-axis)
  • + ReaSurroundPan: support editing anchor channel via controller, but does not record automation
  • + ReaSurroundPan: support per-channel delay
  • + Ruler: add option to display region name when region start is offscreen
  • + Ruler: add option to hide region number if region is named
  • + Spectral edits: fix issue with playback starting after item loop [t=252747]
  • + Spectral edits: improve performance with large numbers of spectral edits
  • + Super8: allow drag-drop of samples to channels
  • + Super8: improve layouts when UI is resized very wide or very tall
  • + Super8: improve MIDI-control behavior when same note/CC is assigned to a channel's record and play controls
  • + Theme: add razor_env, razor_env_l, razor_env_r cursors
  • + Video: improve default ordering of 2x2 matrix preset [t=252286]
  • + VST3: actually support third-party embeddable UIs via IReaperUIEmbedInterface interface [t=252907]
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 06:12 PM   #2
nvk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 28
Default

Congrats on a great update! ReaSurroundPan and the Media Explorer updates are a huge improvement for post-production audio
__________________
REAPER Scripts for Game Audio and Sound Design
nvk_AUTODOPPLER | nvk_WORKFLOW | nvk_LOOPMAKER
nvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 06:37 PM   #3
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,571
Default

Thanks for the updates!
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 08:07 PM   #4
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 1,236
Default

Tremendous stuff dudes.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 10:56 PM   #5
Pink Wool
Human being with feelings
 
Pink Wool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 735
Default

Awesome! Thank you @Justin and @Schwa!
Pink Wool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 11:21 PM   #6
wallace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 538
Default

I'm amazed with each new release how much stuff you manage to pack in.
Thank you.
__________________
THE BLUE MARGINS
wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 12:04 AM   #7
operator
Human being with feelings
 
operator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Austria (near Lake Constance)
Posts: 265
Default

With the words from Borat: I LIKE, VERY NICE!
__________________
PLEASE Devs: "FX-Container" --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533
operator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 12:22 AM   #8
AZpercussion
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 291
Default

APPLAUSE!!!
AZpercussion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 12:38 AM   #9
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 888
Default

Thank you very much
__________________
Mixing / Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxsounds.com
Triode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 12:56 AM   #10
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 22,017
Default

Guess I better start learning how to use razor editing....
__________________
Ici on parles Franglais

Last edited by ivansc; 05-19-2021 at 11:37 AM.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 01:36 AM   #11
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,448
Default

Great update once again Thanks!
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 02:12 AM   #12
zabukowski
Human being with feelings
 
zabukowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallace View Post
I'm amazed with each new release how much stuff you manage to pack in.
Thank you.
It's pretty natural ... the more features program has, the more chances are there for fixes, updates and improvements.

Unfortunately not all companies do it this way. Old bugs and half-finished features (important for current users) often stay like that forever and new features are concentrated on brand new stuff, which attract primarily new users. And the circle goes around again.

So ... big thanks to Cockos for their commitment ... loving Reaper, it brings smile to my face everytime i use it.
__________________
My software & music...
http://www.zabukowski.com/software
http://www.zabukowski.com
zabukowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 02:24 AM   #13
sonictim
Human being with feelings
 
sonictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 420
Default

Hats off to the devs! Thanks for all the hard work with ReaSurroundPan!! SO happy this is out for general consumption!

Bravo!
__________________
My Reapack Repository: I write scripts for my own personal use.
I offer no support, but if you find one that helps you, go for it!
sonictim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 04:51 AM   #14
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 360
Default

This shows how much Justin and Schwa are attentive to FRs, bug reports, etc, we do have to congratulate them for their dedication. This is REAPER!

Congratulations to everyone!
__________________
Together we're more!! - Brazilian ReaperLangPack + SWS Download here
Donate, if you wish
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 05:25 AM   #15
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 2,632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
This shows how much Justin and Schwa are attentive to FRs, bug reports, etc, we do have to congratulate them for their dedication. This is REAPER!

Congratulations to everyone!
I agree, there are plenty things implemented, that were wished by plenty of people
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper
Off for some time. Bugreports&Docs notes please do here:https://github.com/Ultraschall/ultra...-reaper/issues - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 06:37 AM   #16
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 238
Default

Thank you DEVS for release!
I don't want to upset anyone, but I found a few bugs/imperfection in the release.I apologize for finding out too late.


1)If Razor edit active on RMB envelope context menu appear with several tries.


2) Envelope editing do not work on track lane



3)Also discovered with ferropop at the same time RE cannot select and edit envelopes on master tcp

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=778
nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 06:53 AM   #17
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nappies View Post
Thank you DEVS for release!
I don't want to upset anyone, but I found a few bugs/imperfection in the release.I apologize for finding out too late.


1)If Razor edit active on RMB envelope context menu appear with several tries.

2) Envelope editing do not work on track lane

3)Also discovered with ferropop at the same time RE cannot select and edit envelopes on master tcp
I'm almost certain that #2 and #3 are just the expected behavior for right now. Not so much bugs, as feature requests.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 08:24 AM   #18
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 12,009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nappies View Post
a few bugs/imperfection]
Thanks for the post. #2 and #3 are the intended behavior: razor editing is not supported for envelopes in the media lane and envelopes on the master track. I am unable to reproduce #1, is there any chance you are making a small mouse move during the right-click?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 08:31 AM   #19
benmrx
Human being with feelings
 
benmrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
+ Razor edit: add razor edit envelope editing behaviors
+ Razor edit: add mouse modifiers to expand or compress envelope range, relative to average value or toward top/bottom
Thank you!!! I've been anxiously waiting for this!
benmrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 08:41 AM   #20
operator
Human being with feelings
 
operator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Austria (near Lake Constance)
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
T #1, is there any chance you are making a small mouse move during the right-click?
Maybe this could be related to the usage of a Trackpad? I often found myself having similar troubles (in other software too e.g. Affinity, Adobe) when I am on the Laptop... Maybe it is just because I am used to a mouse BUT during the click interaction I often move my finger unintentionally just for such a tiny amount to abort the intended action.
__________________
PLEASE Devs: "FX-Container" --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533

Last edited by operator; 05-19-2021 at 08:47 AM.
operator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 08:42 AM   #21
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
I'm almost certain that #2 and #3 are just the expected behavior for right now. Not so much bugs, as feature requests.
#1 not happening here, is your mouse OK?
#2 has been discussed extensively in the pre-release forum and is expected
#3 is just the way it is. If you want envelopes on the main o/p have a sub-master track.

Edit: BTW, thanks devs!
__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com
bolgwrad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 08:51 AM   #22
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I am unable to reproduce #1, is there any chance you are making a small mouse move during the right-click?
No, mouse is fixed rigidly when clicking.This happens with me with such settings.
I used Swap marquee and razor modifiers.

nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 08:52 AM   #23
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 12,009
Default

Ah yes, I can confirm that! We'll fix it.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 11:17 AM   #24
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,571
Default

What is the difference between these two features? Is there supposed to be an Action for this? I couldn't find it.

v6.29 - May 18 2021
+ Envelopes: add "remove envelope" action to envelope control panel context menu

v6.24 - March 2 2021
+ Envelopes: add "remove envelope" menu item to envelope control panel context menu
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 02:32 PM   #25
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 323
Default

How do you:

Ruler: add option to hide region number if region is named

I searched preferences and actions, but cannot figure out how to get rid of the number in the region name. (Probably something simple I am missing!)

Thanks.

NEVER MIND - I finally found it. (Under a default menu view.)

And this is what I have been wanting for a long time. Now I can use the regions to name the chords without the annoying number before the chord name. Thanks much for this!!!

Last edited by Michael AD; 05-19-2021 at 02:44 PM. Reason: solved
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 06:22 PM   #26
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
What is the difference between these two features? Is there supposed to be an Action for this? I couldn't find it.

v6.29 - May 18 2021
+ Envelopes: add "remove envelope" action to envelope control panel context menu

v6.24 - March 2 2021
+ Envelopes: add "remove envelope" menu item to envelope control panel context menu
I think the 6.29 one is just a stale (duplicate) changelog line, oops.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 08:16 PM   #27
TabbyCat
Human being with feelings
 
TabbyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
+ Razor edit: add razor edit envelope editing behaviors
+ Razor edit: add mouse modifiers to expand or compress envelope range, relative to average value or toward top/bottom

Quote:
Originally Posted by benmrx View Post
Thank you!!! I've been anxiously waiting for this!
WHOA - didn't pick up on this - nice!
TabbyCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2021, 02:50 AM   #28
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 11,028
Default

+ FX: improve embedded FX update frequency when mouse-editing


@Justin:

Please see -> https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...4&postcount=10


Thanks !
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2021, 05:59 AM   #29
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I think the 6.29 one is just a stale (duplicate) changelog line, oops.
Thats what I thought, just wanted to make sure, Thanks!

A couple more in changelog you may want to clean up, posted here.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2021, 08:54 AM   #30
robgb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 279
Default

Kinda bummed about the OSC update, because I regularly use 2049 tracks.
robgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2021, 07:42 AM   #31
sramsay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 42
Default

Unless I'm doing something wrong, it appears that the notarized Mac version has not been updated to 6.29.
sramsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2021, 09:14 AM   #32
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,396
Default

Tutorial video about this update

https://reaperblog.net/2021/05/reaper629/

https://youtu.be/5ms6rgQobNA
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 02:21 AM   #33
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sramsay View Post
Unless I'm doing something wrong, it appears that the notarized Mac version has not been updated to 6.29.
Maybe you're still launching REAPER64.app instead of REAPER.app?
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 12:53 PM   #34
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 323
Default

Regarding:

Ruler: add option to hide region number if region is named

Could we please have this option in the MIDI editor as well?
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 04:20 PM   #35
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,396
Default

What is the trick to making this work?

+ Media explorer: support adding additional user-specifiable metadata display columns
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 06:51 PM   #36
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,571
Default

Maybe this helps?

ID3 user defined metadata test, Key = ID3:TXXX:Price (TXXX = user defined)


Write user defined ID3 metadata to current project via ReaScript,
Code:
local project, proj_file = reaper.EnumProjects(-1, "")
reaper.GetSetProjectInfo_String(project, 'RENDER_METADATA', 'ID3:TXXX:Price|1.99', true)

Last edited by Edgemeal; 05-23-2021 at 07:03 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 07:10 PM   #37
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,396
Default

makes sense now
I didn't realize you had to put in "ID3:" "IXML" to make it work.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 07:26 PM   #38
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
makes sense now
I didn't realize you had to put in "ID3:" "IXML" to make it work.
Took me a few tries before I realized that too (and the Add Metadata Column window shows examples!). I look forward to watching your video that explains it all!
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 10:50 PM   #39
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
Took me a few tries before I realized that too (and the Add Metadata Column window shows examples!). I look forward to watching your video that explains it all!
I skipped it because I couldn't figure it out when filming.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2021, 01:09 PM   #40
tsatse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 1
Default crash report

Hello,

thank you for this new release, the ReaSurroundPan effect looks excellent and other things as well.

I stumbled upon a crash while switching projects.

What I did was

- open reaper (a previously used project is automaticaly loaded)
- File->Open another project
-> crash

I had it a couple of times and then I struggled to reproduce it again. Until I had it another time. Some of the projects I opened were as old as Reaper 5.70
But when I tried the same sequence of project opening, I didn't necessarily get the crash. I'm joining a crash dump with this report

I'm using :
OSX Big Sur 11.3
Macbook air 2013
Reaper 6.29

cheers
Attached Files
File Type: txt diag.txt (6.0 KB, 41 views)
tsatse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.