Old 11-21-2020, 12:18 AM   #41
Ericson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
You draw rectangles that snap in to the height of tracks or subsequent lanes. And this is what I find quite irritating, because this is haptically and visually a total different thing from using a razor to edit tape in real life. What happens on the screen, especially when working with wide tracks or lanes, doesn't go along well with the term 'razor', a thing that you'd use delicately and with caution.
-Data
Or keep the term razor edit and let Reaper truly do what a razor can do: cut in any direction you desire! Cut diagonally, or with a curve, or what ever way you prefer. I haven't seen any daw that could do this, but it would be awesome to see and hear media items with for example a diagonal cut with a cross-fade. There would be no limit. I guess Justin and Schwa already knew this, and therefore we will see in the future some great new ways we can use the razor
Ericson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 12:35 AM   #42
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ericson View Post
Or keep the term razor edit and let Reaper truly do what a razor can do: cut in any direction you desire! Cut diagonally, or with a curve, or what ever way you prefer.
Yes, that's what I meant, as I wrote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
...the term 'razor edit' would fit if you could do edits of any shape in the arrange view the same way as you'd do in a graphics application...
-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 01:32 AM   #43
Ericson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
Yes, that's what I meant, as I wrote


-Data
I must have overlooked that post, but we are thinking the same about it
Ericson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 03:34 AM   #44
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 20,852
Default

Hm. Leaves me wondering if it would be do-able to make razor edit able to "cut slots" in a project like the really good editors used to do when working on 2" tape and cutting little rectangles out to edit just ONE track at a time?

In theory, this should be really easy to do in a DAW. I like the idea of being able to cut out Z-shaped pieces in a project & either move or edit them. Or is this already do-able? I havent tried any of the pre-release versions, so totally ignorant on what you can or cant do right now.
__________________
So.... Still waiting for my Covid vaccine. *sigh* Been stuck at home since February.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 04:53 AM   #45
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krahosk View Post
"Cutter" is another word. I think "kutter" in German is a pretty apt translation.
nofish already mentioned kutter. There is indeed the gibberish "Cutter", a widely used word for box cutters with replaceable blades: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cutter_(Messer)

I feel a disconnect between the name razor edit and the actual functionality. That's just the non-native English speaker in me. I can't wait until the feature's fully integrated!!

edit: rewrote first sentence. my point is that krahosk is right. but my English is sligthly rusty

Last edited by tufb; 11-21-2020 at 03:11 PM.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 07:10 AM   #46
cairnan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
Olá Daniel,

As duas formas mais próximas para Razor na tradução foram de:

Precisão e Aguçamento.

Por isso entre elas, minha escolha para Razor Edit foi: Edição aguçada.

P.S: Além de Navalha: Bisturi e Estilete teriam a mesma tradução pois estão relacionadas com precisão em seu corte (corte preciso).

P.S: In addition to Razor: Scalpel and Stylus or Stiletto would have the same translation because they are related with precision in their cut (precise cut).

Abraços,
Edison
Não nasci no Brasil, más morei aí por alguns anos, em Minas Gerais. Amo o Brasil e tenho saudade! Da gente, da comida, tudo. É bom relembrar a língua portuguesa, e a precisão dela!

Not immediately related to anything in the forum, but I wanted to give a shout out to what I feel is my second home!

Last edited by cairnan; 11-21-2020 at 08:02 AM.
cairnan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 07:14 AM   #47
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,345
Default

If you right click non-media file (such as track template, fx chain, image etc...) you get context menu with unnecessary separator at the bottom:

Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2020-11-21 15.11.54.png (3.8 KB, 567 views)
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 09:03 AM   #48
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tufb View Post
nofish already mentioned kutter. There is also the gibberish "Cutter", a widely used word for box cutters with replaceable blades: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cutter_(Messer) It's up there with Handy.

I feel a disconnect between the name razor edit and the actual functionality. That's just the non-native English speaker in me. I can't wait until the feature's fully integrated!!
I feel disconnected with that term the way Reaper uses it too in English. The cursor icon in Reaper represents an exacto but the term used is "razor" nonetheless.
Why not use "Scythe Edit" instead, since Reaper's logo is a scythe. But I understand that "razor" shaves off, and maybe that's what razor edit does.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 10:24 AM   #49
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,027
Default

For purpose of the naming discussion, background why razor edit (and area selection was abandoned):
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....64#post2336264

Last edited by nofish; 11-21-2020 at 10:56 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 03:18 PM   #50
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
Hm. Leaves me wondering if it would be do-able to make razor edit able to "cut slots" in a project like the really good editors used to do when working on 2" tape and cutting little rectangles out to edit just ONE track at a time?

In theory, this should be really easy to do in a DAW. I like the idea of being able to cut out Z-shaped pieces in a project & either move or edit them. Or is this already do-able? I havent tried any of the pre-release versions, so totally ignorant on what you can or cant do right now.
Something that somewhat points at the direction of what 'real' razor edit would be is already there in REAPER in spectral edit (although not really the same); if you insert a spectral edit range in a media item, you can not just move the upper and lower boundary of the frequency range, you can also draw the boundaries freehand while holding down ctrl key.

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 03:41 PM   #51
cairnan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post

Faaaaala Mineiro!! Se me permite assim chama-lo, carinhosamente.

Abraços!!
Edison
Com certeza - e baixei a tradução!
cairnan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 03:49 PM   #52
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cairnan View Post
Com certeza - e baixei a tradução!
Thanks for downloading it.

With very few untranslated lines ... Although I sometimes asked for these strings.

I don't know why, the Downloads counter is stuck at 5438, it's been a long time!

You are in which country ... I looked over but I didn't find it.

Thanks !!
__________________
REAPER, evolução constante - Brazilian LangPack (pt-BR) - https://stash.reaper.fm/tag/Language-Packs

Last edited by Edison; 11-22-2020 at 03:02 AM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 05:10 PM   #53
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
For purpose of the naming discussion, background why razor edit (and area selection was abandoned):
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....64#post2336264
Thanks Nofish for pointing at that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The purpose of renaming area selection to razor edit is to create a coherent mental model for what this feature does...
But this mental model is only coherent, if you assume that everyone associates this with cutting and splicing analog tapes like we did in the ole days. But as I stated above, many of us didn't ever use an analog tape recorder before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
...and to specifically remove the user expectation that this feature behaves similarly to project time selections.
So wouldn't 'area selection' replaced by 'area edit' remove this user expectation of similarity as well?

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Given that razor edits currently don't support *any* area selection behaviors, focusing on the razor edit domain gives us a useful intermediate milestone for the feature.
This gives room for hope.

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 02:33 AM   #54
cairnan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post

With very few untranslated lines ... Although I sometimes asked for these strings.

I don't know why, the Downloads counter is stuck at 5438, it's been a long time!
that is strange. language translation is a great endeavor that really fits with Reaper's theme of always being customizable and specific to any person's specific style or workflow. One of Reaper's main draws in my opinion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post

You are in which country ... I looked over but I didn't find it.
I live in the United States; born here, and living here for the foreseeable future. My local supermarket has Guaraná Antarctica so everything's great here haha.

Last edited by cairnan; 11-22-2020 at 03:45 AM.
cairnan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 03:21 AM   #55
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cairnan View Post
bem, isso é estranho mesmo. mas traduzir é um trabalho bem útil, e que encaixa com o tema de Reaper de sempre ter aquela costumização e especificidade para qualquer estilo / pessoa. uma atração principal de Reaper ao meu ver.

Moro nos Estados Unidos. Nasci aqui, continuo aqui por enquanto. Meu supermercado local tem Guaraná Antarctica então tudo está bem aqui haha

Hello cairnan!

I rewrote the post text in English (my poor English) to avoid being scolded
Could you please delete your last text and rewrite it in English?
Guaraná Antarctica, the best!

kind regards,
__________________
REAPER, evolução constante - Brazilian LangPack (pt-BR) - https://stash.reaper.fm/tag/Language-Packs
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 03:47 AM   #56
cairnan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
Hello cairnan!

I rewrote the post text in English (my poor English) to avoid being scolded
Could you please delete your last text and rewrite it in English?
Guaraná Antarctica, the best!

kind regards,
No problem. And your English is good! English is a capable language, but has some very odd and inconsistent rules!

cairnan
cairnan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 03:48 AM   #57
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,427
Default

Well, I think I shouldn't be that loudmouthed, since I had a short discussion in (BTW bad) German with Airon, but just in case you didn't know: There's a special Forum for Spanish speaking folks in the world wide spread REAPER community:
Foro de REAPER en Español.



-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 04:18 AM   #58
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
Well, I think I shouldn't be that loudmouthed, since I had a short discussion in (BTW bad) German with Airon, but just in case you didn't know: There's a special Forum for Spanish speaking folks in the world wide spread REAPER community:
Foro de REAPER en Español.



-Data
Hello Mr Data!!

It all started because of how to translate Razor Edit

I know of the existence of Forums for other languages, sometimes I go to one of them, Portuguese.
@cairnan mentioned in Brazilian Portuguese, that he lived in Brazil for a few years, and I tried to be kind to him, just as he was to me.

Best regards,
__________________
REAPER, evolução constante - Brazilian LangPack (pt-BR) - https://stash.reaper.fm/tag/Language-Packs

Last edited by Edison; 11-22-2020 at 05:01 AM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 05:00 AM   #59
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
It all started because of how to translate Razor Edit

I know of the existence of Forums for other languages, sometimes I go to one of them.
@cairnan mentioned in Brazilian Portuguese, that he lived in Brazil for a few years, and I tried to be kind to him, just as he was to me.

Best regards,
Aaargh!
What have I done!?

No, Edison, what I wrote was by no means intended as accusation!
Written Portuguese and Spanish don't look very different to the one who doesn't know (namely me).
To be kind and willing to help can never be a bad thing to do imo.

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 05:31 AM   #60
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
Aaargh!
What have I done!?

No, Edison, what I wrote was by no means intended as accusation!
Written Portuguese and Spanish don't look very different to the one who doesn't know (namely me).
To be kind and willing to help can never be a bad thing to do imo.

-Data
At no time did I feel like an accusation on your part
In fact, you are always a gentleman.

By the way. Has your Language-Pack Downloads counter ever stopped? Mine, stopped in 5438 and it's been a while!

Edison,
__________________
REAPER, evolução constante - Brazilian LangPack (pt-BR) - https://stash.reaper.fm/tag/Language-Packs

Last edited by Edison; 11-22-2020 at 05:58 AM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 06:27 AM   #61
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,427
Default

Thank you.

Well, right now I'm blushing.

Yes, it stopped, probably 'cos nobody downloaded it.
No, seriously - the trick is, that you never change the filename. Just replace your old langpack file, but keep the exact same name and in the file itself update the data in the first line, right behind "#NAME: ". That should do it - Hm - at least it did for me.


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht

Last edited by Mr. Data; 11-22-2020 at 07:22 AM.
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 12:54 PM   #62
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
Thank you.

Well, right now I'm blushing.

Yes, it stopped, probably 'cos nobody downloaded it.
No, seriously - the trick is, that you never change the filename. Just replace your old langpack file, but keep the exact same name and in the file itself update the data in the first line, right behind "#NAME: ". That should do it - Hm - at least it did for me.


-Data
Hello Data,

By Download, kkkkk!
By name change this was not, but text can be. Because I made a small change in a Header text. I will test by going back to the previous text.

Thanks a lot!!
Edison,
__________________
REAPER, evolução constante - Brazilian LangPack (pt-BR) - https://stash.reaper.fm/tag/Language-Packs
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 03:37 PM   #63
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,427
Default

Well, my langpack file is always called "DE_(+SWS).ReaperLangPack" on the REAPER stash, but the first line differs from version to version. Following the token '#NAME:' is what you see as entry of the dropdown menu, when selecting this langpack in REAPER.

Code:
#NAME:Deutsch [DE] [v6.15] (+SWS) (201122)
Could you possibly have forgotten to tag your file as "Language Packs" at "Category" before uploading?

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 03:11 AM   #64
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
Well, my langpack file is always called "DE_(+SWS).ReaperLangPack" on the REAPER stash, but the first line differs from version to version. Following the token '#NAME:' is what you see as entry of the dropdown menu, when selecting this langpack in REAPER.

Code:
#NAME:Deutsch [DE] [v6.15] (+SWS) (201122)
Could you possibly have forgotten to tag your file as "Language Packs" at "Category" before uploading?

-Data
Hello Data

Thanks again for your attention.

1- The name of my file, always like this: #NAME:Português [pt-BR] - By Edison Defavari

2- When creating the file, I did not forget to choose how: "Language Packs" at "Category" before uploading.

Note: Some time ago, something similar happened when the counter was at over 10,000 Downloads. So if necessary I start again from Zero. I'll just ask my friend @Juca to post the comment again.


Kind regards,
__________________
REAPER, evolução constante - Brazilian LangPack (pt-BR) - https://stash.reaper.fm/tag/Language-Packs

Last edited by Edison; 11-23-2020 at 03:17 AM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 10:29 AM   #65
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,044
Default

ignorant english only speaker here - could you not just make Razor Edit a proper name? Translate the description not the function name.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 10:48 AM   #66
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,427
Default

Sure, but I wanted to avoid this, hence my insisting (and what I've not expected, the discussion).
The reason is that I wanted that German as well as English speaking people have the same associations when working with this function. Currently we face two possible situations for German speakers: Either (s)he'd say: "Hö? Why is this function called differently in German?" (e. g. the ones who mainly use the native English version and use the German one, just to overcome some obstacles) or they'd say: "Hö? Rasierklinge? Klinge? What the hell has got that to do with a razor!? I'm selecting rectangles here, I'm not shaving. I don't even have a beard."

For the time being, since this function is not implemented in a full release version yet, I've called it "Kettensägen-Bearbeitung" in the langpack.

BTW: currently I'm working hard on it.

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht

Last edited by Mr. Data; 11-23-2020 at 01:24 PM.
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 10:36 AM   #67
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,427
Default

Hi Edison,

First of all I must say that I don't no why I always assumed you did a Spanish version. Ignorant me.

Also sorry for overlooking your post prior to EpicSounds'.
Have seen it just now.

You wrote...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
1- The name of my file, always like this: #NAME:Português [pt-BR] - By Edison Defavari
Maybe that's the point:
The first line in the langpack file, beginning with '#NAME:' Can (and maybe should) have different content for every upload you do, but the file name should remain the same. To achieve this, don't just use 'Upload', but 'Replace' when uploading.

I doubt, BTW, that the view counter is limited to 10,000.

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.