Old 12-01-2017, 06:20 AM   #1
pyerbass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 293
Default THEMERS: alternatibve to knobman?

Hi guys, I was wondering if ther is any other software than knobman to make knobs? I feel some limitations in this especially when you want to set a precise number of pixel.

What do you use to make knobs?

thank in advance
Pyer
pyerbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 09:33 AM   #2
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 344
Default

I use knobman to make flat or ortographic projection knobs.

If i need to go nuts i use Blender.
__________________
JRENG! | EHX | Youtube
jrengmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 09:30 PM   #3
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,502
Default

what exactly do you mean by a 'precise number of pixels'...

you mostly can do that with knobman

I sometimes bounce between knobman and photoshop for certain things

maybe if you could tell more about what the prob is 'we' could say more
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 09:20 AM   #4
pyerbass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 293
Default

Thanks for your answers
My problem with knobman is that it works with proportion and %
If I want a circle of 19px diameter on a 21px png, it's a bore to have anything really precise.

Do you have any tricks?

Bender looks cool! I also use some 3 modeling and rendering software but I don't know how to render them in a reaper ready stack
pyerbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 09:48 AM   #5
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyerbass View Post
Bender looks cool! I also use some 3 modeling and rendering software but I don't know how to render them in a reaper ready stack
Rendering from 3D software to UI assets is tricky. Sometimes i need to render them with separate passes for highlight, shadows, etc.

I use a lot of addons on Blender to get the job done. I even modify an addon just for specific task to get the specific coordinate and dimension.

In a nutshell, you need to render the animated 3D object with the desired dimension. Then stitch the animation frames to a single stack.

Because i could not find any macOS apps for stitching PNG images into single stack easily, I even wrote a specific apps just for stitching Blender rendered animation frames into a single stack with openFrameworks LOL
__________________
JRENG! | EHX | Youtube
jrengmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 09:55 AM   #6
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,262
Default

For non-3D elements I use After Effects. But I'm not suggesting for a minute that you rush out and buy After Effects, that would be extremely extravagant, but some other motion graphics package? Perhaps search for tutorials on motion graphics and 2D compositing in Blender? I know people do use it for such things, and achieve great results, though I suspect the workflow might be a little convoluted.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 07:11 AM   #7
pyerbass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 293
Default

Many thanks for your anwser guys,

After effect of course! I actually have the adobe CC collection for my freelance work, but I only use photoshop and Ai, but I never installed After effect, I did'nt know it can be used for this. I'll give it a shot. Thanks!

Damn, 3d redering sounds tricky. it's strange that there is no easy way to do this considering the tons of 3D GUI out there. I'll send a mail at arturia, they are usually nice guys, they might answer ;-)
pyerbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 08:00 AM   #8
pyerbass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 293
Default

Damn! I just found out!
There is a timeline in photoshop! hello new horizons!
pyerbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.