Old 07-05-2008, 04:50 PM   #1
nicholas
Scribe
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,530
Default 2.4 Pre 6

v2.4pre6 - July 5 2008
+ better loop-scrub/jog mode (configurable ranges, better sound quality)
+ better scrub ballistics
+ made demo project use less CPU (changed resampling mode)

__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:15 PM   #2
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Very nice scrubbing (esp loop) and options now.

Except...

Can the "dim" amount when scrubbing be configurable? It seems now to be set slightly low for my taste - and you can bet all tastes with vary!
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:26 PM   #3
bogo
Human being with feelings
 
bogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 753
Default

Wow, very good work on the scrubbing implementation. Sounds very smooth, thanks. I agree with Art about the dim level.
bogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:26 PM   #4
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

... and getting really nitpicky, so probably ignore this, but if you have scrubbing set to play selected tracks only, then selecting no track, or the master track, should perhaps scrub all tracks.

It's really working nicely. I tried various values for loop scrub in prefs but your default is very well chosen, I'd say.

For someone with visual impairments this could all be particularly handy - people with partial or even almost no sight do use DAW programs!

Last edited by Art Evans; 07-05-2008 at 05:29 PM.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:46 PM   #5
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans View Post
... and getting really nitpicky, so probably ignore this, but if you have scrubbing set to play selected tracks only, then selecting no track, or the master track, should perhaps scrub all tracks.
A good idea.

Quote:

It's really working nicely. I tried various values for loop scrub in prefs but your default is very well chosen, I'd say.
What was the default again...-88 to zero?

I'm using 0 to 80ms at the moment, is there an advantage looping to the cursor, rather than from it? I assume the cursor is at zero when stopped.
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:51 PM   #6
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

If going forward to a transient (or unwanted click), and you want to hear the moment that the transient begins to sound, and you want the cursor to be on that edge of the transient, then you want -88 0 (or minus whatever, but 88 does seem dead right).
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 06:03 PM   #7
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans View Post
If going forward to a transient (or unwanted click), and you want to hear the moment that the transient begins to sound, and you want the cursor to be on that edge of the transient, then you want -88 0 (or minus whatever, but 88 does seem dead right).
True, and only -88 or close seems to work.

If I decrease the first figure (to say 50ms) and move in on the zoomed transient, I get sound further away then if I leave it as default (whereas, I thought if I decreased it, I could get closer to the item before any audio was heard).

Increasing the first value works as expected, but not decreasing it.

That said, the default works great! I'm having a blast with this...
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:28 PM   #8
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,452
Default

Automation bugs:

Mute envelope...enables at the top of the item at first, if you delete all nodes in time selection, it then appears in the middle of the item.

The first node of an item envelope is still deletable, if you accidentally delete that, your envelope is gone for good.
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:30 PM   #9
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
v2.4pre6 - July 5 2008
+ better loop-scrub/jog mode (configurable ranges, better sound quality)
+ better scrub ballistics
+ made demo project use less CPU (changed resampling mode)

Also (seems to be undocumented):

The action window has a separate window for main/midi etc (help-show action list).
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 01:52 AM   #10
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas
+ better loop-scrub/jog mode (configurable ranges, better sound quality)
mmh, the range doesn't seem to be correctly set 100%.

why do I hear the waveform already ~2ms earlier when scrubbing in front of it? i know, 2ms isn't much, but why not being 100% exact here?

FIXED

Last edited by Dstruct; 07-06-2008 at 10:24 PM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 08:24 AM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff View Post
mmh, the range doesn't seem to be correctly set 100%.


see http://www.outburst-audio.com/misc/l...ange-issue.jpg (looped segment range set to: -88ms to 0ms)

so why do I hear the waveform already ~2ms earlier when scrubbing in front of it? i know, 2ms isn't much, but why not being 100% exact here?

If you get a updscrub2.zip on LoL, it should fix that.. there were two small issues that caused this, one was the fact that a HP filter that was being applied was applied to an extra bit, so you could hear some latent samples from the filter...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 08:41 AM   #12
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
If you get a updscrub2.zip on LoL, it should fix that
nope. maybe it's a bit better (quiter) - i'm not sure. but i still get sound 2ms before the actual content! so it's still not usable here when zoomed into detail on a waveform.

FIXED



what i also notived:

-> add a audio-file to a track
-> make a 4 ms selection in front of it (selection should end a bit before the audiofile)
-> playback in loop-mode

=> i hear sound! but there isn't any item in the selection!

if i extend the selection to 6ms to the left, the sound goes away (but the master-meter still is showing levels)!




+ the mouse is TOO slow now in scrub-mode when zoomed in to detail on a waveform! not usable anymore IMO!

Last edited by Dstruct; 07-06-2008 at 10:25 PM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 09:17 AM   #13
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
one was the fact that a HP filter that was being applied
just curious, why do you need to put a highpass filter on there at all?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 09:31 AM   #14
drillbit
Human being with feelings
 
drillbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 634
Default Freeeeessshhh

Wow Reaper scratching is fun. I feel like DJ Jazzy Drillbit and the Fresh Prince. Flipping between the modifyers with the middle click (wheel) is quite creative process. I might have to mix down some scratchy jams and edit them into something cool.

Excellent..moo.ha..har!
__________________
https://www.instagram.com/trilbyt/
https://ello.co/trilbyt/
trilbyt on Facebook

Last edited by drillbit; 07-06-2008 at 09:32 AM. Reason: spelt 'moo ha har' wrongly
drillbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 10:04 AM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff View Post
just curious, why do you need to put a highpass filter on there at all?
if you're not in looped-mode, and are doing slow scrubs, you can get some serious DC offsets which make for lots of clicks, and also seem to upset some soundcards...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 10:14 AM   #16
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin
if you're not in looped-mode, and are doing slow scrubs, you can get some serious DC offsets which make for lots of clicks, and also seem to upset some soundcards...
yeah you're right, DC offset can be a terrible thing


but can you reproduce the issue that it still is reading/playing ahead for about 2ms?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.