Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

View Poll Results: Do you need "Pooled boxes" for Audio-Items?
Yes I need them 29 93.55%
Never needed them 2 6.45%
I don't know 0 0%
Voters: 31. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2020, 04:14 AM   #41
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
Plus 1 pooled groups /parts would be great. But why just for audio items?
What else, stretch markers? I find really cool how FL can do this in their latest update.

https://youtu.be/ywf3x-SkRxI?t=213
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 07:51 AM   #42
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,577
Default

Yeah the Ability to multiple select stretch markers would be very nice feature and sounds great as creative/editing tool.
Ofcourse pooled items groups/parts should inherit it not sure take envelopes too as default but definitely as an option (I think)

Edit: hmm yeah , if it's pooled item group/parts it's envelopes should be propagated automatically too

Last edited by deeb; 01-05-2020 at 08:16 AM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 12:02 PM   #43
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by winbe View Post
I am constantly having to copy / paste my audio each time I change it somewhere...
I have always the risk to forget to make one copy, and this is quite time consuming...
You can replace all copied instances of item with the new edited item using "Replace in project -> All instances" in Project Bay 'Media Items' tab.
All changes in item length, looping, source media, source section, take envelopes, take fx, item fades, stretch markers, etc will be automatically copied to all instances.

To be able to use the Project Bay effectively, it is good to give some meaningful names for your takes and files.
It is also useful to enable these options in Porject Bay:
  • "Mirror selection in bay and project". This helps for example to see which items are identical copied instances and which ones you are replacing.
  • "Automatically retain media items when removed from project". This helps to easily get back to some old version of your item edits.

I know, this is not the same as the "box" feature requested here. But, it is much easier than manual copy / pasting.

jnif

Last edited by jnif; 01-05-2020 at 12:50 PM.
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 05:59 AM   #44
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
Plus 1 pooled groups /parts would be great. But why just for audio items?
Yes - I will be most grateful if we could pool at least a
kind of "audio-box".

Midi-items and automation items can be pooled already -
so there is no urgent need to enhance something.

But of course - an elegant and "Reaper-like" solution
would be a visible box which can have any content:

-- midi-items
-- audio-items + all the crossfades
-- automation-items
-- envelopes

and which can be pool-copied.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 06:05 AM   #45
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
You can replace all copied instances of item with the new edited item using "Replace in project -> All instances" in Project Bay 'Media Items' tab.
Yes, thank you.

I add this to the list of workarounds!
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 07:42 AM   #46
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
Yes - I will be most grateful if we could pool at least a
kind of "audio-box".

Midi-items and automation items can be pooled already -
so there is no urgent need to enhance something.

But of course - an elegant and "Reaper-like" solution
would be a visible box which can have any content:

-- midi-items
-- audio-items + all the crossfades
-- automation-items
-- envelopes

and which can be pool-copied.
yes this would be great!
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 02:19 AM   #47
winbe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
You can replace all copied instances of item with the new edited item using "Replace in project -> All instances" in Project Bay 'Media Items' tab.
All changes in item length, looping, source media, source section, take envelopes, take fx, item fades, stretch markers, etc will be automatically copied to all instances.

To be able to use the Project Bay effectively, it is good to give some meaningful names for your takes and files.
It is also useful to enable these options in Porject Bay:
  • "Mirror selection in bay and project". This helps for example to see which items are identical copied instances and which ones you are replacing.
  • "Automatically retain media items when removed from project". This helps to easily get back to some old version of your item edits.

I know, this is not the same as the "box" feature requested here. But, it is much easier than manual copy / pasting.

jnif
Hi, this won't work in my case, I am afraid... what I usually do is split an audio item in multiple parts, because I adjust the timing of each note, add some fades, change pitch... I would love to somehow draw a box around this whole thing and copy the box and each time I change something within a box, other boxes follow.
There is a workaround: when I am finished with the editing, I "glue" this into a new audio file... Old school way of doing, destructive, eats disk space...
__________________
Cedric Simon aka FrozenjaZz
Fresh beats - www.frozenjazz.com
winbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 02:46 AM   #48
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,577
Default

Winbe yes, that would be great.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.