Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Developer Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2011, 06:04 PM   #1
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default Cockos Reaper_www (Web control of Reaper) New plugin

Here

Happened to mention to Justin that i was thinking of using an old PDA to control Reaper for some stuff and BAM RIGHT IN THE KISSER

Features
Near realtime update
Track ID
Mute
Solo
FX enable/disable
Metering
Volume +label
Pan +label

Read the instructions in the .zip
Has been tested with iOS and Firefox but also i have it working in Chrome and JBM has it working on Android.

Test as many browsers as you can and let us know
(Keep in mind this was a "Yeah i have something that might do that" kind of deal so don't expect a thousand updates a week like Reaper (Although honestly i think this is rather a big feature haha)



Running in Chrome
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 06:15 PM   #2
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Oh its open ended too
Look inside the main.js for details, this can be configured to control much most things in Reaper (Just need the right javascript)
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 06:26 PM   #3
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 3,765
Default

woh. v.awesome..

ipod touch all good here. inc. 'mercury' browser which does full screen better than safari.

potential coolness factor of 'alot'

nice work all round... many thanks!
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 06:43 PM   #4
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Just run it from two different devices at the same time by the looks of things it ran fine (Via WIFI not net)
I'm gonna go find me an Android pad hahaha
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 07:00 PM   #5
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 3,765
Default

yep - am envisaging all kinds of versions for all kinds of situations and devices popping up v soon once the codefreaks get a wiff...

unfortunately i can't programme much beyond:

10 print "ben is cool"
20 goto 10

but i can make the buttons bigger in gimp...
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 07:17 PM   #6
caseyjames
Human being with feelings
 
caseyjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
Oh its open ended too
Look inside the main.js for details, this can be configured to control much most things in Reaper (Just need the right javascript)
Whhah?

Similar to something like Max for Live? If so, then the main difference would be latency vs sample accurate timing.

How high level are the functions?
caseyjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 07:24 PM   #7
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

It uses the same API that the SWS stuff is built on
So it really is very very powerful
I'm no coder but i am sure somebody out there is going to go completely nutso with this and come up with all kinds of mad control options.
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 07:25 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caseyjames View Post
Whhah?

Similar to something like Max for Live? If so, then the main difference would be latency vs sample accurate timing.

How high level are the functions?
No, it's for remote control (via web browser). You can write the UI for the remote control using html/javascript/ajax.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 11:29 PM   #9
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 4,803
Default

*subscribes to thread*

I'm definitely going to be checking this out later when I'm in my studio.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 11:47 PM   #10
VVV
Human being with feelings
 
VVV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Posts: 387
Default

What is the point of this feature? I dont get it
VVV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 12:04 AM   #11
TabSel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Default

tried, but could not get it to run.

put the dll in plugins folder. Tried Internet Explorer on the same machine as reaper is running, using localhost:8808: Unknown url

tried on iphone in the same WLAN using reaper machine's ip:8808... unknown url
TabSel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 12:04 AM   #12
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VVV View Post
What is the point of this feature? I dont get it
Many applications. One would be for wireless remote control of REAPER via netbook, laptop, tablet or iPhone etc. Handy if you track on your own.

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

Last edited by Shan; 04-11-2011 at 04:32 AM.
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 12:23 AM   #13
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VVV View Post
What is the point of this feature? I dont get it
Sell your Tranzport. Use your phone (assuming your phone is fancy enough to handle the task.)

I wonder if there will be a spike in Tranzport eBay auctions now...lol
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 12:32 AM   #14
strinxx
Human being with feelings
 
strinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 286
Default

This is absolutely amazing!
Gonna check this out later!
Wow!
strinxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 01:32 AM   #15
Charango
Human being with feelings
 
Charango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Biarritz, France
Posts: 82
Default

Tested here and working on Firefox 4, Chrome 10 and IE 8 - really cool!! Now I just have to figure out what I can do with it
__________________
My latest song

https://soundcloud.com/charango/what-is-left
Charango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 02:43 AM   #16
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,675
Default

Interesting.

A guy in New Zealand could be controlling Reaper with this, while I play...

Some people replicate part of the screen on their touch screen devices to control parts of the DAW, but with this you don't even need to have those controls onscreen.

Cool stuff. Another wow.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 02:59 AM   #17
zappsunzorn
Human being with feelings
 
zappsunzorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Posts: 2,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TabSel View Post
tried, but could not get it to run.

put the dll in plugins folder. Tried Internet Explorer on the same machine as reaper is running, using localhost:8808: Unknown url

tried on iphone in the same WLAN using reaper machine's ip:8808... unknown url
I have the same issue, I think I followed the directions in the text file (but I still suspect user error). Tried Firefox 4 and from another computer, but no luck. This is still real cool and seems like a good approach to this kind of thing.

I hope this doesn't stay lost in LOL for long.
zappsunzorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 03:13 AM   #18
dub3000
Human being with feelings
 
dub3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,801
Default

incredible work. wow.

works good here.
dub3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 07:02 AM   #19
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VVV View Post
What is the point of this feature? I dont get it
Well Multi touch Android pads at about 10" are shipping for less than a Behringer BCF
So you could have a touch screen controller just for you faders if you wanted to, maybe even a small 7" android or old PDA or phone to show action buttons on its touch screen

The perfect use for this is recording yourself, your normally away from the computer, so use your phone or pad to control Reaper while you record haha

The possibilities are near endless for this
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 08:08 AM   #20
Melvin J.
Human being with feelings
 
Melvin J.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South West Michigan
Posts: 248
Default

I can't get my browser to load the localhost thing. I copy and pasted the address from the readme and it can't connect with anything. I also suspect user error on my part but...
__________________
ADK Laptop Intel i7 2860QM, 8 GB RAM, Avid MBOX Pro 3 (BLA Modified), Novation Remote SL37, DSI Mopho, DSI Tempest, Trilian, Aether 1.5.1, Valhalla, Nerve, Komplete 7
Melvin J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 08:16 AM   #21
johnrule
Human being with feelings
 
johnrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern California
Posts: 273
Default

Not to spoil the party but...why would I use this rather than a VNC connection?
johnrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 09:08 AM   #22
egoplasma
Human being with feelings
 
egoplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 162
Default

Ha, cool! Tested only on the same computer. Works fine!
WinXP 32, Firefox 4
egoplasma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:01 AM   #23
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,865
Default

well a vnc connection will let you see (a little of) your screen - this will let you put together a customized and efficient remote interface. Vnc is also irritatingly slow.
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:12 AM   #24
Youn
Human being with feelings
 
Youn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,159
Default

WOW, very cool... and I was recently thinking of making a web controller for reaper... thanks, I'm taking a look at this right now
Youn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:13 AM   #25
Ed Zeppeli
Human being with feelings
 
Ed Zeppeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Many applications. One would be for wireless remote control of REAPER via netbook, laptop, tablet or iPhone etc. Handy if you track on your own.

Shane
Yep. Good call!
Ed Zeppeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:24 AM   #26
ppwazzup
Human being with feelings
 
ppwazzup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 267
Default

Works in Opera 11.01 and on my Android MyTouch 4g with default browser. On my phone with wifi on I used my machines IP and on T-Mobiles internet connection I use my ISP provided IP. I did have to go into my routers firewall and open the port tho. Also, I tried putting it in MY default plugin folder but that did not work. I did have to put it in the REAPER/Plugins folder as the txt files said to do LOL. I like this setup for when I am at my drums better than fingerplay midi.

Matt
__________________
Reverbnation, MySpace & Facebook <-- Check out my music!
Follow me on Twitter @NWMetal
ppwazzup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:32 AM   #27
dukati
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
Default

Holy Crap.... ppwazup just solved my problems.... I feel stupid. All I had to do was follow the directions and put it in the actual reaper plugin folder...

This is awesome

Steve
dukati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:35 AM   #28
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melvin J. View Post
I can't get my browser to load the localhost thing. I copy and pasted the address from the readme and it can't connect with anything. I also suspect user error on my part but...
Make sure you copied the .dll and the folder that is needed to the reaper plugin folder (Not your vst folder)

If localhost doesn't work , try changing localhost for your machine IP address

Hopefully that helps
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:40 AM   #29
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Youn View Post
WOW, very cool... and I was recently thinking of making a web controller for reaper... thanks, I'm taking a look at this right now
Thats what we need hahaha somebody who can code to do an AJAX interface and update the main.js to support more control.
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 11:16 AM   #30
Youn
Human being with feelings
 
Youn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,159
Default

heh, spent a few minutes just now (after a nice big lunch)
I tried recording but it threw some kind of error and crashed everything, other that, looks pretty good...


To get some folks started on the customization, here is how to add "Previous Marker" and "Next Marker" buttons:

Open up index.html, and below line 169 (after the transport img tags), add the following:
Code:
<img name="transport_marker_prev" src="img/transport_marker_prev.png" onClick="javascript:wwr_req(40172)">
<img name="transport_marker_next" src="img/transport_marker_next.png" onClick="javascript:wwr_req(40173)">
Then, place the attached images in the "img" folder. Not bad, eh?



Any action can be added like this (well, I'm assuming), just check "Show action IDs" in the actions menu for the correct code, and give that to the "wwr_req" script function.

eh... I'm inspired anyways hopefully I'll have time to do more, especially the js stuff, allot can be done for more functionality! I'm insanely busy though, so maybe later...
Attached Images
File Type: png transport_marker_next.png (1,017 Bytes, 407 views)
File Type: png transport_marker_prev.png (1.0 KB, 393 views)

Last edited by Youn; 04-11-2011 at 11:22 AM.
Youn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 11:19 AM   #31
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Super slick youn
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 11:47 AM   #32
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 3,765
Default

ahh Youn shows the way... thanks.

one little bodge have just tried is using googlesites to put the controller page in (2) iframe gadgets so that it will keep the transport always visible whilst scrollling down through tracks.

am sure theres a neater way of arranging things, but this was code-free and you can add more iframes of various sizes that host modified index.html's (maybe?) for extra buttons etc. and arrange them as you wish.
example:

transport buttons stays on top
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 12:11 PM   #33
Youn
Human being with feelings
 
Youn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,159
Default

ahh yes, floating bits like that are super easy with some basic css. Check it out:

Code:
<div id="transport" style="border:2px solid black;padding:12px;background:#45555f;position:fixed;">
  <img name="transport_home" src="img/transport_home.png" onClick="javascript:wwr_req(40042)"><img name="transport_play" src="img/transport_play.png" onClick="javascript:wwr_req(1007)"><img name="transport_pause" src="img/transport_pause.png" onClick="javascript:wwr_req(1008)"><img name="transport_stop" src="img/transport_stop.png" onClick="javascript:wwr_req(40667)"><img name="transport_end" src="img/transport_end.png" onClick="javascript:wwr_req(40043)"><img name="transport_record" src="img/transport_record.png" onClick="javascript:wwr_req(1013)"><img name="transport_repeat" src="img/transport_repeat_off.png" onClick="javascript:wwr_req(1068)">
  <BR>
  <div id="transport_text"></div>
</div>
<BR><BR>
<div style="margin-top:70px;">
  <div id="tracks"></div>
  <div id="log"></div>
</div>


All I did was add a "style" tag to the transport div.

Then, to offset the rest of the page, wrapped that in another div with a top margin of 70 pixels.
Youn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 12:18 PM   #34
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,809
Default

Works in Opera Mobile 11 on Symbian/S60...no routing of ports required. This is great stuff, thanks!

I hope we will get x64 version soon
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 12:43 PM   #35
johnrule
Human being with feelings
 
johnrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern California
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by semiquaver View Post
well a vnc connection will let you see (a little of) your screen - this will let you put together a customized and efficient remote interface. Vnc is also irritatingly slow.
Customization...I see.

Not to take anything away from what this person has done, but if you want to easily create user interfaces for your control, you might want to try this.

Basically, you can layout your elements in a GUI designer and then convert to html. The html buttons can trigger midi, udp, osc, etc. back in your project. In all honesty I created it, so you can lambaste me for doing this, but I thought it might be worth mentioning.

I can probably interface my code with this .dll if you really want me to...there may be a way to utilize it just like it is actually.
johnrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 12:45 PM   #36
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 3,765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Youn View Post
coolness

- oh yeh... thanks much for the tips!
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 01:19 PM   #37
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnrule View Post
Not to take anything away from what this person has done
This Person would be Justin the developer of Reaper, So i am quite sure this is the best solution for Reaper, However your app looks very cool and if it could be used with this plugin to make custom control UI i would be on it like a fly on sh*t.
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 01:21 PM   #38
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Youn View Post
ahh yes, floating bits like that are super easy with some basic css. Check it out:
Very cool
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 03:09 PM   #39
pauloticks
Human being with feelings
 
pauloticks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cortland, OH
Posts: 42
Default

Thank you so much Justin for this great addition to Reaper.
I have a question though. My DAW is connect to the router via
cat5 cable and the devices I am trying to control the daw with
are connecting to the router via wifi. I am able to get it to
work using the same machine but not my wifi devices. Thank you
for your help and enjoy this beautiful day!!!
__________________
www.soundbarrage.com
pauloticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 03:24 PM   #40
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Have you tried using the ip address of the machine you are trying toc ontrol in place of Localhost ?
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.