Old 09-10-2018, 09:59 AM   #1
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 392
Default fxlist for TCP

fxlist for TCP is in pre-beta state and probably will stay like this, use on your own risk.


Installation:
Note: REAPER 5.95+ is required.

1) Download file for your OS: windows x64, macos x64, linux x64 and place it into UserPlugins folder.
(You can find UserPlugins folder, if you choose Options->Show REAPER resource/path in explorer/finder..)

2) Find action "Show fxlist window" in Actions list, run it, right-click popped-up window and select "Dock", dock it to left side along TCP. It's ready for use.
================================================== =========================================


Effects: Column for managing effects on tracks. Effects_list_example.
Favourites..: Custom multi-level context menu for effects. (Guide_HowTo). Favourites_example_gif.
FX comments and generic track fx info (total tooltip): Hold ctrl+rightMB(hold control+shift+MB) on a track block, tooltip will appear - showing quick total info for this track. Tooltip_example
Note: Sum of latencies of effects in total tooltip may differ from track's total latency.
Note: Don't invoke total tooltip during playback/recording, it can be intensive on CPU, use only in idle state.


Key&mouse shortcuts for effects column(mac in parentheses):
leftMB on empty cell to open fx browser.
leftMB on fx to show/hide float fx window.
drag leftMB on fx to copy/move single or multiple fx.
ctrl+leftMB(cmd+MB) to show fx chain window.
shift+leftMB to bypass single or multiple fx.
ctrl+shift+leftMB(cmd+shift+MB) to turn online/offline single or multiple fx.
alt+leftMB(option+MB) to remove fx.
drag leftMB on wet knob to adjust value.
ctrl+drag leftMB(cmd+MB) on wet knob for precise adjustment.
leftMB doubleclick on wet knob to reset to default value.
rightMB(control+MB) to show fx context menu.
hold ctrl+rightMB(hold control+shift+MB) to show tooltip with generic track fx's info.
middleMB/drag middleMB(control+cmd+MB/control+cmd+drag MB) on fx to mark/unmark single or multiple fx on 1 track for subsequent copy/move/bypass/offline/wet parameter adjustment.
middleMB/drag middleMB(control+cmd+MB/control+cmd+drag MB) on empty cell to clear single-track marks.
shift+middleMB/shift+drag middleMB(control+cmd+shift+MB/control+cmd+shift+drag MB) on fx to mark/unmark single or multiple fx on multiple tracks for subsequent simultaneous bypass or offline or wet parameter adjustment.
shift+drag middleMB(control+cmd+shift+drag MB) on empty cell to clear multi-track marks.
mousewheel to scroll view.


Sends: Column for managing sends on tracks. Sends_list_example.
Switch on Show routing/Receives/Sends/HW outputs in right click menu to be able to see routing column.
Save/Remove/Apply preset works only for sends&receives. (hardware output sends are not supported)
You can apply preset to single send or more sends, if you select multiple track blocks with middleMB and then apply preset to track, where you want to create receive from / send to selected tracks, all created receives/sends will have preset settings.
Worth mentioning, that applying presets to existing and creating new sends from preset are able to change number of track channels.
Mute master/parent works for single or multiple tracks, you can select multiple by middleMB and then select mute master/parent from context menu.

Key&mouse shortcuts for sends column(mac in parentheses):
leftMB to open routing window / controls window.
shift+leftMB to mute send.
ctrl+shift+leftMB(cmd+shift+MB) to switch send mode.
alt+leftMB(option+MB) to remove send.
drag leftMB to create send from one track to another.
drag leftMB on send value to adjust volume of send.
ctrl+drag leftMB(cmd+drag MB) on send value for precise volume adjustment.
shift+drag leftMB on send value to adjust pan of send.
leftMB doubleclick on send value to reset volume and pan to default value.
rightMB(control+MB) to show routing context menu.
middleMB/drag middleMB(control+cmd+MB/control+cmd+drag MB) to mark/unmark single or multiple tracks from/to which send will be created later with action from routing context menu (depends on which option is selected: "Send to" or "Send from").
shift+middleMB/shift+drag middleMB(control+cmd+shift+MB/control+cmd+shift+drag MB) to mark/unmark single or multiple sends/receives on single or multiple tracks for subsequent simultaneous mute or send volume or send pan adjustment.
shift+drag middleMB(control+cmd+shift+drag MB) on empty cell to clear multi-track marks.
mousewheel to scroll view.


Loudness Meter:
If you want to use this feature, TBProAudio's dpMeter 4 (4.1.0+)(VST2/VST3) should be installed.
When marked, dpMeter plugin gets added to monitoring FX chain and shows EBU R 128 values:
top number: Integrated loudness (or TPLR);
left number: True peak max;
right number: Loudness range.
Note: dpMeter plugin is CPU-intensive.

Key&mouse shortcuts(mac in parentheses):
LeftMB on meter's display to reset dpMeter parameters.
ctrl+leftMB(cmd+MB) to open monitoring fx chain window.
RightMB(control+MB) to show fxlist options menu.
middleMB(cmd+control+MB) to close all opened fx windows.


GR/Wet: GR_Wet_example
Shows approximate gain reduction meter (only up to -10dB) or wet parameter knob respectively.
Note: Keep in mind, GR in fxlist updates less often than effects (e.g. ReaComp), so values are not precise,
usually they show smaller reduction, but atleast it gives approximate picture of what's going on.
Note: GR +text mode is not recommended, it is the same as Gain Reduction mode, but also shows max values in short period of time in numeric form.



Tags: tags_example
Key&mouse shortcuts(mac in parentheses):
leftMB on tag to activate/deactivate tag (disable others).
drag leftMB on tag to move/sort.
ctrl+leftMB(cmd+MB) on tag to rename id.
shift+leftMB/shift+dragMB on tag/tags to toggle activate/deactivate multiple tags.
alt+leftMB(option+MB) to remove tag.
rightMB(control+MB) to show tag context menu.
middleMB(control+cmd+MB) in tag block to bypass/unbypass tags.


Controls window: For setting send parameters (Windows or Linux). Controls_example.
Keyboard shortcuts:
• s, d = set number of channels of source/destination track.
• 1, 2, 3, 4 = set audio/midi channels for source/destination track.
• m = switch sendmode.
• v, p = activate volume/pan textbox.
• up/down = while textbox is active, change value +1/-1.
• drag leftMB on label to move window.
• ctrl+leftMB on label to open fxchain of track.
• drag leftMB / mousewheel on sliders to adjust vol/pan.
• ctrl+drag leftMB / ctrl+mousewheel on sliders for precise vol/pan adjustment.
• leftMB doubleclick on silders to set default value.
• [, ] = show previous/next recv/send/hwout on a same track.


Scale: Change UI size 1x/1.5x/2x.
Tooltip: Show/hide tooltip.
Truncated cells: Show truncated fx/send cells or not.
Highlight float: Highlight in fxlist name of floating effect.
Shift float FX: Shifts FX windows a bit to not obstruct using fxlist.
Close all FX: Close all floating FX windows.
Show routing/sends/receives/HWoutputs: Shows routing column and turn on/off sends/receives/hardware outputs displaying.
Colors.. Edit colors.
IL thresholds..: Set IL values, at which text color will be changed.
Font size..: Set font size for effect names and LM values.

Last edited by doppelganger; 10-05-2019 at 01:46 PM.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 10:05 AM   #2
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
if somebody will be interested in this script, i will make little overview, what it can do.
I think I am interested...

But how can I be sure since I don't know what it can do? AFAICT, it lists the effects used on a channel?
__________________
“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity” Albert Einstein
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 10:09 AM   #3
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrano View Post
I think I am interested...

But how can I be sure since I don't know what it can do? AFAICT, it lists the effects used on a channel?
it's pretty obvious, i think. it's fxlist, the same like in mixer, you can place this script along your tracks in TCP and manage effects in this script.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 03:37 AM   #4
Distressor
Human being with feelings
 
Distressor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 103
Default

I always wanted the fx list in the TCP. Great work!
Does this work on mac as well?
Does its follow the TCP hight? This would be awesome!
Distressor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 04:49 AM   #5
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,106
Default

And just like that, we can now have FX on the TCP!! (ok, on the side, what evs!) Yabba Dabba Doo!!
Thank you very much! MuthaFkca! & Julian
__________________
:)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 05:00 AM   #6
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 392
Default

glad, that somebody liked it, i thought i'm the only 1 who needs such thing , ofcourse this script won't replace native fxlist, it's just a script, with it's limitations and bugs, but still better than nothing. When i will come home at evening, i will write a bit about it's options.

Last edited by doppelganger; 09-13-2018 at 12:59 PM.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 05:24 PM   #7
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 559
Default

[QUOTE=doppel
Loudness Meter:
To use this feature, dpMeter 2 should be installed.
[/QUOTE]

I can;t find a download for DPMeter 2, would it be possible to update it to use DPMeter 3?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 09:32 PM   #8
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,850
Default

its underneath the main downloads in like old versions or legacy
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 09:58 PM   #9
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 392
Default

dpMeter 3 doesn't have possibility to reset for scripts

Last edited by doppelganger; 09-14-2018 at 10:21 PM.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 02:29 AM   #10
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Ah, got it thanks
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 10:15 AM   #11
Dragonetti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kiel
Posts: 107
Default

wonderful scipt
can you integrate a Scale 1.5 x Mode (better for my touchscreen)
and individual track height depending on quantity of inserts switchable with shortcut
Thank you
Dragonetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 02:17 PM   #12
HoJo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 211
Default Missing some information

Hi doppelganger.

Still I dont really get how to use this.
Can you please give some advice?

Thanks a lot in advance.
BR.
HoJo

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
script fxList for TCP is in pre-beta state and probably will stay like this.
I'm uploading, because i use it as it is, but if somebody wants to try it, use on your own risk.
================================================== ===============

Installation:
-------------
REAPER 5.95 or higher is required.
1). Download this file: reaper_dopp_fxlist for your OS and place it into "UserPlugins" folder.
(e.g. "C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\UserPlug ins")

2). Copy script dopp_fxList.lua
Dock script window to the left side along TCP, now it's ready for use.
================================================== ===============

info:
------
Note: If you want to be 100% sure, that nothing will corrupt track's data, then don't use "Add FX chain.."
Note: Position of script is saved on closing script.

Shortcuts are almost the same as in native mixer, right click menu is present, but differs.
With middle mouse click you can select effects on single track for further manipulations (copy/move/bypass/offline)
I did not include open/delete for multiple instances, IMO it's a bad experience.
Shift + middle mouse click gives opportunity to select effects on multiple tracks, but works only for bypassing effects,
i made this for single purpose only: frequent need to compare sets of 2-4 plugins on 1-6 tracks.
effects list demo

Sends:
Switch on Show routing in right click options menu to be able to see and use them.
With middle mouse click you can select multiple tracks, from which or to which you will send.
Save/Remove/Apply preset works only for sends and receives, not for hardware outputs.
Mute master/parent works for single or multiple tracks, which were selected by middle mouse click.
Shift + middle mouse click allows to select multiple sends for subsequent bypass.
sends list demo

Loudness Meter:
To use this feature, TBProAudio's dpMeter 3 (v1.25+) should be installed.
When marked, dpMeter plugin gets added to monitoring FX chain and shows values:
top number: integrated loudness;
left number: true peak;
right number: loudness range.
Left mouse click on parameter's display resets them.

Show FX comment: tooltip example
When marked in menu, hold ctrl + right mouse button on any track block,
tooltip will appear and will show quick info for this track.
i use it for quick overview of PDC and comments of effects on particular track
Note: It counts only PDC of effects, so it may differ from track's total latency compensation!
Note: Don't hold ctrl + right mouse button during playback/recording, it can be intensive on cpu, use it only in idle state.

Theme colors: You can change colors to match your theme,
for this you need to tweak numbers for RGB inside script: theme colors
Default 5 theme is here: default5 example

Scale Mode: Change UI size 1x/1.5x/2x
Show GR: Shows gain reduction value. Not recommended to use, advantage of it is negligible, as i see.
Shift Float FX: Shifts FX windows a bit, so fx windows do not obstruct using script.
Show routing: Shows sends column
Color: thresholds..: You can set at what values of IL color will be changed.
Color: instruments: Alternative color for VST instruments.
Color: JS: Alternative color for JS plugins.
Font size..: font size for effect names and LM values can be changed here.
Favourites..: example_gif . HowTo: favourites menu
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 03:40 PM   #13
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoJo View Post
Hi doppelganger.

Still I dont really get how to use this.
Can you please give some advice?

Thanks a lot in advance.
BR.
HoJo
What exactly doesn't work?
here, i made a video how to install it, there's nothing hard at all, but maybe it will clarify for you, when you copy script, paste in Reaper's Reascript edit window and press command+s to save it..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SViYh2IBbfI

If you have some specific questions or bugs, write here, i'll try to help.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 09:35 AM   #14
pgml
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Dresden
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
What exactly doesn't work?
here, i made a video how to install it, there's nothing hard at all, but maybe it will clarify for you, when you copy script, paste in Reaper's Reascript edit window and press command+s to save it..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SViYh2IBbfI

If you have some specific questions or bugs, write here, i'll try to help.
I assume it's the same error that I am getting.

»fxlist.lua:962: attempt to call a nil value (field 'DO_Yal')«

It occurs on my MacBook (Mojave 10.14.3).
Everything is fine on my windows pc.

Any clue?

Thanks in advance.
pgml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 01:47 PM   #15
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pgml View Post
I assume it's the same error that I am getting.

»fxlist.lua:962: attempt to call a nil value (field 'DO_Yal')«

It occurs on my MacBook (Mojave 10.14.3).
Everything is fine on my windows pc.

Any clue?

Thanks in advance.
for some reason reaper on your system doesn't read reaper_dopp_fxlist.dylib file, so sorry, i don't know why.

Edit:
Just out of curiosity i installed Mojave 10.14.2 on Virtualbox and script works on virtual machine(picture below), have no idea why it doesn't work on real mac... if someone else, who uses mac will confirm, that it doesn't work for him too, i will remove mac os from support, because unfortunately i have no possibility to test script on real macbook.


Last edited by doppelganger; 03-19-2019 at 11:41 PM.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 02:52 AM   #16
pgml
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Dresden
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
for some reason reaper on your system doesn't read reaper_dopp_fxlist.dylib file, so sorry, i don't know why.

Edit:
Just out of curiosity i installed Mojave 10.14.2 on Virtualbox and script works on virtual machine(picture below), have no idea why it doesn't work on real mac... if someone else, who uses mac will confirm, that it doesn't work for him too, i will remove mac os from support, because unfortunately i have no possibility to test script on real macbook.
No need to remove support - got it working.

Your hint that REAPER isn't recognising the library led me into the right direction. Turned out, that the library I downloaded wasn't really the library but the GitHub page of the file disguised as a .dylib file.
So I re-downloaded the file and got it working this time.

Not sure how that happened but apparently it happened not only to me. And since I'm using GitHub on a daily basis at work it's pretty embarrassing as well.

However, thanks for your support and this great plugin.
pgml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 05:42 AM   #17
ChrisBlue
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 172
Default

hope this becomes an automatic option at some point, not good with computers so NO WAY I'm tweaking anything, I think computers dislike me more than I dislike them
ChrisBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 11:34 AM   #18
waldemaR
Human being with feelings
 
waldemaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 3
Default

Hello Reapers,

i'm new with this wonderful tool and want to install this but i don't understand how it works. There was a video but this not exist anymore. Please can one from you help me out.

Thank you very much.

All the best

Waldemar
waldemaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 04:17 AM   #19
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waldemaR View Post
Hello Reapers,

i'm new with this wonderful tool and want to install this but i don't understand how it works. There was a video but this not exist anymore. Please can one from you help me out.

Thank you very much.

All the best

Waldemar
hmm, have you read and followed instructions in post #1 here: [p=2032984]
Installation only requires a few steps, and restart of Reaper.

Then,
- Open Reaper Actions list and filter for ‘fxlist’
- Run the script > show in Dock > then drag and drop the docked Tab to a place in the GUI that you prefer. Right-clicking the very top of fxlist window will show Settings menu.
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 04:27 AM   #20
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 55
Default

Really enjoying this script, a great addition and contribution!

I have two requests /suggestions;

1) An option for Loudness/TPLR auto Sync by default.
– by default the script instantiates dpMeter4 with Sync -Off in Monitor Fx. (though it can be changed manually for every new instance)

2) When closing the script and metering was active, it would be convenient if dpMeter automatically de-activates or even be removed, now it stays active without being used..

I wonder if FXLIST could use same meter instance as HeDa TI (renamed “Track_Inspector dpMeter4”)? dpM is light on cpu, but still it would be more economic/logical ツ

PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 09:33 AM   #21
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puddi View Post
Deleting a routing (alt + left click) doesn't create an undo point so it can't be undone. Is this a problem on my end or a bug?
Added undo..


Quote:
Originally Posted by PhelixK View Post
Really enjoying this script, a great addition and contribution!

I have two requests /suggestions;

1) An option for Loudness/TPLR auto Sync by default.
– by default the script instantiates dpMeter4 with Sync -Off in Monitor Fx. (though it can be changed manually for every new instance)

2) When closing the script and metering was active, it would be convenient if dpMeter automatically de-activates or even be removed, now it stays active without being used..

I wonder if FXLIST could use same meter instance as HeDa TI (renamed “Track_Inspector dpMeter4”)? dpM is light on cpu, but still it would be more economic/logical ツ

1) convenient option, turned on by default now
2) it gets bypassed/unbypassed on closing/opening fxlist now , but i'm not sure, if it's good, because it can mess with bypass state, if you bypassed/unbypassed dpmeter explicitly for some reason, i will try it, if it will be inconvenient, i will revert it back.

As for “Track_Inspector dpMeter4”, what's this? Fxchain template?
Or maybe it's embedded dpmeter plugin in TI, if so, then i don't think it's right to include proprietary closed plugins in fxlist, even if dpmeter plugin is free, i do not own it.
Anyway, i don't use TI in my workflow, so no, it's not logical to be dependent from stuff, that i don't use and from it's fxchains.

Last edited by doppelganger; 08-30-2019 at 10:05 AM.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 01:36 PM   #22
waldemaR
Human being with feelings
 
waldemaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhelixK View Post
hmm, have you read and followed instructions in post #1 here: [p=2032984]
Installation only requires a few steps, and restart of Reaper.

Then,
- Open Reaper Actions list and filter for ‘fxlist’
- Run the script > show in Dock > then drag and drop the docked Tab to a place in the GUI that you prefer. Right-clicking the very top of fxlist window will show Settings menu.
hello PhelixK,

thank you very much for sort out my problem. Yesterday doppelganger contact me and give advise.

Thank you for both, great community

All the best

Waldemar
waldemaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 10:17 PM   #23
Raynorshyn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Hmmm.

I have Reaper 5.983/x64. SWS 2.10.0 #1. dll from post 1 saved and dropped into UserPlugins.

Restart, run Action, box opens up titled fxlist[dopp], dark grey with light grey portion at bottom. Right click shows all the options but box does not populate with the plugins inserted in the Track.

Only a dll available from post 1, no script.

Do I just need to wait or am I doing something wrong.

W10 x64
Raynorshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.