Old 11-22-2018, 10:52 PM   #121
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pipelineaudio View Post
Has anyone got any Dante numbers? Dying to see them!
"Dante" is just a protocol and does not provide any latency of it's own. With a GBit Ethernet transfer medium, the transfer time itself should be neglectable.

I suppose for useful Dante latency numbers in a given situation, you would need to specify the device or software at either end of the Dante link.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 10:01 PM   #122
Croach1175
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
Default Latency

I have an apollo twin solo connected to a macmini. I am having a bad latency response. I however have zero latency problems when using garage band or presonus. What is the deal with reaper?
Croach1175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 10:42 PM   #123
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,904
Default

Reaper itself does not introduce any considerable latency. but it will set the parameters of the audio device according to what you choose in the preferences, and it can host plugins, that do introduce latency.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 10:46 PM   #124
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Croach1175 View Post
I have an apollo twin solo connected to a macmini. I am having a bad latency response. I however have zero latency problems when using garage band or presonus. What is the deal with reaper?
It makes sense to discuss the details in the Mac forum ... here it‘s a bit off-topic.

https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=34

I bet, it‘s just a matter of the correct settings in Reaper.

For my old Tascam US-122MkII for example I needed the optional setting „Ignore running change notifications“.

PS: Interestingly I forgot to deactivate this setting after I switched to my new Presonus Quantum 2 thunderbolt interface and it worked like a charm, so I kept it switched on.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris

Last edited by Aymara; 12-02-2018 at 11:41 PM.
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 11:34 PM   #125
Croach1175
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the info.
Croach1175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.