Old 12-31-2009, 06:05 AM   #1
Lazaro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Default Original Mbox and Windows 7

Hello All,

I just got and Acer 5532 today with windows 7. Is it possible to run reaper with an original Mbox. I've downloaded all the standalone drivers but I think Windows 7 is being finicky. I'm looking for the asio4all driver but I keep getting a T-moble add.

Thanks all

Edit:

I finally got the latest asio4all dirver and discovered it's only a couple dll files and not an executable. This enabled Reaper to "see" my Mbox1 however, I now can't seem to recored audio after arming a track. I looked at the audio preferences and set things up to the best of my knowledge. Is there something that I'm missing?

Last edited by Lazaro; 12-31-2009 at 06:14 PM.
Lazaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 05:09 PM   #2
jazzmandan
Human being with feelings
 
jazzmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chicago, Il USA
Posts: 602
Default

Well.....
I had the MBox working with Reaper in 32bit mode only. The MBox is not supposed to work in any 64Bit system (its a driver thing). But prior to Digi's current release of beta Win7 64 bit drives it did habble along in Win7 64bit with the old drivers (only with PT 8.0.1 not in REAPER).

However, with the release of the beta Win 7 64 bit drivers Digi has stated that they will not work with the original MBox.

Save youself the pain and suffering, either continue working with the MBox in 32Bit OS's (preferably XP) or its time to replace the old unit. My MBox still sits there and looks at me, but all music now goes via a M-Audio Audiophile 192 PCI card. Which interestinglhy enough is about as old as the MBox, but M-Audio has updated drivers while Digi, well you must know about Digi!!

Good Luck
__________________
"significantly better than bad..." - Dell XPS i7, 16G Ram, Win 10 64Bit, REAPER 64Bit, MOTU Audio Express, PG Music - BIAB 2019, Kontakt 5, more VSTs than I know what to do with. Will trade all to play the guitar better!
jazzmandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 06:45 AM   #3
Lazaro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Shuck, now I'll just put another post asking for cheap interfaces that Windows 7 can see.
Lazaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 08:23 AM   #4
jazzmandan
Human being with feelings
 
jazzmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chicago, Il USA
Posts: 602
Default

It the Win7 64 bit drivers. They are driving everyone nuts. Stop over in
the M-Audio forum : http://forums.m-audio.com/ ,
or even the DUC : http://duc.digidesign.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17

and you will get a feel for whats going on. Good Luck.
__________________
"significantly better than bad..." - Dell XPS i7, 16G Ram, Win 10 64Bit, REAPER 64Bit, MOTU Audio Express, PG Music - BIAB 2019, Kontakt 5, more VSTs than I know what to do with. Will trade all to play the guitar better!
jazzmandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.