Old 10-27-2007, 07:13 AM   #1
Bebop52
Human being with feelings
 
Bebop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 620
Default Free VST guitar tuner?

Hi, does anyone know a free vst guitar tuner that works in Reaper, please? I've been using C-Tune in Cubase, but for some reason it crashes Reaper. Cheers.
Bebop52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 07:25 AM   #2
jbnumb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Default

I use G-tune http://www.gvst.co.uk/gtune.htm
jbnumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 07:43 AM   #3
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

How about ReaTune? Or the JS guitar/tuner?
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 07:43 AM   #4
spocken81
Human being with feelings
 
spocken81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 31
Default

well you have "ReaTune" in Reaper...
spocken81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 08:16 AM   #5
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,850
Default

yeah if youre just using reaper, reatune works great
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 11:36 AM   #6
Frank C.
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bebop52 View Post
I've been using C-Tune in Cubase, but for some reason it crashes Reaper. Cheers.
Hmm, I've been using C-Tune in Reaper for a while now. I keep "Always run FX..." and "Better buggy..." prefs on at all times though - maybe that has something to do with it?
Frank C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 11:54 AM   #7
Jonas_Eriksson_Swe
Human being with feelings
 
Jonas_Eriksson_Swe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Posts: 947
Default

I also use C-tuner all the time, works great here and I don't have any of those options checked...

regards,
- Jonas
Jonas_Eriksson_Swe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 12:45 PM   #8
Guitar Edman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 106
Default

Cool! Without really looking at what is included with reaper yet, what would be recommended for strobo tune like accuracy? Like for guitar setups etc... can any of these VST plugins get down to that level or better of tuning accuracy? My old strobo died a hideous death (fell out of a truck in route to a gig)! I miss it so badly a computer version of a tuner with extreme accuracy for intonations etc would be great! Can any of these handle that?
Guitar Edman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 04:59 PM   #9
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guitar Edman View Post
Cool! Without really looking at what is included with reaper yet, what would be recommended for strobo tune like accuracy? Like for guitar setups etc... can any of these VST plugins get down to that level or better of tuning accuracy? My old strobo died a hideous death (fell out of a truck in route to a gig)! I miss it so badly a computer version of a tuner with extreme accuracy for intonations etc would be great! Can any of these handle that?
Dunno, but ReaTune displays upto 1/100th of a cent, so it is worth checking it out IMO.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 07:14 AM   #10
carlocki
Human being with feelings
 
carlocki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: rieti
Posts: 69
Default

I really cannot use js tuner
you?

reatuner is great
carlocki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 07:45 AM   #11
Steve36
Human being with feelings
 
Steve36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geelong,Australia
Posts: 505
Default

Another option is Mtuner which can be found here http://www.meldaproduction.com/freev...ins/mtuner.php

Steve
Steve36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:27 AM   #12
danieluber1337
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve36 View Post
Another option is Mtuner which can be found here http://www.meldaproduction.com/freev...ins/mtuner.php

Steve
Beat me to it. Best software tuner, IMO. The free bundle is also worth downloading, and I'm thinking about upgrading to the pro version.
danieluber1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 12:13 PM   #13
JHughes
Human being with feelings
 
JHughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Too close to Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,412
Default

Frustrated with other tuners, I purchased the Peterson Strobe Tuner. But when not using that I use Reatune.
__________________
You can only Reverse, Switch, Invert or Flip POLARITY, not "PHASE".
JHughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:59 PM   #14
Steve36
Human being with feelings
 
Steve36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geelong,Australia
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danieluber1337 View Post
Beat me to it. Best software tuner, IMO. The free bundle is also worth downloading, and I'm thinking about upgrading to the pro version.
This bundle is great,I paid the upgrade fee and it is well worth it.

Steve
Steve36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 07:06 PM   #15
fastlanestoner
Human being with feelings
 
fastlanestoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 248
Default

there is no substitute for a real tuner
__________________
Now on Reverb.com!

New Thieves & Lovers record 'Seasons' out soon!
fastlanestoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 08:29 PM   #16
Marah Mag
Human being with feelings
 
Marah Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Here
Posts: 3,000
Default

ReaTune has a good in-track tuner.
Marah Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 01:31 PM   #17
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default ReaTune buggy?

Is it just me or does ReaTune report notes an octave out?

It's telling me that a bass guitar note at just over 46Hz is an F#0 when I know it's an F#1. It has its pitch notation an octave out (unless I set its reference note from 440Hz to 220Hz when it reports correctly ).

Has anybody else noticed this, or is my version having "an episode"?

Caused confusion in sessions when I'm pointing out a note that is out, and the player says "that's not a C1, it's a C2!"

The tuner and the pitch correction both seem to be affected...

>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 05:11 AM   #18
kale
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
Is it just me or does ReaTune report notes an octave out?

It's telling me that a bass guitar note at just over 46Hz is an F#0 when I know it's an F#1. It has its pitch notation an octave out (unless I set its reference note from 440Hz to 220Hz when it reports correctly ).

Has anybody else noticed this, or is my version having "an episode"?

Caused confusion in sessions when I'm pointing out a note that is out, and the player says "that's not a C1, it's a C2!"

The tuner and the pitch correction both seem to be affected...

>
Hi,

I had issues with bass guitar also, was not very usable on lower tones, but http://www.gvst.co.uk/gtune.htm works great and I use it now with guitar and bass.
kale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:11 AM   #19
slops
Human being with feelings
 
slops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
Is it just me or does ReaTune report notes an octave out?

It's telling me that a bass guitar note at just over 46Hz is an F#0 when I know it's an F#1. It has its pitch notation an octave out (unless I set its reference note from 440Hz to 220Hz when it reports correctly ).

Has anybody else noticed this, or is my version having "an episode"?
>
don't know if it will help with this issue but i remember when using ReaTune for bass I always had to increase the window size to 100ms. Otherwise the bass readings were all over the place.

personally i stopped using ReaTune altogether and just use one of these:

C_Tuner
MTuner
GTuner
slops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:20 AM   #20
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kale View Post
Hi,

I had issues with bass guitar also, was not very usable on lower tones, but http://www.gvst.co.uk/gtune.htm works great and I use it now with guitar and bass.
If you change the settings you can get it to respond to lower notes.

I'm talking about it reporting the correct frequency, but the wrong note. Ie it has an incorrect frequency to note lookup table when set to 440 Hz calibration (A4, A above middle C, concert pitch), and only interprets this frequency to note relationship correctly if you tell it concert pitch (ie A4) is 220Hz!

Am I the only one, or is this a bug?
>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 07:15 PM   #21
fastlanestoner
Human being with feelings
 
fastlanestoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 248
Default

I don't recommend using a software tuner. get a good korg or peterson
__________________
Now on Reverb.com!

New Thieves & Lovers record 'Seasons' out soon!
fastlanestoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 11:16 PM   #22
Mike-Mat
Human being with feelings
 
Mike-Mat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 110
Default

I like the results of my Sabine tuner. I've used Reatune and it works well.

Seems like everything has a tuner built in these days. My Fender amp, My Digitech Padals, My guitar synth signal converter, Reaper
__________________
Tips For Mfg www.tipsforcadcam.com - ASUS Extreme III / Intel i7 970 (6Cores)
Mackie Onyx 1220i Interface / 2GB NVidia Quadro FX5800 / 12GB Ram / Win7/X64 / Reaper 64
MIDI Guitars: Ibanez IMG 2010 & Gibson SG w/ Fishman TriplePlay
Mike-Mat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:50 AM   #23
tls11823
Human being with feelings
 
tls11823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kale View Post
I had issues with bass guitar also, was not very usable on lower tones
Back in the early days of portable tuners, I got into the habit of tuning my bass off of the 12th-fret harmonic. The early tuners weren't much good for bass, and that always seemed to work. So when ReaTune didn't seem to be able to handle my lower strings, it was second nature to hit the harmonic and I was good to go.
__________________
We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about.
--Charles Kingsley... or maybe Albert Einstein... definitely somebody wiser than myself--
tls11823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:55 AM   #24
tls11823
Human being with feelings
 
tls11823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastlanestoner View Post
there is no substitute for a real tuner
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastlanestoner View Post
I don't recommend using a software tuner. get a good korg or peterson
Please elaborate. I have a Korg tuner that I use when playing live, but when I'm recording, I use either ReaTune or the tuner built into my audio interface, depending on which is easier for me to get to at the moment. They both give me accurate results, and I've never had any problems with the recorded material being out of tune.
__________________
We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about.
--Charles Kingsley... or maybe Albert Einstein... definitely somebody wiser than myself--
tls11823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 09:00 AM   #25
l0calh05t
Human being with feelings
 
l0calh05t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Darmstadt, Germany
Posts: 673
Default

I've been pretty happy with GVST GTune so far. I'd really like to try the ST-200 Turbo Tuner (not a plugin) though...

Another good VST option would be Amplitube Free, as it also includes a few amp sims for free.
__________________
Raw data for raw nerves | 1.05946309...
My Blog | My free VST plugins | WDL-OL CMake fork
l0calh05t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.