Old 12-10-2017, 06:46 AM   #1
bugo
Human being with feelings
 
bugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 17
Default System stability and priority in Windows

I use 32 bit Reaper v5.62 on a Windows 10 64 bit computer. Sometimes Reaper "hiccups" and momentarily freezes when playing back recordings. If I set the priority in Task Manager higher, will it affect system stability? Which level of priority is safe to use? Low, Below normal, Normal, Above normal, High or Realtime? I set it to High. Will it run any better on Realtime and will it make the system less stable?
__________________
Fender Stratocaster, Fender Telecaster, Fender Marauder, Squier Stratocaster, Epiphone 335 Dot, Squier MB-4 bass, Lenovo Z50, Gateway NV53, Digitech RP360, Akai MPK Mini, Reaper 32 bit
bugo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 06:48 AM   #2
johnss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: DK
Posts: 71
Default

Why use a 32 bit Reaper, when you have a 64 bit Windows ? :-)
johnss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 07:59 AM   #3
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,215
Default

This is not a usual way to go about fixing this kind of issue. You need to find the specific cause.

Give some more info about your system and when the problem occurs...is it regular or random, under heavy load or even playing a single audio track for example.

You should also download and run LatencyMon and see what it reports.

http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 08:06 AM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugo View Post
I use 32 bit Reaper v5.62 on a Windows 10 64 bit computer. Sometimes Reaper "hiccups" and momentarily freezes when playing back recordings. If I set the priority in Task Manager higher, will it affect system stability? Which level of priority is safe to use? Low, Below normal, Normal, Above normal, High or Realtime? I set it to High. Will it run any better on Realtime and will it make the system less stable?
If you set it to real time, then the audio threads will have the ability to out prioritize even the mouse. So if that thread were saturating the CPU, you can't move the mouse until it is done. The best thing to do is understand why it behaving how it is, aka where the actual bottleneck is.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.