Old 12-01-2018, 10:16 AM   #1
linzo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: República de Honduras
Posts: 9
Default Novation sl mkIII ff & rewind transport button problem

I have a problem with FF and rewind transport button in reaper.
with HUI partitional these buttons do not work.. If I manually configure it in Action transport rewind this button do not send any message in Keyboard/MIDI/OSC Input window(((((((

Anyone can help?
linzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 10:24 AM   #2
linzo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: República de Honduras
Posts: 9
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezUv...ature=youtu.be
linzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 04:05 PM   #3
hangnef
Human being with feelings
 
hangnef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 44
Default

Same here.

Also, and this could be an issue with how I set things up, when I use the track/left right, the selected track does not change.

Be nice if we could utilize the pads somehow. I haven't snooped to see if they send any MIDI data without the InControl stuff.
hangnef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 05:17 AM   #4
G10_Music
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linzo View Post
I have a problem with FF and rewind transport button in reaper.
with HUI partitional these buttons do not work.. If I manually configure it in Action transport rewind this button do not send any message in Keyboard/MIDI/OSC Input window(((((((

Anyone can help?
Just open actions and click on the item to create short cut. No need to be in the osc menu, doing it this way worked on my novation keyboard.
G10_Music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 12:53 PM   #5
hangnef
Human being with feelings
 
hangnef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G10_Music View Post
Just open actions and click on the item to create short cut. No need to be in the osc menu, doing it this way worked on my novation keyboard.
Yeah, in that dialog where you can assign the short cut, those buttons don't register anything.

I think it may have to do with being in HUI mode, but that is just a guess. HUI works great, but anything outside of what is supported by the protocol does not seem to work, even if you try explicitly mapping buttons/sliders/etc.
hangnef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 08:02 PM   #6
hangnef
Human being with feelings
 
hangnef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 44
Default

Tested this out just using Midi OX and the transports register when using the incontrol ports (MIDIIN2 and MIDIOUT2).

I've attached a screenshot of what is output when left, and then right is pressed.
Attached Images
File Type: png left_and_right_transport.PNG (7.8 KB, 197 views)
hangnef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 07:10 AM   #7
hangnef
Human being with feelings
 
hangnef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 44
Default

Has anyone made progress getting this to work?

This is what Novation told me when I contacted them

"There is no SLMKIII script for Reaper so there is no way we could update this functionality. Reaper uses Partial HUI which has limited functionality. I would expect you to be able to at least change track levels, play, stop, record/record enable, mute/solo and pan using the SLMKIII in Reaper using Partial HUI but it isn't likely you can do more with this. Any update to this would have to come from Reaper rather than us."

So, are RW and FF not supported by HUI? I tried using Mackie MCU, and the unit seems to "accept" it for a second (the expected lights turn on) and then all the lights go out on it.

I also asked for any API/programming docs for the unit.
hangnef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 09:00 AM   #8
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 390
Default

DrivenByMoss4Reaper gives you full support for the SL Mk III:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URH1b6Xsfcs
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 09:14 AM   #9
hangnef
Human being with feelings
 
hangnef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
DrivenByMoss4Reaper gives you full support for the SL Mk III:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URH1b6Xsfcs
Wow!

I will check this out. Can you toggle the grid button to use the pads for Battery? How hard is it to tweak some of the settings you have, for instance I use the playback rate (Varispeed) a lot and would like to assign that to an encoder.

I'll go check out your main thread for more info, thank you!
hangnef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 07:28 PM   #10
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 672
Default

Drivenbymoss yep. Avoid the b.s. outdated HUI mode.... no. The SL MKIII is seriously dope. Use Components to customize the 16 buttons and drum pads for the reaper functions you want. Make your own transport with pads or buttons. But oh man, Drivenbymoss is the WAY. I am such a geek about the SL MKIII. YOU NEED Drivenbymoss.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.