Old 03-04-2011, 03:03 PM   #1
magicbus
Human being with feelings
 
magicbus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 29
Default Great Reverb (VST Plugin) HybridReverb 2

Stumbled upon this great, natural sounding reverb today:

http://www.vstplanet.com/Effects/Eff...#HybridReverb2
magicbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:08 PM   #2
Tycho
Human being with feelings
 
Tycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 360
Default

Another great reverb, and it's free: http://varietyofsound.wordpress.com/...1/01/epicverb/
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 01:23 AM   #3
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicbus View Post
Stumbled upon this great, natural sounding reverb today:

http://www.vstplanet.com/Effects/Eff...#HybridReverb2
Yes, I'll second that, this one has class. Only drawback (unless it's changed lately) is that you can't create envelopes/automation for individual parameters ...
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 02:15 AM   #4
Peter Sadul
Human being with feelings
 
Peter Sadul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicbus View Post
Stumbled upon this great, natural sounding reverb today:

http://www.vstplanet.com/Effects/Eff...#HybridReverb2
Thanks for the tip!

Just tried hybrid reverb2 and it really sounds great. I have used mostly epicverb lately, but this thing sounds better to me in some situations. Thanks again!

peter
Peter Sadul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 08:03 AM   #5
Milt
Human being with feelings
 
Milt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 342
Default

Thanks for this tip! I was looking for a plug that would give me control of the placement of instruments, and this seems to do a very good job of that. Now to try it on my 'orchestra'!
Milt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 11:19 AM   #6
wags3d
Human being with feelings
 
wags3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Does anyone have a link to the larger database of impulses zip file? It seems like their main site here is down.

ika.rub.de and
http://www2.ika.rub.de/HybridReverb2...e_database.zip

These links don't work for me.

Thanks,
-Wags
wags3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 01:25 PM   #7
Doughboy
Human being with feelings
 
Doughboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Gaylord Michigan
Posts: 1,695
Default

I've been meaning to give this one a try. Thanks for the advice. Down loading now.
__________________
---------------
Doughboy
http://www.reverbnation.com/GregPillsbury
Doughboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 01:32 PM   #8
magicbus
Human being with feelings
 
magicbus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 29
Default HybridReverb 2

I think Epicverb is quite good too and have used it often. HybridReverb 2 is quite successful (for me) with regard to how it creates a really warm and natural environment for what I am currently working on. I don't feel like I have to "hear" this reverb to know it's there. In some ways it reminds me of the EMT plates we used so often pre digital, ie: Publison-Quantec, Eventide, etc.
magicbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 01:33 PM   #9
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wags3d View Post
Does anyone have a link to the larger database of impulses zip file? It seems like their main site here is down.

ika.rub.de and
http://www2.ika.rub.de/HybridReverb2...e_database.zip

These links don't work for me.

Thanks,
-Wags
me neither
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 02:02 PM   #10
Smurf
Human being with feelings
 
Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,173
Default

I tried this after the KVR contest, but never really warmed up to it, tho I do use the IR's sometimes. You can grab that file from HERE

I just like / am use to SIR with the Bricasti M7 Reverb Impulses I guess......
__________________
Yep's First 3 Years in PDF's
HP Z600 w/3GHz 12 Core, 48GB Memory, nVidia Quadro 5800, 240GB SSD OS drive, 3 480GB SSD Sample/Storage drives, 18TB External Storage, Dual 27" Monitors
Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:37 AM   #11
bob
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scottish refugee in Germany
Posts: 4,176
Default 48Khz

it only works if the project is set to 48Khz?
__________________
SoundCloud Channel
https://soundcloud.com/stream
bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:56 AM   #12
Peter Sadul
Human being with feelings
 
Peter Sadul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob View Post
it only works if the project is set to 48Khz?
Works fine here at 44.1. Why do you guess so?

Peter
Peter Sadul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 10:22 AM   #13
bob
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scottish refugee in Germany
Posts: 4,176
Default it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Sadul View Post
Works fine here at 44.1. Why do you guess so?

Peter
makes noises when I switch it on.Its like an distorted metronome.

In the plugin preferences you have different sample rate options but only 48kHz The noise makes it unusable.
__________________
SoundCloud Channel
https://soundcloud.com/stream
bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:10 PM   #14
wags3d
Human being with feelings
 
wags3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
I tried this after the KVR contest, but never really warmed up to it, tho I do use the IR's sometimes. You can grab that file from HERE
Smurf, thanks for the link!
wags3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:33 PM   #15
Smurf
Human being with feelings
 
Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,173
Default

Your Very Welcome wags3d!
__________________
Yep's First 3 Years in PDF's
HP Z600 w/3GHz 12 Core, 48GB Memory, nVidia Quadro 5800, 240GB SSD OS drive, 3 480GB SSD Sample/Storage drives, 18TB External Storage, Dual 27" Monitors
Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 12:43 AM   #16
Mr Ected
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 76
Default

Wow, just tried this on my most recent project. Works very well with my wife's voice. I like how it doesn't feel over-saturated. It's fairly subtle, which I dig.

Definitely a great find! Thanks!
Mr Ected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 12:44 PM   #17
Milt
Human being with feelings
 
Milt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 342
Default

Is there a detailed 'how to' for this reverb? I can't get it to save a preset. Anyone know how to do this? Thanks!!
Milt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 02:20 PM   #18
edjay
Human being with feelings
 
edjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 310
Default

Downloading for a look. thanks

That is pretty good, I've been trying it on a vocal. The graphic eq is great - lots of crackles and things using it in real time and.........it's yellow!?

Definitely woth some tweak time though.

Oh,missed the manual and didn't try to save anything.
__________________
Athlon Dual Core 5600 2.9GHz, 2G DDR2 800, Delta 192, XP Pro.

Last edited by edjay; 03-18-2011 at 05:03 PM.
edjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:27 PM   #19
Magicbuss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,674
Default

Another new good one: Mverb

Its getting ALOT of buzz over at KVR. Some folks prefer it to EpicVerb.

http://martineastwood.com/wordpress/
http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewto...er=asc&start=0
Magicbuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 05:03 PM   #20
edjay
Human being with feelings
 
edjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 310
Default

Had a look at the MVerb: Seems quite nice, I will be keeping hold of that and seeing if it fits in over time. Thanks
__________________
Athlon Dual Core 5600 2.9GHz, 2G DDR2 800, Delta 192, XP Pro.
edjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 09:24 PM   #21
magicbus
Human being with feelings
 
magicbus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 29
Default

MVerb, very nice too. People have gotten very good at programming.
magicbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 05:39 AM   #22
ugh
Human being with feelings
 
ugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

How does HybridReverb 2 compare to the free Reverberate LE by Liquidsonics ?

http://www.liquidsonics.com/software.htm

ugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 07:28 AM   #23
JFX
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 100
Default Reaverb

Run free stereoimpulses in reaper with reaverb:

http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...82&postcount=4


/JfX
JFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:39 AM   #24
edjay
Human being with feelings
 
edjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 310
Default

Just tried the Rev LE on a solo trumpet - very nice, I'll keep that one around for a test too. Very smooth 1st impression. Thanks Ugh

Thanks too for the acoustical detour JFX, also very interesting.
__________________
Athlon Dual Core 5600 2.9GHz, 2G DDR2 800, Delta 192, XP Pro.
edjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 02:06 PM   #25
ugh
Human being with feelings
 
ugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

I tried Hybrid Reverb II now and I really enjoy the sound of it.
ugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 04:31 PM   #26
Magicbuss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,674
Default

For the best free impulses available get the sample city Bricasti pack
http://www.samplicity.com/bricasti-m...lse-responses/

Also their 2 free hall IR's
http://www.samplicity.com/download/
Magicbuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 12:26 AM   #27
edjay
Human being with feelings
 
edjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 310
Default

I spent some time with the Reverberate LE and found that it makes a few unhappy crackly noises. I tried changing it's setting in Reaper to a Dedicated Process but it made no difference. Had to put it to one side.

M Verb still ok.

I'm trying this since then:

Mo' Verb Algorithmic Reverb VST

......no problems so far.

I checked up the Bricasti M7 Reverb unit on DV247........it's nearly £3000!

So what do I actually do with an Impulse Response Library?
__________________
Athlon Dual Core 5600 2.9GHz, 2G DDR2 800, Delta 192, XP Pro.
edjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 05:43 AM   #28
ugh
Human being with feelings
 
ugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

I tried this MVerb plugin, but I didn't like the sound much.

However, the suggested epic verb from earlier in the thread is a nice plugin.

One Verb plugin which I demoed and liked a lot for drums) was Verbiage by Stillwell. It's no freeware though, only shareware.
http://www.stillwellaudio.com/?page_id=21

Gonna try that Mo'Verb plugin as well, thanks for the link.
ugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 05:54 AM   #29
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edjay View Post
So what do I actually do with an Impulse Response Library?
search your fx folder for reaverb

click 'add file' and open an impulse file.
__________________
thanks!
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 06:04 PM   #30
edjay
Human being with feelings
 
edjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ugh View Post
....the suggested epic verb
Just got that now - certainly looks amazing. I grabbed the verbiage too. Thanks

Still plugging away with the hybrid verb2 for the closer ER effects but it's large on the desktop and clicks and complains in real time. I wonder why it was made so big....in yellow - you can tell I like it though, otherwise I'd be talking about something else.

It is a good sound, I find the 1m setting really nice on my vocals. I spent some time trying to turn it down to when (I thought) I couldn't hear it, and was repeatedly amazed at how I really noticed it when I pressed the bypass.

I can get it to save settings in the usual way through the Reaper FX manager, but when I turn it off, I have to go and look for them the next time I turn it on? Apart from the aforementioned foibles (...is there a smaller one, in blue please?) it's certainly an eye-opener for me just how subtle a reverb can be.
__________________
Athlon Dual Core 5600 2.9GHz, 2G DDR2 800, Delta 192, XP Pro.
edjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 06:07 PM   #31
edjay
Human being with feelings
 
edjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
search your fx folder for reaverb

click 'add file' and open an impulse file.
Ok, I'll give that a go soon, thanks.
__________________
Athlon Dual Core 5600 2.9GHz, 2G DDR2 800, Delta 192, XP Pro.
edjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 06:49 PM   #32
musicroom
Human being with feelings
 
musicroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicbus View Post
Stumbled upon this great, natural sounding reverb today:

http://www.vstplanet.com/Effects/Eff...#HybridReverb2
Thanks for this! Played around with this reverb for a bit, interesting textures... Like!!



_
__________________
http://www.davidmillersongs.com
musicroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 07:28 AM   #33
edjay
Human being with feelings
 
edjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
....search your fx folder for reaverb
click 'add file' and open an impulse file.
OMG! I now have access to the sounds from a £3'000 reverb unit! That's amazing. Thanks

The only advantage the HybridReverb2 has over the ReaVerb and the Samplicity IR's is that it has an EQ built in - it's disadvantage being that it only has up to 2sec tails and it's.............

No clicks and pops with the ReaVerb so far.
__________________
Athlon Dual Core 5600 2.9GHz, 2G DDR2 800, Delta 192, XP Pro.
edjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 04:54 PM   #34
edjay
Human being with feelings
 
edjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 310
Default

This is getting mad: I'm swamped by amazing reverbs!?

I tried out the Epic Verb tonight - it certainly lives up to it's name.

This is going to take a little sorting out: I think one with adjustable everything and one for the IR's? Can man live with only two reverbs?

I've kind of had my reservations about the M Verb, I mean, no offence, but the competition has got pretty hefty in the last few days. I suppose we do what we can with what we've got at the time - I didn't really spend much time looking for reverbs.

Thanks for all the links, just brilliant! I can now make records of pins dropping in several million cubic meters of endless reverb: Plug me in!
__________________
Athlon Dual Core 5600 2.9GHz, 2G DDR2 800, Delta 192, XP Pro.
edjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 05:03 AM   #35
edjay
Human being with feelings
 
edjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicbus View Post
Stumbled upon this great, natural sounding reverb today.....
After trying the others suggsted below, I still agree. This verb has a very smooth sound. Are these Impulse Responses that run in this unit? I'm going to have a look now.

I spent some more time yesterday working with the epicVerb trying to emulate the simple 1M near hall from HybridReverb 2 - I think I'm getting close but it will take a bit more time and patience.

Having said that, the epicVerb is exactly that! It's now at the top of my reverb choice for quality, layout and flexibility - An amazing piece of free kit!

ReaVerb caused system crashes yesterday???

Tried the Verbiage a bit and I like the easy GUI so I will look into that a bit more in time. Thanks again, I'm really pleased.
__________________
Athlon Dual Core 5600 2.9GHz, 2G DDR2 800, Delta 192, XP Pro.
edjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 10:12 AM   #36
KaosMusik
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default All versions work with Hybrid?

I installed Hybrid 2. Running older Reaper (2.53), due to compatibility with VS-1680 plugin (reaper_vs.dll)j. I see the Hybrid dll files in the Plugin directory, but not when accessing 'fx' from the program...

What am I doing wrong?? Much appreciated
KaosMusik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:27 PM   #37
JoshF
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default Can't get it to work

Hi guys,

I'm new to home recording and just got Reaper. I'm trying to get some good reverb plugins- thanks for the Hybridreverb2! I'm having some trouble importing it to Reaper though.

How do I go about this? I've tried following the online tutorials I've found, but they all mention the files should be labeled .dll. After I extracted them, however, they're all labeled .wav. What do I do? Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks
Josh
JoshF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:14 PM   #38
pandel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 35
Default

Never used it myself, but I think, you misunderstood some things.

This is a convolution reverb. What that means is that the plugin uses impulse response files (in WAV format) to modulate the different hall effects.

So you need to install the plugin from here:
http://www.vstplanet.com/VST_effects...verb22.0.2.exe

and then use the WAV files you extract for the different hall rooms.

Here is a good article about convolution reverbs:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/find/new...ion-Reverb.jsp
pandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 08:57 AM   #39
Ana Rita Simonka
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Default "how to" hybrid reverb

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicbus View Post
Stumbled upon this great, natural sounding reverb today:

http://www.vstplanet.com/Effects/Eff...#HybridReverb2

Hi!
Many thanks to help me, if it´s possible, to make HybridReverb works in Reaper... After install it, I don´t know how make Reaper recognize it... Scan plug in doesn´t work.

Ana Rita
Ana Rita Simonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 09:28 AM   #40
slipstick
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK, near Europe
Posts: 876
Default

What operating system ? Where exactly did you install it and its .dll(s) ?

I just downloaded, ran the install program then in Reaper did VST Re-Scan and it was immediately available and working. The only odd thing is that it installs 2 different dlls but either of them works.

Steve
slipstick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.