Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2011, 12:53 AM   #1
Hardrock69
Human being with feelings
 
Hardrock69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 133
Default Good Lord! Antress Modern Plugins Are KickAss! And Free!

I know a lot of you peeps know of these, but some of you may not.

Go here to download:

antress.blogspot.com/

Got these earlier in the day, and just tried them out on a quick mix.

I was floored. Emulations of some of the greatest compressors out there. Fairchild® 660. 1176LN®. LA-2A®. SSL® G384.

I ran a quick mix on a song. One I had had a little trouble getting to sit properly (in general).

Tried out several of the compressors. Wow.

The Lost Angel plugin (LA-2A® clone) absolutely did the trick. Glued the mix together, allowing me to hear everything absolutely clearly, no "pumping". And without even touching any of the settings! Just opened it up, pressed "preview", and was blown away.

For Free? Gadzooks!

Ok, done ranting for now.

Am supremely happy about this discovery.

WOOHOO!!!!

***Runs away to play wif new toys....***
Hardrock69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 03:42 AM   #2
JonnyGinese
Human being with feelings
 
JonnyGinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,373
Default

Nice find! Immediate DL them today :-)
JonnyGinese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 04:46 AM   #3
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default

There was a series of videos on youtube doing comparisons of antress plugins vs other expensive plugins (comparing the equivalents).

ok found some:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJqBV4TMINI

(check this guy's channel)

I'd say very impressive for being free!

On the other hand, I had to remove the Antress plugs from my system because they caused crashes for me in Reaper.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 05:29 AM   #4
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan View Post

On the other hand, I had to remove the Antress plugs from my system because they caused crashes for me in Reaper.
Unfortunately I had that same problem.
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 06:02 AM   #5
RunBeerRun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 547
Default

I like them too, it's the old 1.0Synthmaker compile, they've never crashed for me in Reaper, but I need to have "Unload vst completely" checked in prefs or SM plugs will crash after a re-load.
__________________
Free Synthedit/Synthmaker plugins that I made: runbeerrun dot blogspot dot com
RunBeerRun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 07:02 AM   #6
Steve36
Human being with feelings
 
Steve36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geelong,Australia
Posts: 505
Default

I spent a few hours today going through my plugins folder doing A/B tests with all my Compressors, (as I recently got a new pair of monitors), and was suprised at how well the Antress stuff stacks up...I have found that running them as a dedicated process pretty much solves any bugginess issues (bridged in Win7 64,Reaper 4 beta9(x64)).Don't know whether they sound/behave too much like the originals (I've only used some of the stuff they look like a handful of times) but I'll tell you that most of the bundle stayed in my plugin folder.Really like the VPME ,VFME,Dynakiller and Painkiller at the moment...also give illusionister and analoguer a go...very cool.

Steve
Steve36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 07:03 AM   #7
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,302
Default

These plugs been there for a little while mates and glad that are getting mentioned here again because they are good plugins indeed. Use them here too on occasions and they are good ones to keep
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 07:15 AM   #8
Gizzmo0815
Human being with feelings
 
Gizzmo0815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 509
Default Updated?

When was the last time these were updated? Are they still supported by the creator?

I've also found them to be really excellent plugs, just wonder how active the developer is.

- Gizz
Gizzmo0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 07:31 AM   #9
Steve36
Human being with feelings
 
Steve36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geelong,Australia
Posts: 505
Default

I think they were updated in early 2010 (version 4.95) but some of my faves are the older ones (2008).Don't know if the developer
intends to do anything more with them or not though...

Steve
Steve36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 07:34 AM   #10
skipkent
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 215
Default

Yes. Crash-prone but wonderful. These, the Reaper plugs and my Pod Farm 2 are pretty much all I need or want, plugin-wise.
__________________
PC Core2Quad, Thinkpad T60, EMU Tracker USB, Line6 UX1
Reaper, Pod Farm 2, Reason 5
http://www.myspace.com/skipkent
skipkent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:59 AM   #11
Hardrock69
Human being with feelings
 
Hardrock69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 133
Default

Hmmm....I noticed when I first loaded them into Sound Forge there was about a 5-second hesitation, but I think that was just due to a first-time load. After opening them a second/third time, it loaded much faster.

And no problems for me in Reaper (fortunately).

Man.....this is almost like treasure hunting with a metal detector and finding a chest full of gold!

Me is one happy boi!

Hardrock69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:27 AM   #12
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizzmo0815 View Post
When was the last time these were updated? Are they still supported by the creator?

I've also found them to be really excellent plugs, just wonder how active the developer is.

- Gizz
Last version is 4.95, there will have no more updates. The creator has left the used modules on the side. Basically open sourcing them.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 11:22 AM   #13
travlin sam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Default

could some one help a newbie out and walk thru loading these plug in into reaper. i have loaded plug ins before (ex. i loaded waves diamond bundle) with out a glitch but for some reason can't seem to get these plug ins to work. thanks
travlin sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 06:17 AM   #14
Steve36
Human being with feelings
 
Steve36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geelong,Australia
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travlin sam View Post
could some one help a newbie out and walk thru loading these plug in into reaper. i have loaded plug ins before (ex. i loaded waves diamond bundle) with out a glitch but for some reason can't seem to get these plug ins to work. thanks
Hey travlin sam,just copy the DLL files directly into your plugin folder.

Steve
Steve36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 11:28 AM   #15
travlin sam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Default

hi Steve, i tried that and for some reason it won't load them. i had problems loading in nomads blue tube plug ins but did enough reasearch and finally found a thread that explained when you load that program it gives you two file locations, one in my folders and one in programs. i was trying to load from my folder but after i read that and loaded it from my program file it worked fine. but for some reason these will not load. i am going to opptions and going to the only place i see the plug ins (my folder) i click add and when i check they are not in my vst folders. i have tried dragging the file all over the place dumping into different folders but just cain't figure it out. any ideas? thanks for the help
travlin sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 12:33 PM   #16
danieluber1337
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 69
Default

I downloaded those a long time ago, but have stopped using them since.

They are really as good as the OP says, but they glitch like none other for me... If you have multiple instances of one of the plugins, they freak out and crash your audio driver or something. For me, it made a super loud POP and muted all audio. Pressed stop (POP) and play (POP) again. Pressed stop (POP) and closed Reaper (POP POP). Was really annoying, as I couldn't do anything with the amazing plugins...

One of the best ones in there, however, was the Modern Analoguer (or whatevs). Sounds awesome
danieluber1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 01:33 AM   #17
Steve36
Human being with feelings
 
Steve36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geelong,Australia
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travlin sam View Post
hi Steve, i tried that and for some reason it won't load them. i had problems loading in nomads blue tube plug ins but did enough reasearch and finally found a thread that explained when you load that program it gives you two file locations, one in my folders and one in programs. i was trying to load from my folder but after i read that and loaded it from my program file it worked fine. but for some reason these will not load. i am going to opptions and going to the only place i see the plug ins (my folder) i click add and when i check they are not in my vst folders. i have tried dragging the file all over the place dumping into different folders but just cain't figure it out. any ideas? thanks for the help
I don't know what the problem could be...I simply grabbed the DLL's and dragged 'em into the same folder as the one I installed most of my other 3rd party plugins in (C:/VST plugins)...they didn't require any complicated folder juggling to run...Maybe try throwing one of the DLL's into Reapers own plugin folder to see if the file is ok...you can always remove it afterwards.

Steve
Steve36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 10:49 AM   #18
Smurf
Human being with feelings
 
Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,173
Default

The 2008 Deep Purple & newere Fire Chainer are the "secret weapons" here.....

These & the Bootsie plugs are all I need for a "vintage" vibe IMHO...
__________________
Yep's First 3 Years in PDF's
HP Z600 w/3GHz 12 Core, 48GB Memory, nVidia Quadro 5800, 240GB SSD OS drive, 3 480GB SSD Sample/Storage drives, 18TB External Storage, Dual 27" Monitors
Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 12:40 PM   #19
Jorgen
Human being with feelings
 
Jorgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 5,171
Default

Not my cup of tea. FWIW.
Jorgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 01:54 PM   #20
travlin sam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Default

just noticed my files are rar. files. mabee thats my problem, i don't know.
travlin sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 02:02 PM   #21
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,752
Default

on this link you can still downlaod the OLD ANTRESS

http://www.dancetech.com/index_searc...search=antress

2 pages and the better is on page two with a emulation of the famous VARI MU (Antress VRME), a phoenix (VPME) and a dbx 160 (VBME)

you use both new and old version, the dll are not the same

subtle differences with new version (better or not, you're the judge) but it's 100% free so...

enjoy! ;-)
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 02:19 PM   #22
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travlin sam View Post
just noticed my files are rar. files. mabee thats my problem, i don't know.
Get WinRAR and unpack it.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 07:58 PM   #23
travlin sam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks EvilDragon! got winrar and it worked! thanks a million!
travlin sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 08:14 PM   #24
travlin sam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Default

where can i find what plugin represents what device? example: lost angel
= la2a. thanks everyone
travlin sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 06:02 AM   #25
ngarjuna
Human being with feelings
 
ngarjuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travlin sam View Post
where can i find what plugin represents what device? example: lost angel
= la2a. thanks everyone
Honestly, don't bother. The 'emulations' stop at the GUIs and control choices.

That's not a good or a bad thing, if you like a unit you should use it; but don't use the Firechainer because it's a "Fairchild emulation" (it's not). They're just not really classic emulations, they're modern VSTs with GUIs that resemble classic units.
ngarjuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 06:14 AM   #26
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ngarjuna View Post
Honestly, don't bother. The 'emulations' stop at the GUIs and control choices.

That's not a good or a bad thing, if you like a unit you should use it; but don't use the Firechainer because it's a "Fairchild emulation" (it's not). They're just not really classic emulations, they're modern VSTs with GUIs that resemble classic units.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJqBV4TMINI
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 06:22 AM   #27
ngarjuna
Human being with feelings
 
ngarjuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno.thestraws View Post
Changes nothing. You can hear the difference through the YouTube file compression. And it's not a convincing 1176 at all.
ngarjuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:18 AM   #28
Steve36
Human being with feelings
 
Steve36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geelong,Australia
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ngarjuna View Post
Honestly, don't bother. The 'emulations' stop at the GUIs and control choices.

That's not a good or a bad thing, if you like a unit you should use it; but don't use the Firechainer because it's a "Fairchild emulation" (it's not). They're just not really classic emulations, they're modern VSTs with GUIs that resemble classic units.
Exactly...these are just extra 'crayons' in the box.Some of them can be pretty cpu intensive too...you have to sort through them.I
think they're worth the effort though.

Steve
Steve36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:32 AM   #29
travlin sam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Default

i know the plugs are not gonna be the same as hardware gear. did a test once in a pro studio with a great old neve board. heard lexicon 480 in pro tools against the original so i know there is a difference. i also know that anything on youtube compressess the crap out of stuff....but...i'm the kinda guy that likes to know things. just wondering what represents what in some creators mind that came up with this stuff. so back to my question, does anyone know what represents what in that bundle?
travlin sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:37 AM   #30
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,766
Default

Quote:
i also know that anything on youtube compressess the crap out of stuff
Out of curiosity does this happen when uploading in HD and Higher quality settings? I'll have to take something I recorded and throw it up that way and compare it with the original.

Karbo
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:44 AM   #31
ngarjuna
Human being with feelings
 
ngarjuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travlin sam View Post
i know the plugs are not gonna be the same as hardware gear. did a test once in a pro studio with a great old neve board. heard lexicon 480 in pro tools against the original so i know there is a difference. i also know that anything on youtube compressess the crap out of stuff....but...i'm the kinda guy that likes to know things. just wondering what represents what in some creators mind that came up with this stuff. so back to my question, does anyone know what represents what in that bundle?
No, I understood your purpose in all this; it's becoming more and more common for people to learn the sound of classic gear on emulations of classic gear. Without making value judgments about that, all I'm suggesting is that the Modern VSTs are not the best suite for learning such things. They just won't give you much of an idea of why those classic units are so beloved.

What I would suggest instead is find the very best native versions of these classic units (even if you restrict your search to free or cheap plugs it can be done) instead of just going with this plugin suite. I just don't think these plugins will give you much of a clue about those signature sounds you're wanting to play with and learn about.

If you're absolutely determined to use the Antress plugs for this task just go to the Antress blog linked in the OP, he gives the model for the emulated units:

Modern Apophis - Classic SSL® G384 Compressor clone.

Modern Lost Angel - Classic LA-2A® Compressor clone

Modern Seventh Sign - Classic 1176LN® Compressor clone.

Modern Fire Chainer - Classic Fairchild® 660 Compressor clone

Modern Black Dragon - Classic Pultec® EQP-1A Program Equalizer clone

Modern Deathcore - Classic Distressor® EL-8 Compressor clone
ngarjuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:52 AM   #32
ngarjuna
Human being with feelings
 
ngarjuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Out of curiosity does this happen when uploading in HD and Higher quality settings? I'll have to take something I recorded and throw it up that way and compare it with the original.

Karbo
I'm told the key is to use the highest format video they will allow (I think it's 1080P at 8000Kbps) and it causes the least amount of compression. But I believe the compression algorithms are all built into the uploader which determines the particular compression automatically.
ngarjuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 12:06 PM   #33
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,752
Default

Quote:
did a test once in a pro studio with a great old neve board. heard lexicon 480 in pro tools against the original so i know there is a difference.
Did you make the comparaison double blinded?

did you compare a great old neve board with ANOTHER great old neve BOARD?
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 07:30 PM   #34
Smurf
Human being with feelings
 
Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno.thestraws View Post
Did you make the comparaison double blinded?

did you compare a great old neve board with ANOTHER great old neve BOARD?
What about a null test......
__________________
Yep's First 3 Years in PDF's
HP Z600 w/3GHz 12 Core, 48GB Memory, nVidia Quadro 5800, 240GB SSD OS drive, 3 480GB SSD Sample/Storage drives, 18TB External Storage, Dual 27" Monitors
Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 05:41 AM   #35
ngarjuna
Human being with feelings
 
ngarjuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,298
Default

The point that Reno.thestraws is making is true: of the most classic devices a great many of them are from an era where quality control between units was pretty lax. After 20-40 years of replacing parts and upgrading components few of those devices sound exactly alike anymore. So when you're talking emulations and splitting hairs over tiny differences you may just be arguing about the character of a particular unit.

That said, there are still more general characteristics that are common to pretty much all units of a particular line, hence why a Fairchild 670 still fetches $20,000+ even though no two Fairchilds actually sound the same.
ngarjuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 12:03 PM   #36
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,665
Default

necrobump

whats crazy is how antress did this before it became en vogue to emulate classic gear, and he emulated a lot of them. suggests some crazy knowledge or study. maybe antress was bootsy?
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 12:05 PM   #37
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
maybe antress was bootsy?
Nope.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 01:16 PM   #38
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
necrobump

whats crazy is how antress did this before it became en vogue to emulate classic gear, and he emulated a lot of them. suggests some crazy knowledge or study. maybe antress was bootsy?
I tried all of these, and my ears say that the emulations stop at the GUI and name references (my opinion). None of them sounded or acted like the hardware they supposedly emulate, and I had too many issues with stability with ALL of them. They were ok for the time, but (again, my opinion) there are so many more current free plugins that leave these miles behind.
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 03:58 PM   #39
Garrick
Human being with feelings
 
Garrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wellington
Posts: 4,531
Default

Funny how the gui improves the sound.

I had all the antress plugins when I started with itb recording.
The lost angel graphic was gorgeous and I convinced myself that its effect was also.

Last edited by Garrick; 07-06-2014 at 04:50 PM.
Garrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 04:19 PM   #40
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,665
Default

they were made as soon as synthmaker came out, and whoever made them was certainly not unsophisticated since they knew exactly which emulations would be popular 5 years ahead of time, and knocked them out one by one like they were dominoes. yeah, they're old, but imagine if antress kept going, or rather, started making software in china or whatever, that doesnt exist in the west.
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.