Old 04-24-2007, 03:09 PM   #41
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metasymbol View Post
Hmmm, maybe FrickelLinux 0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.1 very early very unstable pre-alpha preview? How should I know?
You see mate, that's not the kind of answer I'd expect from an 'expert' towards a newbie.
No wonder the linux geeks have the reputation they do (i.e. cold, harsh, arrogant, not really willing to help a newbie etc.).

Schade, wirklich schade.

Raphael
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 03:28 PM   #42
metasymbol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bremerhaven/Germany
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkster1 View Post
You see mate, that's not the kind of answer I'd expect from an 'expert' towards a newbie.
No wonder the linux geeks have the reputation they do (i.e. cold, harsh, arrogant, not really willing to help a newbie etc.).

Schade, wirklich schade.

Raphael
OMG what have I done! this was a !joke! I've made when pipelineaudio was in our project chat irc.freenode.net #jacklab talking with everybody incl. me about audio linux...
metasymbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 04:11 PM   #43
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 826
Default

I'm sorry if I misunderstood things then and profoundly apologize.
But these things (jokes off forum) are not visible here.

Mea culpa

Raphael
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 04:21 PM   #44
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,446
Default

We need some step by steps to start testing this
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 05:07 PM   #45
woodslanding
Human being with feelings
 
woodslanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metasymbol View Post
The NI copy-protection is not the biggest problem (it is software based), more hardware dongles can be very problematic.
So better stay with NI, they make really good software.
OH NO! NO more dongles!!!! I am free now, and never going back!!!

Heck, if wine can handle NI it's sounding like time to hazard another linux installation. Next time I have a month or so I don't know what to do with.

Maybe november
__________________
eric moon
Very Stable Genius
https://gogolab.com/
woodslanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 05:09 PM   #46
woodslanding
Human being with feelings
 
woodslanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 391
Default

Anybody tried Bidule under linux?

Oops, guess I'm wandering OT....
__________________
eric moon
Very Stable Genius
https://gogolab.com/
woodslanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 05:14 PM   #47
charles.monteiro
Human being with feelings
 
charles.monteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scum View Post
i will give you one: windows is made by microsoft. are you proud, using something made by MS? I am not! The only thing, that keeps MSWindos on my PC, is the reaper. And this is dependence, i don`t want to be dependent.
Frankly, I could care less who makes it. At this stage of the game Windows is a defacto practical choice i.e. given what I want to do with music.

The focus is music not what OS I use.
charles.monteiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:26 PM   #48
caleb
Human being with feelings
 
caleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 635
Default

I ran Ubuntu for a while to see if I could tolerate the OS itself for general purpose.

I could never get Jack to work - or indeed nearly any music application available for Linux.

For a general-purpose I found it OK, but not up to the standard of the Windows OS.

I could not understand how to work with Wine to run Windows applications on Linux.

I didn't find documentation and help available to be that helpful. The advice sounded like it was given to a developer not an ordinary user.

I've deleted Ubuntu now because I needed the drive space back again. I may create a small partition in my next purchase (possible a laptop) to play further with Linux here and there and maybe one day I'll swap. I'm happy to dual-boot for non-music specialist applications and I'm happy to lose Word altogether to be honest. But all my music software plays nicely on Linux or it's no dice.

Regards
Caleb
__________________
Happiness is the hidden behind the obvious.
caleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 10:51 PM   #49
metasymbol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bremerhaven/Germany
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodslanding View Post
Anybody tried Bidule under linux?

Oops, guess I'm wandering OT....
Hehe, I also have a license of Plogue Bidule and will test it later with wineasio - but my report goes to the PB forum
metasymbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 11:27 PM   #50
scum
Human being with feelings
 
scum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BG
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caleb View Post
I ran Ubuntu for a while to see if I could tolerate the OS itself for general purpose.

I could never get Jack to work - or indeed nearly any music application available for Linux.


Regards
Caleb
well, i had the same experiences with ubuntu but i think, you can get jack to work with enabling "audio" in created by you user profile.

so, i`m triyng linux distributions since 2002. All of the popular and most of unpopular. Till christmass 2006. Then i installed for the first time PCLinuxOS. I`m using this great distro now, because:
-it`s easy, it`s made with windows-user-feeling
-it have great support and community, something like here
-it`s fucking fast!
-it`s live-cd, but you can install it - on my pc installation takes 7 minutes!!
-it have the all linux audio software, packaged by the developer, mr.Texstar, and mr.Thac, famous with his mandriva multimedia packages. And audio software works. All packages works. And are click away from installation. The latest software is available, too.
-It have Flash and Java out of the box. All codecs and drivers are click-away.
-All the hardware just works
-If you want something to be improved or added, you just have to request it/as here;]
-they don`t hate the windows users, and they aren`t in a sect!
-when you install pclinuxos, you can tweak it, install or remove software, add files, change the way it looks, and THEN make snapshot of your system, and make you own livecd, with all your settings and data - so IF they do this wine-asio thing, and it works, i will take my operating system, my vsts, my reaper and my projects on dvd in my pocket, and play them after 5 minutes on your pc, while browsing fucking porn.(well i can do the same right now, i have my live-dvd with my projects, reaper works with wine, but with terrible latency...)

So, PCLinuxOS website is up, take a look, now it`s testing time before final 2007 release, you can try the Test Release, or wait the final, but it worths! Cheers!

http://pclinuxos.com


ps:exuses for my bad english, i never write so much

Last edited by scum; 04-24-2007 at 11:36 PM.
scum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 11:40 PM   #51
woodslanding
Human being with feelings
 
woodslanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metasymbol View Post
Hehe, I also have a license of Plogue Bidule and will test it later with wineasio - but my report goes to the PB forum
well, I thought of that, and asked over there too
__________________
eric moon
Very Stable Genius
https://gogolab.com/
woodslanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 02:35 AM   #52
metasymbol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bremerhaven/Germany
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodslanding View Post
well, I thought of that, and asked over there too
Hmmm, Plogue Bidule dosn't work with Wine

But yesterday I've made a test with the brandnew JAD alpha 3 release, Reaper and ALL Native Instruments - http://forum.jacklab.net/viewtopic.php?t=455
metasymbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 04:14 AM   #53
scum
Human being with feelings
 
scum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BG
Posts: 404
Default

cheers! downloading alpha3, thanks.
scum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 08:19 AM   #54
scum
Human being with feelings
 
scum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BG
Posts: 404
Default

well, alpha3 gave me some problems while isntalling, but anyway, today i saw wine-asio added to the pclinuxos repos, now i`ll give this a try!

edit: and YES, it works great! 10ms latency without any patched-audio-realtime-kernels, and it`s even recording well!
cheers and thanks.

Last edited by scum; 05-08-2007 at 09:12 AM.
scum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 11:48 AM   #55
cAPSLOCK
Human being with feelings
 
cAPSLOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 308
Default

I like gentoo, though it is a pita to make and might not be the best choice for this project/purpose... Most CERTAINLY NOT the linux for even the SEASONED noob. But I sure like it.. so fast on my slow laptop.
cAPSLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 02:19 PM   #56
Petersko
Human being with feelings
 
Petersko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,785
Default

Funkster 1 said:
Quote:
I'd be really interested in running Reaper under Linux, as I can't make it run smoothly under WinXP Pro. Crackles all over the place etc., while in Linux I NEVER EVER had ANY crackles with ANY audio app, even when really maxing out CPU/Memory.</i><br><br>
I'm curious. What hardware are you running?
Petersko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 02:22 PM   #57
roman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
Default

That is great news. For a while it looked like Jacklab was almost dead. Glad to hear it's alive and kicking.
I wish I had any free time at the moment. I'm still running reaper with the oss driver.

And everybody who just came in here to bash linux... relax. It doesn't work for you... too bad. Move along. Nothing to see for you here.

Here's a really nice and straight forward how-to run it in ubuntu:

http://www.davehayes.org/2007/04/27/...with-wineasio/

Last edited by roman; 05-10-2007 at 02:40 PM.
roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 03:14 AM   #58
MikeLacey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 762
Default

I'm really not a Linux basher. Quite the opposite.

I much prefer *nix based OS's over anything else as most of my time as a developer, sysadmin and consultant (in previous lives) was spent working with various versions of Unix and Linux.

I can see that the challenge of getting REAPER to work well with Wine is a good one and great fun and, believe me, if there was a native Linux version of REAPER I wouldn't have Windows on my DAW pc.

But... REAPER's a Windows program, it's REAPER I like, not Windows. I don't yet see the compelling reason to slow REAPER's performance...

My (not very well) hidden agenda is that I really like REAPER, I really like Linux and I really don't like Windows. Ideal world would be that running REAPER on Linux gives me major advantages (performance and functionality advantages) over running it on Windows. Help me out here :-)
__________________
Mike Lacey, Leicestershire, UK
MikeLacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 03:36 AM   #59
metasymbol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bremerhaven/Germany
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLacey View Post
I if there was a native Linux version of REAPER I wouldn't have Windows on my DAW pc.

But... REAPER's a Windows program, it's REAPER I like, not Windows. I don't yet see the compelling reason to slow REAPER's performance...
Hi Mike

REAPER with wineasio acts nearly like a native Linux app. The performance is really good, stable and usable in all day music production. Since wineasio I NEVER BOOT UP WINDOWS AGAIN. I only need my windows installation to copy some system32 -dll to my wine fake windows if a program need them. I've tested REAPER/wineasio with all NI plugins, some FXpansion plugs and a lot of freeware plugins. It ROCKS in most cases. REAPER with WINEASIO works much better then Rosegarden and MusE (native Linux sequencers with vst wrapper support)

I'm really happy with REAPER in this (not a) emulation - A native Linux version means, that a lot of VST plugs not usable. Native Linux VST is much too young, there a now around 100 plugs, but the "big ones" have no motivation to port them.

CU!
Micha

Last edited by metasymbol; 05-18-2007 at 03:40 AM.
metasymbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 04:42 AM   #60
MikeLacey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 762
Default

Hi Micha,

Hmmmm

What do you reckon to performance and the PC I'd need to run WineASIO and REAPER? Would you say the standard REAPER minimum specs will do? What interface(s) are you using?

I like what you say about stability...
__________________
Mike Lacey, Leicestershire, UK
MikeLacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 02:16 AM   #61
metasymbol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bremerhaven/Germany
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLacey View Post
Hi Micha,

Hmmmm

What do you reckon to performance and the PC I'd need to run WineASIO and REAPER? Would you say the standard REAPER minimum specs will do? What interface(s) are you using?

I like what you say about stability...
I have tested on a Notebook with P4, 1,6Ghz, 1GB Ram and on a DAW with AMD64 1,8Ghz 2GB Ram. Dave also made some experiences on an AMD 800Mhz, read here: http://www.linuxjournal.com/node/1000216

I use JAD 1.0 alpha3 (and my dev system which is an unreleased beta2) with the default e17 windowmanger -slim, fast and beautiful.

The best support for wineasio you will get in forum.jacklab.net, since one of the devs is a jacklab member.
metasymbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 04:39 PM   #62
MikeLacey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 762
Default

Ok, thank you.
__________________
Mike Lacey, Leicestershire, UK
MikeLacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 04:24 PM   #63
roman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
Default

I have to agree that reaper runs very well with wineasio. There is definitely a performance hit to running it on windows. You might get around that by using something like fluxbox. JAD runs on enlightment. I don't care for the performence hit, because I don't mix on linux, so I don't leave gnome (or beryl for that matter) for reaper.

Have you got a workaround for the disappearing gui? I have to minimize/maximize pretty often to force a redraw. I figure this should be fixable.

I didn't get into vst on linux. All I do at home is sorting out takes, arranging routing and coloring - on windows or linux, so I don't mind.
roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:51 AM   #64
MikeLacey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 762
Default Too clever...

I don't think this is for me at the moment, much as I'd like it to be. Something tells me I'd spend most of my time wondering why *this* bit doesn't work and do I have the correct kernel with al the patches? Shame.
__________________
Mike Lacey, Leicestershire, UK
MikeLacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 04:00 AM   #65
scottdru
Human being with feelings
 
scottdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caleb View Post
and I'm happy to lose Word altogether to be honest.
I've been using Open Office for quite a while now, and I really like it! Whodaphuc needs M$ Office?
scottdru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 01:22 PM   #66
musicReaper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Could someone tell me if "Altiverb 6" will work with the linux VST support?
musicReaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 05:42 AM   #67
m00man
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cAPSLOCK View Post
I like gentoo, though it is a pita to make and might not be the best choice for this project/purpose... Most CERTAINLY NOT the linux for even the SEASONED noob. But I sure like it.. so fast on my slow laptop.
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - Gentoo -> DAW
m00man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 07:57 PM   #68
tweed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 609
Default

UPDATED NOTE: downloaded jacklab.net beta2 burnt DVD [not the live one] Threw DVD in 2.4 P4 PC installed default. Did a few things I read about here [incl. links found here] and Reaper runs great... ]

Yeah, I'm WAY ready for the LINUX assention:

Right now I'm at the point where I understand my XP to the point where I've begun to really dislike it... [LONG post that would be... I mean it's fine, just the future looks grim]

short Version is: I'm really enjoying what i'm learning about Linux and ... the jacklab.net beta2 release will get me WAY over the hill I'm sure...

Then at some point Justin will release a native Linux version and now I'd like to know if with a native Linux REAPER we can still use the wineasio PC VST magic with it...


after so many years of dedication to all the different platforms... I Gotta love what Linux IS and CAN be....

best wishes to all

Last edited by tweed; 07-14-2007 at 12:37 AM.
tweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:10 AM   #69
metasymbol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bremerhaven/Germany
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roman View Post
Have you got a workaround for the disappearing gui? I have to minimize/maximize pretty often to force a redraw. I figure this should be fixable.
Yes, open

Code:
winecfg
-> Tab "Graphic"
-> checkbox "emulate a virtual screen"
-> insert your fullscreen resolution (eg 1024 X 768)

With this desktop emulation (change the color of the vdesk with Tab "Desktop integration"-but no wallpaper possible for now) you have a graphical layer, which works 100% like a very slim windows desktop (but without explorer shell - taskbar, startbutton etc).
Thats the best way to run Windows apps, eg FL Studio working with this preferences. Otherwise often the dialog windows disappear behind the main window and this made the app unaccessible.

If you start a 2. wine app (anyone tried "rebirth" as rewire app?), it will appear on this vdesk. If you hold the "alt" key, you can move the vdesk with the mouse, that it fits to the size of the original desktop.

PS: And always use the latest wine version (I have wine-0.9.41)
since wine wine-0.9.37 the alsa midi patches from Ralf Beck/JackLab are integrated in wine. And I made the observation, that the REAPER running more and more better, also without vdesk, no need to redraw the gui by minimizing the app anymore. It is really amazing, feels like a native Linux app now.

PPS omg - I just started REAPER and another Udpate alert, Ver 1.8 - Justin is so industriously - hmmm I need a script making this updates automagic

Last edited by metasymbol; 07-24-2007 at 02:50 AM.
metasymbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 02:45 AM   #70
tweed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 609
Default

nice one metasymbol !!! thanks
and I totally agree... seems like a native Linux app... I am SO into Linux now... imagine a totally tweaked kernel.. lovin' it. under 1 ms latency is what I hear about out there from a couple of gurus. can't recall where at the moment.

Last edited by tweed; 07-29-2007 at 02:47 AM.
tweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 07:47 AM   #71
SEA
Human being with feelings
 
SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: By The Sea
Posts: 2,132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweed View Post
UPDATED NOTE: downloaded jacklab.net beta2 burnt DVD [not the live one] Threw DVD in 2.4 P4 PC installed default. Did a few things I read about here [incl. links found here] and Reaper runs great... ]

Yeah, I'm WAY ready for the LINUX assention:

Right now I'm at the point where I understand my XP to the point where I've begun to really dislike it... [LONG post that would be... I mean it's fine, just the future looks grim]

short Version is: I'm really enjoying what i'm learning about Linux and ... the jacklab.net beta2 release will get me WAY over the hill I'm sure...

Then at some point Justin will release a native Linux version and now I'd like to know if with a native Linux REAPER we can still use the wineasio PC VST magic with it...


after so many years of dedication to all the different platforms... I Gotta love what Linux IS and CAN be....

best wishes to all
Hey tweed!

What about drivers for the interface? What will you be using?

Best,
Jamie
__________________
JamieSEA

http://www.facebook.com/jamieseamusic
SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 09:20 AM   #72
tweed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 609
Default

eek Jamie.... just found this... get back to yaz.. been a couple of weeks since I've had any Deep LINUX Rub. [I've now subscribed 'again?' to this great thread] havin' a think... though I can say I STUMBLED for many study and trial sessions and did get REAPER - Wine-Jack etc etc rockin. sort of a crash course in my usual way..
Now it's 3 weeks later.... have to have a recall session...

it IS SO important to get into Linux [Debian/Ubuntu/Kubuntu or openSUSE to start I'd say... With Slackware and Gentoo being the more esoteric yet groovy options] In MY opinion of course and Off Topic.. LINUX can be optimized right down to the kernel and really would be a cool way forward for music in general [stating the obvious again, that's me!]

rushin' here.. hope I'm not a while getting a brain to respond.. it was lal kind typically me and nutty , the learning I did.. not sure I even recall except at the, I COULD do it again slowly level.... and WILL of course... know thy OS for sure...

sorry for ramble!

zooooooM
tweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 01:41 AM   #73
scum
Human being with feelings
 
scum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BG
Posts: 404
Default

installing wine asio in ubuntu:
tar zxvf wineasio-0.1.tar.gz
unzip asiosdk2.2.zip
cd wineasio-0.1
cp ../ASIOSDK2/common/asio.h .
...never did that, and never will do.

installing on pclinuxos:

[IMG]http://img208.**************/img208/161/snapshot8ch8.th.png[/IMG]

i like it easy.
scum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 10:53 AM   #74
tweed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 609
Default

Yeah, I went the long way which gave the usual amount of luck for long hours. Though at this point I don't have time at ALL to detail or..uh, remember enough to tell .. hope to at some point.... you know when you can fumble it together though can exactly say how! anyways wineasio is at a later version .03 ????

and the midi patch is now bundled into wine I think..

jacklab.net forum.. there a 6 or so page thread with a LOTTA stuff about reaper et. al.


best2all
tweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 05:24 AM   #75
mrjwalsh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 51
Default

I like that theres a thread for this stuff, I'm in the process of writing documentation from scratch. I use to be a heavy Linux user but left cause of audio and gaming; now I have a laptop and only use it for audio.

I'm writing through the process of installing Linux and then to the pro audio side with getting Reaper and VST's running. I'm doing this cause theres barely any documentation out there for something that is totally feasible these days; I'll let you guys know how it's going in a few weeks.

Btw, I'm using Arch linux with a modified kernel, Arch unlike the larger distro's like Ubuntu, SuSE, PC Linux OS is installed with just BASE system software installed, then you build on top of it; I 've tried the above distros and there a bit simpler but they also have way too many procedures installed and running in the background that don't need to be. I'm trying to build the slimmest OS I can so all the CPU can be used for Audio work.

Anyways; I'll be back.
mrjwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 09:44 AM   #76
tweed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 609
Default

Very interested in the tightest kernel etc. Even though I'm still stumbling with Linux I managed to do all I wanted to do some weeks back, and am now back to other things [READ: madly busy] while expecting more wine/wineasio etc etc etc breakthroughs sooner than later..

arch linux? I could do ubuntu, just seemed that pure debian would be for me... I'll look into arch... If it uses debian packages that would be cool.. good luck on the trimming!
tweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 07:33 PM   #77
mrjwalsh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 51
Default

yeh thanks, have a look into Arch, it took me a while to find, after being a distro slut for years; I don't know anyone who has left Arch after coming on board; great forum, huge number of packages, the best package management system, the list goes on.

For now I'll leave you with some info pull out of the Arch Wiki...

Arch vs Ubuntu:
Arch has a simpler foundation than Ubuntu. If you like to compile your own kernels, try out bleeding-edge CVS-only projects, or build a program from source every once in a while, Arch is better suited. If you want to get up and running quickly and not fiddle around with the guts of the system, Ubuntu is better suited. In general, developers and tinkerers will probably like Arch better than Ubuntu.

Arch vs Debian:
Arch has a simpler design than Debian. Arch has fewer packages. Arch provides better support for building your own packages than Debian does. Arch is more lenient when it comes to 'non-free' packages as defined by GNU. Arch is i686-optimized. Debian's design approach focuses more on stability and stringent testing. Arch packages are more bleeding-edge than Debian Stable/Testing packages. Both have excellent package management systems. Arch is a rolling release, whereas Debian Stable is released with "frozen" packages.

...KISS (Keep It Simple, ...) is the basis of Arch development. A fundamental elegant design yields the most effective, configurable and efficient system.

Go Linux and Reaper!
mrjwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 07:47 PM   #78
tweed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 609
Default

Nice. So Arch uses debian packages... and can use synaptic?
tweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 08:16 PM   #79
mrjwalsh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 51
Default

no it uses it's own packages and a program called pacman. Arch packages can be easliy built by anyone though as all they are are the source file and two additional files that modify the installation process.

Pacman allows single command update of the machine and Arch is a rolling release distro; that is you never need to reinstall a new version, once a new kernel and packages come out of the testing repo you can update your distro to a new version; it's a really simple and clever way to do it. The only downside is that you'll need a good internet connection as things are always being updated; but you can always just wait like 3 months before running an update; why update when things are good and stable?\

There are tons of packages and any obscure ones will probably be in the community package repo where users maintain and build their own and share to the public.

Also because the distro initially only installs the base components (about 50 packages to get the machine running) you can add any frontend you want. Gnome? KDE? E17? Openbox? etc etc.
It just means that you control distro bloat and because your adding things to it you'll know exactly whats running in the background. When I use to run SuSE a 'base' install would have about 200 processes running in the background that I didn't even need; this ain't Windows!

Anyways hope I've shed some light.
mrjwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 08:36 PM   #80
tweed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 609
Default

thank you! certainly did... and I'll be checking it out later 2 nite... when the usual madness subsides.
tweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.