Old 08-12-2018, 01:10 PM   #41
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,040
Default

I've used the FF UC since their beta program and did think the interface got quite warm after a while.

For this very reason it sits on top of my stack of stuff and has an empty DVD cover underneath it to further facilitate a little more heat dissipation.

The power supply is a little KTEC brick.

-edit-
The one to get is the NT-RME-2 powersupply.
Input: 100 - 240V~ 50/60 Hz, 2A, for Fireface UCX, Fireface UC, QuadMic, Babyface, ADI-2, ADI-4DD.

There's a version that's lockable, whatever that means, which is for the MADIface XT, QuadMic II, Babyface Pro and ADI-2 Pro.

Nothing on power supplies for any other products, at least at a casual glance.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 08-13-2018 at 02:57 AM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 02:15 PM   #42
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,350
Default

I had the FF800 for over 10 years and almost never turned it off except once or twice. Went away for the weekend once and turned it off - it never turned back on. Managed to replace the power supply and got a few more years out of it and then it died when the mains power went off and back on again - couldn't get a replacement power supply. Now have the FF802, fingers crossed it lasts for 10 years or more but now all my gear is attached to a battery backup system (just in case).
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 04:05 PM   #43
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21,960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrano View Post
Ah nice. I meant the PSU though.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 10:37 PM   #44
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Maybe you, I and Dave can just design our own. But tbh, I don't think that much is wrong with the existing PSU other than component quality, well at least a couple of the caps.
Perhaps there's a market in offering an upgrade service for RME units with these PSU's.
ReaDave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 01:59 AM   #45
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Nothing on power supplies for any other products, at least at a casual glance.
Have a look here:

https://rme-shop.com/acatalog/RME-Se...and-parts.html
__________________
MB Pro - FF400 - Korg RC168 - ADA8000 - Fostex VC8 - Fostex VR800
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.