Old 10-22-2018, 08:32 PM   #1
MerlinWilliams
Human being with feelings

Default My First Post!

I've been using Reaper for several years now, and have wandered in and out of the forum over the last year when I had questions - the info here has been very useful.

I've been making a lot more use of Reaper over the last year or so, and thought I should share my story, JIC it's helpful to anyone else.

I play woodwinds and guitars/bass. I've been working on a multi instrumental show for cruise ships and seniors residences. I did all of my backing tracks using Finale and Reaper. The ship shows require charts for up to a nine piece band with horns. I do mine for eight (two saxes with flute & clarinet doubles, trumpet, trombone, piano, bass, drums, and optional guitar.)

Here's my cruise ship demo video - https://youtu.be/ztfe6qMK0BY

The keys and bass on the video are VSTs; everything else is real. I tracked the woodwinds and guitars, and hired friends to play trumpet, trombone and drums.

It was an interesting process; I had to learn to record live drums (thank you Glyn Johns!) and sync audio and video.

As well as doing tracked projects like this, I also enjoy recording large jazz or classical ensembles. I purchase a small netbook for my remote rig. I use a Presonus 1818 with a Behringer ADA8000 for 16 channels of input. Primary pickup of the ensemble is with a Crown SASS-P Mk II stereo mic, with a variety of solo mics and spot mics as well.

I also like playing surf music, and have used Reaper with IK Multimedia guitar amp sims to record some surf demos.

Addictive Drums 2 and Addictive Keys are my go to VSTs these days for my tracks, though with jazz/swing tunes, I still prefer live drums.

Thanks for letting me hang out here.
MerlinWilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 08:43 PM   #2
nicholas
Scribe

Thanks for posting! Great video!
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 09:02 PM   #3
Glennbo