Old 06-30-2020, 07:57 PM   #1
cdmstudios
Human being with feelings
 
cdmstudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 324
Default 2 instances of Reaper locked to each other?

Is there an easy way to have two instances of reaper open and one chasing the other?
I want to be able to see a video on two monitors without mirroring them.

thanks
cdmstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 08:00 PM   #2
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 647
Default

I'm not sure, what you actually mean. Do you mean, that one Reaper-instance can be synchronized by the other? So you can start playback of a video in one Reaper-instance and it will be started on the other as well?


My first shot out of my guts would be to try using MIDI, with VST: ReaControlMIDI (Cockos) in one MIDI-instance sending MIDI-messages to the other one.
But I have no clue, whether this would work at all...

Another one would be an external file, which could be set by the one and read by the other instance. If the file is set to "Go!", the other instance knows to start.

If you have multiple instances of the same Reaper-installation, you could share extstates but this would, like the external file, need programming in ReaScript.
__________________
Use you/she/her, when contacting me, please. Thanks :) Not mentoring via PMs, sorry.
Ultraschall-API - 1200 ReaScript functions for Reaper - Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 08:04 PM   #3
cdmstudios
Human being with feelings
 
cdmstudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 324
Default

yes, exactly.
Seems like there could be a way. Rewire? MTC sync? LTC sync?
cdmstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 08:30 PM   #4
cdmstudios
Human being with feelings
 
cdmstudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 324
Default

I got it working. I created a virtual midi device in OS X and send to it from Reaper instance 1 and receive on Reaper instance 2.

Very cool
cdmstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 10:09 PM   #5
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdmstudios View Post
I got it working. I created a virtual midi device in OS X and send to it from Reaper instance 1 and receive on Reaper instance 2.

Very cool
Did you sync MTC?
daniellumertz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 12:51 AM   #6
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 647
Default

Can you make a small step by step tutorial so others can benefit from it too?
I wouldn't need it but I'm curious about how exactly you achieved it.
__________________
Use you/she/her, when contacting me, please. Thanks :) Not mentoring via PMs, sorry.
Ultraschall-API - 1200 ReaScript functions for Reaper - Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 06:50 AM   #7
cdmstudios
Human being with feelings
 
cdmstudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 324
Default

Hi -
sorry for the delay. Here's how I got this working, and it worked so well.

Open Audio Midi Setup on your mac. Command-2 to Show Midi Studio
Double click on IAC Driver. Check "Device is Online"
Apply and Close it.
In Reaper, go to Preferences-->Midi Devices
Enable the Input and Output for IAC Driver 1.
Add a Track to Reaper with a LTC/MTC event on it (Insert SMPTE LTC/MTC Generator)
Extend the item for the length of timecode you need
Go to Source Properties to adjust the settings.
Adjust Framerate and Click "Send as MTC"
On the Routing of the MTC track, add a Midi hardware out send to the IAC Driver (all channels)
Go to Actions and search for "spawn". Launch a new copy of reaper. Place the same video in this instance of Reaper. Right click on the Play button in the transport and select "Enable Synchronization to Timecode" and select "Use Input: MTC all channels"
Press play. It should have a little lock on it and depress.

Go back to the Master instance of Reaper and press play somewhere in the timeline. The 2nd instance should chase the first.

Have fun!
cdmstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.