Old 09-11-2021, 02:33 AM   #1
Ramirez
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pwllheli, Wales
Posts: 18
Default Track metering options

Hi all,

When I set a track meter to show LUFS-M in the 'Track' drop-down menu, it only applies to the currently selected track(s). It seems to me this option should be global in this menu, and switchable per-track on the indiviual track's options.

Is there a way to set global track metering to LUFS-M instead of peak?

And also, closely related, if I set the meters to LUFS-M, I can't find a way to have numerical display at the top of the meter show peak values (as can be done on the master channel). This would be very useful.
Ramirez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 05:32 AM   #2
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,379
Default

I also would like to have a global default setting for this (for new tracks).
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 07:46 AM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,873
Default

+1 for a global default metering setting
(mentioned also during the pre-release cycle)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 02:54 AM   #4
Ramirez
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pwllheli, Wales
Posts: 18
Default

Mind the bump...

No need to start a new thread I don't think-

I might be missing something here, but even when I set the track meters to LUFS-M, they still seem to revert to peak when record enabled. Is this a 'feature' or an oversight? I would very much like to monitor the input signals with LUFS-M
Ramirez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 07:06 PM   #5
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,873
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramirez View Post
Mind the bump...

No need to start a new thread I don't think-

I might be missing something here, but even when I set the track meters to LUFS-M, they still seem to revert to peak when record enabled. Is this a 'feature' or an oversight? I would very much like to monitor the input signals with LUFS-M
This is schwa's comment during the metering development, so looks like intended:
Quote:
A record-armed track will always show peaks on the meter.
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...85&postcount=6
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 07:42 PM   #6
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
This is schwa's comment during the metering development, so looks like intended:


https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...85&postcount=6
BUT I JUST WANT TO GAIN STAGE MY STUFF, I DON'T NEED TO KNOW IF IT CLIPS!


ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2021, 06:00 AM   #7
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,838
Default

In my opinion when the record input is set to MIDI or None, the meters on a record armed track should behave exactly the same as those on a non-record armed track.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.