Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 04:24 PM   #6161
Cragster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Quakertown PA USA
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poetnprophet View Post
I'm wondering the same thing, never heard about this overload before and I'm pretty sure I got the idea for the "2 action/1 button" thing from this group...and use it at least 4 times in my setup.

the ONLY issue I have is that, in some cases when toggling a Reaper action, the button will stay lit instead of toggle. For example, I have a custom action for Transport that also toggles Mute of a talkback track. So, all my transports stay lit regardless of actual status

I haven't ever run into an issue with the functions themselves, only the feedback/light of the button state. And yes it also flashes sorta erratically.....but it all works.
Sane exact thing happens here . I guess its a 2 function 1 button enter at your own risk kind of thing ?
Cragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:08 AM   #6162
Cragster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Quakertown PA USA
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveTrans View Post
Playing around with the ReaComp.zon file;
Some parameters, like autoreleas, are faders in the UI and fields to tick in the Reacomp GUI.

Now I wonder how to adress such fields from within the zon files.

It works with assigning a rotary to autorelease (parameter16) but one has to turn the rotary knob for a while until the value changes from 0 to 1 or vice versa which feels rather odd compared to clicking on a field once to latch/unlatch the parameter.

I tried to assign RotaryPush to it but that didnīt work.

Any ideas what to do with that class of (UI) faders?
When its a tick on and off i map it to rotary push
Cragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:10 AM   #6163
Cragster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Quakertown PA USA
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveTrans View Post
Playing around with the ReaComp.zon file;
Some parameters, like autoreleas, are faders in the UI and fields to tick in the Reacomp GUI.

Now I wonder how to adress such fields from within the zon files.

It works with assigning a rotary to autorelease (parameter16) but one has to turn the rotary knob for a while until the value changes from 0 to 1 or vice versa which feels rather odd compared to clicking on a field once to latch/unlatch the parameter.

I tried to assign RotaryPush to it but that didnīt work.

Any ideas what to do with that class of (UI) faders?
Not at my computer but im pretty sure i have toggle+rotary push
Cragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:12 AM   #6164
Cragster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Quakertown PA USA
Posts: 75
Default

That way you get an tick/untick thing going on that param
Cragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:40 AM   #6165
WaveTrans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cragster View Post
That way you get an tick/untick thing going on that param
Have to apologize for causing confusion since I made this a "ghost post".

The minute after I had sent the inital post, I found that if you give the rotaryknob a short twist , the fader jumps from 0 to 1 and back again.

Thought my issue was resoved and withdrew my post.

Your answers were too quick for me

anyway, the issue remains since the rotary control I use does not work reliably; and it changes the value in the UI only, parameters in the GUI appear unaffected.

And thanks, I tried rotarypush, but couldnīt get it to work in this case.

Last edited by WaveTrans; Today at 07:48 AM.
WaveTrans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:58 AM   #6166
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveTrans View Post
And thanks, I tried rotarypush, but couldnīt get it to work in this case.
Did you try Toggle+RotaryPush?

Do you have another button on the surface that makes sense to assign and you can remember? You could always play around with Toggle+ButtonName.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:59 AM   #6167
Cragster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Quakertown PA USA
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveTrans View Post
Have to apologize for causing confusion since I made this a "ghost post".

The minute after I had sent the inital post, I found that if you give the rotaryknob a short twist , the fader jumps from 0 to 1 and back again.

Thought my issue was resoved and withdrew my post.

Your answers were too quick for me

anyway, the issue remains since the rotary control I use does not work reliably; and it changes the value in the UI only, parameters in the GUI appear unaffected.

And thanks, I tried rotarypush, but couldnīt get it to work in this case.
No problem just trying to help if i can. You guys helped me out a ton !
Cragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:32 AM   #6168
SebyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 159
Default Ok What am I missing please!

Hi guys, I messed up everything and can't figure out what i'm doing wrong with my BCR2000.
The only thing that work, is the
Button1 Reaper _RS9b44c05d0259a71665cf74f20645e7373ce218e1
that is in the home BCR2000.zon.

here's my files. The fab-q was working before, the sends, I saw them only once and now not anymore. I just don't get it.
tks for your help
Seby

BCR2000.zon
Code:
Zone "Home"
	Button1 Reaper _RS9b44c05d0259a71665cf74f20645e7373ce218e1
		OnTrackSelection MapSelectedTrackSendsToWidgets
	IncludedZones
		"Buttons|"
		"Channel|1-8"
		"Sends|1-8"
		"MasterChannel|"
	IncludedZonesEnd
ZoneEnd

Zone "Send|1-8"
	SelectedTrackNavigator
	D| 		TrackSendVolume	
ZoneEnd
BCR2000.mst
Code:
Widget Button3
	AnyPress b0 4B 7f
	FB_TwoState b0 4B 7f b0 4B 00
WidgetEnd
/*****************************************
Widget Button1
	AnyPress b0 49 7f
	FB_TwoState b0 49 7f b0 49 00
WidgetEnd
/*****************************************
Widget A1
	Fader7Bit b0 31 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 31 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget B1
	Fader7Bit b0 29 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 29 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget C1
	Fader7Bit b0 21 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 21 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget D1
	Fader7Bit b0 01 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 01 7f
WidgetEnd
/*****************************************
Widget A2
	Fader7Bit b0 32 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 32 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget B2
	Fader7Bit b0 2a 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 2a 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget C2
	Fader7Bit b0 22 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 22 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget D2
	Fader7Bit b0 02 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 02 7f
WidgetEnd
/*****************************************
Widget A3
	Fader7Bit b0 33 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 33 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget B3
	Fader7Bit b0 2B 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 2B 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget C3
	Fader7Bit b0 23 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 23 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget D3
	Fader7Bit b0 03 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 03 7f
WidgetEnd
/*****************************************
Widget A4
	Fader7Bit b0 34 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 34 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget B4
	Fader7Bit b0 2c 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 2c 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget C4
	Fader7Bit b0 24 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 24 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget D4
	Fader7Bit b0 04 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 04 7f
WidgetEnd
/*****************************************
Widget A5
	Fader7Bit b0 35 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 35 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget B5
	Fader7Bit b0 2d 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 2d 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget C5
	Fader7Bit b0 25 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 25 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget D5
	Fader7Bit b0 05 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 05 7f
WidgetEnd
/*****************************************
Widget A6
	Fader7Bit b0 36 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 36 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget B6
	Fader7Bit b0 2e 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 2e 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget C6
	Fader7Bit b0 26 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 26 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget D6
	Fader7Bit b0 06 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 06 7f
WidgetEnd
/*****************************************
Widget A7
	Fader7Bit b0 37 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 37 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget B7
	Fader7Bit b0 2f 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 2f 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget C7
	Fader7Bit b0 27 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 27 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget D7
	Fader7Bit b0 07 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 07 7f
WidgetEnd
/*****************************************
Widget A8
	Fader7Bit b0 38 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 38 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget B8
	Fader7Bit b0 30 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 30 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget C8
	Fader7Bit b0 28 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 28 7f
WidgetEnd

Widget D8
	Fader7Bit b0 08 7f
	FB_Fader7Bit b0 08 7f
WidgetEnd
Fab-Q2.zon
Code:
Zone "VST3: FabFilter Pro-Q 2 (FabFilter)" "Fab-Q2"
SelectedTrackNavigator

Button3 Reaper _RS9b44c05d0259a71665cf74f20645e7373ce218e1
Button1 Reaper _RSb088b4119653e226ec4b0106bd11dea845fed57c


D1 FXParam 0
B1 FXParam 1
A1 FXParam 2
C1 FXParam 3

D2 FXParam 7
B2 FXParam 8
A2 FXParam 9
C2 FXParam 10

D3 FXParam 14
B3 FXParam 15
A3 FXParam 16
C3 FXParam 17

D4 FXParam 21
B4 FXParam 22
A4 FXParam 23
C4 FXParam 24

D5 FXParam 28
B5 FXParam 29
A5 FXParam 30
C5 FXParam 31

D6 FXParam 35
B6 FXParam 36
A6 FXParam 37
C6 FXParam 38

D7 FXParam 42
B7 FXParam 43
A7 FXParam 44
C7 FXParam 45

D8 FXParam 49
B8 FXParam 50
A8 FXParam 51
C8 FXParam 52
SebyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:20 AM   #6169
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 456
Default

SebyMusic, your BCR2000.zon looks very incomplete. The Home zone declares included zones for 'Channels' and 'Buttons' and a 'Master Channel' but those zones don't actually exist in the .zon file. You can't just say these zones exist, you have to map them out and what they do. Also it declares a zone for "Sends" (plural) but you have a zone named "Send" (singular). Make the names match.

You also don't seem to declare a way for the FX.zon to become active. You have to tell CSI how it should activate the Pro-Q FX.zon but there's no instruction on how to do that. How do you want it to work? Do you want the Pro-Q mapping to automatically activate once the FX plugin window is open and focused? Or do you want it work via one of the other methods?

If you can provide a little more info about how you want to use the BCR2000 and how you'd like it to work as a Control Surface for Reaper and how you expect it to work for FX. Like which widgets do you want to act as TrackVolume and which as Pans or solo/mute. How do you want your FX.zon to activate. If you can provide that type of info, I'm sure we can help.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:10 AM   #6170
SebyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
SebyMusic, your BCR2000.zon looks very incomplete. The Home zone declares included zones for 'Channels' and 'Buttons' and a 'Master Channel' but those zones don't actually exist in the .zon file. You can't just say these zones exist, you have to map them out and what they do. Also it declares a zone for "Sends" (plural) but you have a zone named "Send" (singular). Make the names match.

You also don't seem to declare a way for the FX.zon to become active. You have to tell CSI how it should activate the Pro-Q FX.zon but there's no instruction on how to do that. How do you want it to work? Do you want the Pro-Q mapping to automatically activate once the FX plugin window is open and focused? Or do you want it work via one of the other methods?

If you can provide a little more info about how you want to use the BCR2000 and how you'd like it to work as a Control Surface for Reaper and how you expect it to work for FX. Like which widgets do you want to act as TrackVolume and which as Pans or solo/mute. How do you want your FX.zon to activate. If you can provide that type of info, I'm sure we can help.
I see, I'm starting to understand more how it works all this CSI project.
Ok what I was trying to do...
When a track is selected, if the FX eq is on there, then activate.
About the sends, I want them to be alway active if a track is selected and if there's Sends associated to that selected track of course.

So the top row knobs are for the send 1 through 8 of the selected track

And the rest is for the EQ fx if on track.

Can you guide me on that please?

tks
Seby
SebyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:28 AM   #6171
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 456
Default

Ok, so I'm hearing you want to use the Top row for Sends 1-8 on the selected track, and the remaining 3 rows of knobs for Pro-Q and nothing else. I'm guessing you have another surface handling track volume/pan type responsibilities already?

Follow up questions: which widgets are which? Your naming convention makes it difficult for me to figure out which are the top row. Is that widgets A1-A8? Or D1-D8? So which widgets are the top row?

Remember: when you get a working setup, we'd encourage you to share, and you want other users to be able to pick up on which widget is which, so names like A, B, C, D may not be obvious to someone else who owns the device, unless that's how those parameters are actually named on the device.

I'd also enocurage you to map out the entire device in the .mst if you haven't already. Looking at photos, it looks like it has a ton of buttons in addition to all those rotaries. Have you mapped those?
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:35 AM   #6172
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 456
Default

Try this out for bcr2000.zon. Here I've moved "Button1" into a zone called Buttons. I've also added "On Track Selection, Map Selected Track FX To Widgets." I believe this is what you'll need to tell Reaper "hey, if there's a Pro-Q with a corresponding mapping on the selected track, map it to widgets." I kept D as the sends assuming you want D1-D8 to map to Track Send Volume. I also cleaned up the syntax a bit. Send is now Send, I also eliminated the extra "1-8" in the Send zone that wasn't needed.

Code:
Zone "Home"
	OnTrackSelection MapSelectedTrackSendsToWidgets
	OnTrackSelection MapSelectedTrackFXToWidgets
	IncludedZones
		"Buttons|"
		"Send|1-8"
	IncludedZonesEnd
ZoneEnd

Zone "Buttons|"
	Button1 Reaper _RS9b44c05d0259a71665cf74f20645e7373ce218e1
ZoneEnd

Zone "Send|1-8"
	SelectedTrackNavigator
	D| TrackSendVolume	
ZoneEnd

Last edited by Funkybot; Today at 12:19 PM.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:49 AM   #6173
SebyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
Try this out for bcr2000.zon. Here I've moved "Button1" into a zone called Buttons. I've also added "On Track Selection, Map Selected Track FX To Widgets." I believe this is what you'll need to tell Reaper "hey, if there's a Pro-Q with a corresponding mapping on the selected track, map it to widgets." I kept D as the sends assuming you want D1-D8 to map to Track Send Volume. I also cleaned up the syntax a bit. Send is now Send, I also eliminated the extra "1-8" in the Send zone that wasn't needed.

Code:
Zone "Home"
	OnTrackSelection MapSelectedTrackSendsToWidgets
	OnTrackSelection MapSelectedTrackFXToWidgets
	IncludedZones
		"Buttons|"
		"Send|1-8"
	IncludedZonesEnd
ZoneEnd

Zone "Buttons|"
	Button1 Reaper _RS9b44c05d0259a71665cf74f20645e7373ce218e1
ZoneEnd

Zone "Send|"
	SelectedTrackNavigator
	D| TrackSendVolume	
ZoneEnd
Hi FunkyBot, you are right, I did not gave enough details.
So bottom row is A
Last on Top is D

What you sent me seems to work, but now, every sends if there's 3 sends on track 1 for instance and that I move the first send, seems to move all light on every 8 knobs on D row.

is it because auto sends is checked?
Should I check something else?
SebyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:17 PM   #6174
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 456
Default

Found the issue! Try this:

Code:
Zone "Home"
	OnTrackSelection MapSelectedTrackSendsToWidgets
	OnTrackSelection MapSelectedTrackFXToWidgets
	IncludedZones
		"Buttons|"
	IncludedZonesEnd
ZoneEnd

Zone "Buttons|"
	Button1 Reaper _RS9b44c05d0259a71665cf74f20645e7373ce218e1
ZoneEnd

Zone "Send|1-8"
	SelectedTrackNavigator
	D| TrackSendVolume	
ZoneEnd
And sorry if you saw my since deleted post.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:36 PM   #6175
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SebyMusic View Post
So bottom row is A
Last on Top is D
We actually use the opposite convention -- I think

A is top row

D is bottom row

for the C4, right C4 folks out there ?

Are there letters on your surface A, B, C, D?

If not, might be good to use the same convention for all surfaces where possible.
__________________
CSI - You can donate here: geoffwaddington.ca
Alpha software: https://stash.reaper.fm/v/36903/CSI%20alpha.zip
EuCon software: https://stash.reaper.fm/v/37947/reaper_csurf_EuCon.zip
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.