Old 04-24-2019, 02:13 PM   #1
Vasto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 19
Default Impossible Smooth Playback with ProRes

Hi there,

I'm sorry for opening the nth thread about this, but I'm really going crazy with that issue and I've really tried anything written here and on the wiki.

Basically it seems impossible for me to make Reaper play smoothly any video file except low bitrate h264.

I'd need to work with ProRes files so here's the basic things I've done:

- changed container from .mov to .mkv: unsuccessful
- scaling from 2160 to 1080, but still: unsuccessful
- deleted the FFMPEG.dll, moved the latest ffmpeg shared into /plugins: unsuccessful
- substituted VLC with MPC-H: unsuccessful
- VLC setup to use openGL and/or DirectX (restarted after changin): unsuccessful

ProRes files are generate with FFMPEG itself (prores_ks 422 HQ)

My configuration is:
CPU: i9-9900K (liquid cooling)
RAM: 32gb 3000mhz
GPU: RTX2080
SSD: Samsung EVO

OS: Windows 10
SW: Reaper (latest)

Should I just give up and convert everything in low bitrate h264 to achieve a smooth playback in Reaper?

Best

Last edited by Vasto; 04-24-2019 at 02:26 PM.
Vasto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 03:31 PM   #2
bjohn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 128
Default

I'm able to view 1080p ProRes HQ files just fine in Reaper, smooth playback. I don't use 4k files so maybe that's the issue; also I'm on a Mac but with pretty similar specs--32 gigs of RAM although you didn't say how much GPU memory you have (I have a dual GPU with 6 gigs).
bjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 05:53 PM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,537
Default

did you try any of the options when you rt-click the video window?

are you playing back audio from the file as well?
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 05:34 AM   #4
Vasto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 19
Default

I've this problem with both ProRes 422 @4k/60 and FHD/30-60

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
did you try any of the options when you rt-click the video window?
Yes, I've tried almost everything "on sight" that's why I can't understand the issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
are you playing back audio from the file as well?
Nope, video is without audio track, I have this issue even with the sole video inside of the project
Vasto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 06:41 AM   #5
bjohn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 128
Default

Can you play those files smoothly on your computer outside of Reaper, e.g., with Windows movie player or VLC media player?

I just tested and can play Prores HQ files smoothly in VLC media player on a Microsoft Surface tablet with integrated Intel graphics, but the same video does not appear in Reaper at all -- the audio plays, but when I open the video window it's black.
bjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 01:01 PM   #6
Vasto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjohn View Post
Can you play those files smoothly on your computer outside of Reaper, e.g., with Windows movie player or VLC media player?
Of course I can play my ProRes 422 HQ - 4K/60fps with both VLC (even if I have dropouts) and MPC-H (perfect) players:
I'm on an i9-9900k + RTX2080, I can play two instances of MPC-H simultaneosly with 4K/60fps ProRes, without any frame dropping,
that's why I'm sure the problem concern something inside of Reaper and VLC.

When using VLC I need to enable openGL in video settings, otherwise it doesn't play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjohn View Post
I just tested and can play Prores HQ files smoothly in VLC media player on a Microsoft Surface tablet with integrated Intel graphics, but the same video does not appear in Reaper at all -- the audio plays, but when I open the video window it's black.
Same here: I can play the video in Reaper but it's like 1 frame every 4 seconds

In another post I read some users solved everything by changing ProRes container from .mov to .mkv using MKVtoolnix: I've tried both MKVtoolnix and FFMPEG to change the container but nothing solved my issue.

Last edited by Vasto; 04-25-2019 at 01:25 PM.
Vasto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.