Old 11-26-2018, 01:37 PM   #1
Sternthaler
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
Default Update Reaper in Linux

Hi,
is there any PPA for getting Reaper updates? What is your workaround to update if there is no PPA.
(Using Ubuntu 18.04 LTS)
Best regards,
Stefan
Sternthaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 01:44 PM   #2
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,669
Default

Download from official REAPER site (see link at the top of the page), use install script or run it portable.

Installing new version "overtop" of previous version works properly.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 02:39 PM   #3
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 3,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Download from official REAPER site (see link at the top of the page), use install script or run it portable.

Installing new version "overtop" of previous version works properly.
That's the way I do it. I click download, Firefox asks what to do with it, I click open in Engrampa, then extract right on top of my existing install of REAPER.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 03:14 PM   #4
Sternthaler
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
Default

Hi JamesPeters,

Installing new version "overtop" of previous version works properly

avoided it untill now, good to know. Which distribution of Linux you are working on? Mine is Ubuntu 18.04LTS
Sternthaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 09:29 PM   #5
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,669
Default

My system info is in my signature. Well except for the fact I'm running the AntiX kernel at the moment (4.9.126), only since it has all the Spectre/Meltdown fixes.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 09:20 AM   #6
Stringer
Human being with feelings
 
Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: State of California
Posts: 542
Default Not quite sure

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I am not quite sure what directory installing "overtop" would be. I have a "Reaper" directory in my documents folder that contains a "reaper_linux_x86_64" folder. Is that the folder to which the updated version should be extracted?

Thanks.
__________________
One thing led to another and somehow I ended up on Linux.
https://guitarsophist.com/
Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 09:30 AM   #7
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,247
Default

If in doubt:
Code:
locate /reaper | grep reaper$
On my system it shows two results, one in my Downloads folder and the other where I've installed it.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 10:59 AM   #8
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,669
Default

Yes plus the installer script provides two install location options by default. If you ran the installer script you probably chose one of those two options, so you can just look in those two locations. If you are running it as portable then you placed it in a certain location yourself. In that case you would probably remember where you put it and if not yeah I would use the information in the post above.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 03:31 PM   #9
Stringer
Human being with feelings
 
Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: State of California
Posts: 542
Default

When I run that command it shows this:

/home/guitarsophist/Downloads/Reaper/reaper_linux_x86_64/REAPER/reaper
/home/ogden/Documents/Reaper/reaper_linux_x86_64/REAPER/reaper
/opt/REAPER/reaper

So there are three locations.

I tried extracting 5.971 to the second of those directories, but when I booted Reaper I still had 5.961. Should I try extracting to the opt/REAPER/reaper location?

For previous installs I used the installer. I may have made different choices both times.

The other complication is that guitarsophist is my superuser profile and ogden is a regular user.

I know just enough about Linux to really screw things up!

Thanks
__________________
One thing led to another and somehow I ended up on Linux.
https://guitarsophist.com/
Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 04:38 PM   #10
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,669
Default

I recommend you uninstall/remove Reaper everywhere you currently have it, then install it again and pay attention where you install it. That way you can always overwrite it with a new version when you want.

If you need to back up your preferences first, don't forget to do that!

This isn't a big problem anyway. What would be a big problem, potentially: messing up your dependencies. I highly recommend you stick to your official distro's repos for pretty much everything, except "flatpaks" (basically "portable intalls") and maybe Reaper's install script (also LinuxVST plugins). If not knowing where you installed Reaper was concerning...well, if you mess up dependencies, you have no idea the kind of struggle you'll be in for.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 04:48 PM   #11
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,247
Default

/opt/REAPER is one of the default install locations, so that's most likely where you're running it from.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 05:34 PM   #12
Stringer
Human being with feelings
 
Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: State of California
Posts: 542
Default

I ended up trying to do that. Reaper was installed in /opt. However, before I uninstalled, I tried to extract into /opt and it said I did not have appropriate permissions, even though I was superuser. So I uninstalled by right clicking on the icon in the menu and then clicking uninstall, but that just uninstalled the icon.

So I ran the install script and successfully installed 5.971 in /opt, though at first it balked and asked for the password. At any rate, I now have the updated version.

Thanks,

John
__________________
One thing led to another and somehow I ended up on Linux.
https://guitarsophist.com/
Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 05:38 PM   #13
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,247
Default

Do actually need it in /opt? Installing it in /home/username/opt would fix that issue and is typically recommended for Linux apps.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 06:49 PM   #14
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
Do actually need it in /opt? Installing it in /home/username/opt would fix that issue and is typically recommended for Linux apps.
Yeah I'm new to Linux but after my first install (to /opt), next time I went "uh...no, I should move that..." Especially when adding scripts etc. to Reaper. I don't want to always change permissions.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 06:54 PM   #15
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 3,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Yeah I'm new to Linux but after my first install (to /opt), next time I went "uh...no, I should move that..." Especially when adding scripts etc. to Reaper. I don't want to always change permissions.
When I first put the native Linux version of REAPER on my machine there wasn't an installer yet, so I selected "~/.local/share", and that's where it still lives and runs today. I saw no real advantage in fixing it since it ain't broke.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 08:59 PM   #16
Stringer
Human being with feelings
 
Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: State of California
Posts: 542
Default

Yes, the installer put it in /opt/REAPER, which is option 1. I want it to be available to regular users and that works. If I put it in "~/.local/share" would it be available to all users?

I realize now that I was being confused because before I was extracting to a directory and then running the installer to install it in /opt/REAPER, so it looked like I had it running from two places.

Thanks for all the help here! It is really cool to run Reaper in Linux. My Win7 partition is a mess these days.

John
__________________
One thing led to another and somehow I ended up on Linux.
https://guitarsophist.com/
Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 09:40 AM   #17
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer View Post
Yes, the installer put it in /opt/REAPER, which is option 1. I want it to be available to regular users and that works. If I put it in "~/.local/share" would it be available to all users?
John
No, anything installed anywhere in your home folder will be available only to you. If you want REAPER to be available to all users then probably the best place to install it is in /opt (as suggested by the installer).

BTW. You don't normally need to worry about permissions for any extra scripts, docs, extra JS plugins etc. you might want to install as these can all be placed in the REAPER resource directory. This is most commonly in ~/.config but in order to be sure, you can open it directly from inside REAPER (Options -> Show REAPER resource path in explorer/finder). Do bear in mind though, that anything stored there will only be available to you and not to other users (but then each user will probably have different setup/config/extras requirements anyway).
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.