Old 02-27-2019, 02:20 PM   #1
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jšmtland, Sweden
Posts: 354
Default ReaPack issue...again

Hi,

When I started Reaper after the latest update it downloaded new version of ReaPack...I think. When I restarted ReaPack menu is gone. When I start Reaper via terminal I get this error message:

Code:
swell: dlopen() failed: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6: version `CXXABI_1.3.11' not found (required by /home/tobbe/.config/REAPER/UserPlugins/reaper_reapack64.so)
Error loading /home/tobbe/.config/REAPER/UserPlugins/reaper_reapack64.so: (null)
I already have libstdc6 installed:

Code:
i   libstdc++6                                             - GNU Standard C++ Library v3
What more should I install?
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 02:41 PM   #2
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,668
Default

Read from this post on. It's explained there. Posts 751 to 755.

Basically your distro's GCC libraries are not new enough. (GCC libraries in some common distros are going to be "not new enough" for a while, it seems.) The author of ReaPack recommends updating the GCC libraries, but I'd personally recommend against anything which might mess with your distro's dependencies. If you've ever messed up dependencies in Linux, you'll know why I recommend avoiding that!

Instead I downloaded the previous version 1.2.1, added it to the userplugins folder, then "pinned" it in ReaPack (ReaPack manages itself from ReaPack, so you can "pin version" of ReaPack itself to an older version so it won't update). Of course don't try updating with ReaPack until you pin the version 1.2.1.

Once GCC libraries are updated for LMDE (etc.) you can then unpin ReaPack and let it update.

Download the previous version from here:

https://github.com/cfillion/reapack/releases
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux

Last edited by JamesPeters; 02-27-2019 at 02:51 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 02:57 PM   #3
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jšmtland, Sweden
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Read from this post on. It's explained there. Posts 751 to 755.

Basically your distro's GCC libraries are not new enough. (GCC libraries in some common distros are going to be "not new enough" for a while, it seems.) The author of ReaPack recommends updating the GCC libraries, but I'd personally recommend against anything which might mess with your distro's dependencies. If you've ever messed up dependencies in Linux, you'll know why I recommend avoiding that!

Instead I downloaded the previous version 1.2.1, added it to the userplugins folder, then "pinned" it in ReaPack (ReaPack manages itself from ReaPack, so you can "pin version" of ReaPack itself to an older version so it won't update). Of course don't try updating with ReaPack until you pin the version 1.2.1.

Once GCC libraries are updated for LMDE (etc.) you can then unpin ReaPack and let it update.

Download the previous version from here:

https://github.com/cfillion/reapack/releases
Perfect. Didn't know about the "pin" thing. Good call.

Thanks alot, everythings is ok again and I can sleep well
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 08:45 PM   #4
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,668
Default

No problem! I'd noticed this a couple days ago so it was perfect timing. I figured someone else would notice this too.

After I realized I could download a previous version of ReaPack, I thought "wouldn't it be nice if I could pin the version like in Synaptic..." then it occurred to me ReaPack was probably based around something like Synaptic and I hadn't noticed until migrating from Windows to Linux. So at that point it wasn't surprising to me that "pin version" was a feature.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.