Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2019, 06:24 PM   #1
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 201
Smile Timeshift has anyone used it on Reaper build? just wondering...

I was just wondering if anyone has used 'Timeshift' on a Reaper build. I haven't used it yet (knock on wood) and was interested if anyone has any experience rolling back to previous setting through a snapshot. thanks in advance...
s wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 12:30 AM   #2
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jšmtland, Sweden
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s wave View Post
I was just wondering if anyone has used 'Timeshift' on a Reaper build. I haven't used it yet (knock on wood) and was interested if anyone has any experience rolling back to previous setting through a snapshot. thanks in advance...
I tried it couple of times and it worked great. Using default settings when created first snapshot. You can also add your home directory if you want.
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 09:47 AM   #3
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 201
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobbe View Post
I tried it couple of times and it worked great. Using default settings when created first snapshot. You can also add your home directory if you want.
Great to hear. I have used it on my other pc (16.04) and works great. I did not know you could add own your home directory - much thanks and appreciation.
s wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 12:29 PM   #4
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jšmtland, Sweden
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s wave View Post
Great to hear. I have used it on my other pc (16.04) and works great. I did not know you could add own your home directory - much thanks and appreciation.
NOTE: If you add your homedirectory, wine is getting backed up also.

I have always a dedicated partition for my home so if I need to reinstall "just" Mint I leave home untuched.



Looks like this:

\ (root) approx 50GB
\ swap 8GB (don't know if I really need it)
\ home the rest
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 08:44 PM   #5
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobbe View Post
NOTE: If you add your homedirectory, wine is getting backed up also.

I have always a dedicated partition for my home so if I need to reinstall "just" Mint I leave home untuched.



Looks like this:

\ (root) approx 50GB
\ swap 8GB (don't know if I really need it)
\ home the rest
Precise answer excellent. As for Swap. I have read just a few things on it swapper/swap. I have heard that there is a sweet spot for the amount of swap allocated. If there is too much or too little it can hinder performance some. Don't know if its true - but I try to dial in just a tad over whats needed. Ran a rough test on my rig - and it did change the performance (nominal) on a couple bench tests. ?? again thanks Tobbe!
s wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.