Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2010, 01:48 PM   #1
DarthFader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 324
Default ATTN Plugin Author's -- Making Installerless VSTis

A Lot of plugins require an "installation" so they can "find" the folder that houses whatever resources the plugin might need -- like samples etc.

However, there is a windows call that can find the location of the .dll (vst) -- NOT just the host.

Then, the plugin can find the samples, presets or whatever just as a subfolder of whereever the plugin dll is.

This makes installation a simple drag and drop and easy to spin up a new computer without running (mostly needless) installers just so that the plugin can use the registry to find the samples, etc, which it doesnt need to it could just use the windows call.

Here is the call:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...8VS.85%29.aspx

To use it you'll need to store (in a variable or whatever) the handle that is passed in the DLLMain so that you can pass it to the above function.

Please pass this info on to the VST community on KVR etc if you have an account.


DF
DarthFader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 02:21 PM   #2
Klinke
Human being with feelings
 
Klinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 758
Default

But installing many files in a subfolder of the plugin is a bad idea, because that's slow down the scan process of the host.
Klinke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 02:58 PM   #3
DarthFader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 324
Default

It depends on the definition of "many".

If you have 1000s of files it might; if you have dozens of files it wouldn't.

Even if with 1000s files it doesnt really slow things down; I have a synth1 folder with 8000 patches in it (that are scanned and live in a subfolder of synth1) and it doesn't slow down startup, usage, etc.

Using the registry so the plugin can find the skins, samples, etc, is ludicrous imho...and is mainly done becuae I don't think the developer knew about the call mentioned above.


DF
DarthFader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.