Old 10-15-2018, 06:26 AM   #1
scdaymon
Human being with feelings
 
scdaymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: France, Meylan
Posts: 3
Default Why do item's change playrate?

Hi there guys!

I'm in a middle of a project, and suddenly I realize that some items do not have the same rate!
I cannot understand why this happens? And it's the first time (in years) that I face this problem.
I only know that when I move an item, it changes the playrate of that item.
Is there any option that must be turned on or off?

Any tips?

Thanks in advance...


ScDaymon
__________________
"the price of a soul is the cease of the heart"
scdaymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 10:11 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,213
Default

Are these Audio or MIDI Items?

In any case, the first thing to check would be Item Properties > Item timebase (and changing it either from Time to Beats or the other way round).

You can find some additional hints here: https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...54&postcount=2 and in the User Guide: https://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php
Besides the Item timebase, there's also a Project timebase and Track timebase setting available: https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php#eus1hMD_eUo
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 10-15-2018 at 10:26 AM. Reason: added links
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 10:35 AM   #3
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scdaymon View Post
Hi there guys!

I'm in a middle of a project, and suddenly I realize that some items do not have the same rate!
I cannot understand why this happens? And it's the first time (in years) that I face this problem.
I only know that when I move an item, it changes the playrate of that item.
Is there any option that must be turned on or off?

Any tips?

Thanks in advance...


ScDaymon
If you move the item and it changes playrate then, it means you have the "time base" of your project, track or item on "beats". In this case every tempo change of the project ends up by changing the playrate. It stretches the item to keep the beat in lower tempo and squashes it in higher tempo. Think of it as a drumloop that sticks at the beat. Change the "time base" to "time" means, the item stays on the same playrate independent from tempo.

I guess you project has tempo changes. Hope you get it managed because this can end up in a pretty mess if your project is large and you found out to late.

Greetings
Eli
Eliseat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 05:22 AM   #4
scdaymon
Human being with feelings
 
scdaymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: France, Meylan
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you very much "solger" and "Eliseat"...as you both said, it was a probleme related with my projet timebase. In my projet I do have a lot of time changes, and the problem came from my item timebase properties defined to beats

It is now defined to time.

Uf... I really, really thank you both. That was killing me.

;-)
__________________
"the price of a soul is the cease of the heart"
scdaymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 07:26 AM   #5
pjd3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 71
Default Playrate changes

I'm glad I came across this. Thanks to all that responded.

What I've been doing is opening a new project as a "work bench" for another project. I do this so I don't make a total mess of the "Real" project. When I would finally render the parts from the work bench project to bring into the real project the playrates would be different on that particular item that I copied from the work bench project.

Now I have something to look into to remedy that.


Thanks again!

Phil
pjd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 12:31 PM   #6
JeffreyET
Human being with feelings
 
JeffreyET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 319
Default

Every once in while I still get messed up, like when I retard a MIDI item & then play the retarding rate on a live instrument (or vice-versa - mixing real time changes in performance with digital time changes gets tricky fast) but it certainly helps to know why & how to fix it.
__________________
JET Guitars Website http://www.jetguitars.com
Jeffrey's REAPER tracks http://soundcloud.com/jeffreyet
JeffreyET is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.