Old 10-22-2019, 08:48 AM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,519
Default v5.984+dev1022a - October 22 2019

v5.984+dev1022a - October 22 2019
# MIDI: prevent crash when importing .mid file

v5.984+dev1022 - October 22 2019
+ MIDI editor: add basic CC LFO dialog
+ MIDI editor: add separate mouse modifiers to delete CC events or reset CC values
+ MIDI editor: prevent overlapping window controls when displaying swing grid
+ Media items: add action to add stretch markers at project tempo changes
+ Media items: add action to clear and recalculate automatic stretch markers at project tempo changes
+ Media items: add timebase "Beats (warp at tempo changes)"
+ Render: allow specifying .aiff output for AIFF files, .mp4 or .m4v for videos, etc
+ Tracks: use correct supported channel count when increasing track channels via routing [t=226080]
# MIDI editor: do not automatically select all CC events at the same time position when clicking
# MIDI editor: support deleting bank/program/text/sysex events with delete mouse modifiers
# MIDI: fix incorrect all-notes-off created when inserting events via API [t=226237]
# Notation view: improve y-alignment of notes

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases

Last edited by Edgemeal; 10-22-2019 at 01:35 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 10:35 AM   #2
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v5.984+dev1022 - October 22 2019
+ MIDI editor: add basic CC LFO dialog
yahoo, gonna try that !
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 11:14 AM   #3
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,773
Default

Thanks devs!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 12:11 PM   #4
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,036
Default

Bug report: dragged a MIDI file over from Cubase to Reaper: poof.
Ungraceful crash.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 12:22 PM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,386
Default

Can you provide us with a copy of the file please?

[edit] never mind, fixing
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 12:38 PM   #6
mehmethan
Human being with feelings
 
mehmethan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
+ Media items: add timebase "Beats (warp at tempo changes)"
Thanks for this one. It works nice with static tempo changes. Is there a way to adapt the item when there is a graditually transition on tempo (tempo ramp)?
mehmethan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 12:43 PM   #7
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 659
Default

Is CC LFO only located in action menu ? I could not find in midi editor menu.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 12:43 PM   #8
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,841
Default

Wow, great update!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v5.984+dev1022 - October 22 2019
+ MIDI editor: add basic CC LFO dialog
In the dialog, "Frequency" should be "Warp".


Quote:
+ Media items: add action to add stretch markers at project tempo changes
+ Media items: add action to clear and recalculate automatic stretch markers at project tempo changes
+ Media items: add timebase "Beats (warp at tempo changes)"
The new timebase isn't listed in the media item right-click context menu yet.

Could the new "recalculate" action also replace non-unity playback rates with stretch markers?

As an example, the script "Adjust audio items to tempo changes using stretch markers" converts the items at the left to those on the right:




The new timebase action does not appear to stretch the audio accurately. The screenshot below is a comparison of warping by the script, which closely matches the MIDI (which of course has timebase=beats), versus the new timebase action:




Which theme colors are used for the auto-generated stretch markers? I can only barely see them.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 12:57 PM   #9
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
In the dialog, "Frequency" should be "Warp".
The text is just cut off on your machine .. it actually says "Frequency skew" and "Amplitude skew" (like the automation item LFO settings). We'll make the dialog a little wider.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 01:02 PM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
The new timebase action does not appear to stretch the audio accurately. The screenshot below is a comparison of warping by the script, which closely matches the MIDI (which of course has timebase=beats), versus the new timebase action:
When you say "new timebase action," what do you mean exactly? The new timebase setting should generate automatic sloped stretch markers if necessary to match linear tempo changes. The new action to insert normal stretch markers at tempo changes does just that, it inserts stretch markers without changing anything about the media playback. I'm not clear on what the item marked "new timebase action" in your screenshot represents -- I don't see any normal or automatic stretch markers in it.

If you think there is an incorrect behavior, most helpful would be if you could share a simple project and simple click-type audio item, to demonstrate.

Last edited by schwa; 10-22-2019 at 01:11 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 01:44 PM   #11
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,841
Default

I am referring to the new action "Item properties: Set item timebase to beats (auto-stretch at tempo changes)".

The problem isn't limited to a particular item or project, and can easily be replicated by rendering a MIDI item to audio, setting the new audio item to timebase=auto-stretch, and then copy/pasting both the MIDI and the audio item to a position with tempo changes. The audio item doesn't remain properly aligned with the MIDI item.

As an example:

After rendering (and copying the audio item -- the script will be applied to the second, bottom audio item):




After copy/pasting, audio in the middle item is auto-stretched a little, but does not align properly:




After applying the script to the bottom item, showing more accurate stretching of audio:

juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 01:53 PM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
I am referring to the new action "Item properties: Set item timebase to beats (auto-stretch at tempo changes)".
OK, yes, the problem arises when there are multiple linear tempo changes.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 02:17 PM   #13
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,190
Default

A BIG MESS....


"Delete notes/CC immediately (suppress right click context menu)."
why Velocity and Piano roll share the same action??? :/

I really don't like it to delete Velocity and the last thing I want it to do is to delete notes from the velocity lane. OMG...
however I do like that right click will delete notes in the pianoroll and suppress the right click context menu. (i actually like to suppress the right click menu in the piano roll and velocity lane for good!)


I need actions and mouse modifiers to set:

Piano roll:
Right click delete notes (+suppress right click context menu) and actually delete notes without dragging (currently you have to drag the mouse, one click just doesn't delete a note which is weird)

Velocity lane:
Right click create a linear ramp (instead of deleting notes).



why can't we just set our own actions for right click in the velocity lane regardless of the piano roll and whatever else?


right click is very limited to specific context and specific actions
this is big limitation and a real workflow stopper for me.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 01:30 PM   #14
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
# Notation view: improve y-alignment of notes

Thanks for this and the rest of additions/fixes, devs! One thing, since you´re dealing with the visual presentation of notes. Rests and accidentals with 1/16 and smaller figures collide with notes in many scenarios, with certain zoom levels :



Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 07:11 AM   #15
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soli Deo Gloria View Post
The easiest solution for this is to zoom out. There are problems with easy zooming though:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=221017

Another more complex solution might be to implement a variabe-width measures.

In some cases with half-full measures, "Musical note spacing" helps with preventing such overlaps.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services

Last edited by bFooz; 10-23-2019 at 09:17 AM.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 03:21 AM   #16
Hogi66
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sendenhorst, Germany
Posts: 19
Default

+ Render: allow specifying .aiff output for AIFF files, .mp4 or .m4v for videos, etc

How can I render a video as MP4? It is only offered .mov
How do I set that?
Hogi66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 03:40 AM   #17
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogi66 View Post
How can I render a video as MP4? It is only offered .mov
Select .mov from the format dropdown, but add ".mp4" to the end of the "Render to:" field.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 09:52 AM   #18
Hogi66
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sendenhorst, Germany
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Select .mov from the format dropdown, but add ".mp4" to the end of the "Render to:" field.
The "Render to:" field cannot be written on, it is grayed out.
Hogi66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 07:20 AM   #19
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,199
Default

Quote:
# MIDI: fix incorrect all-notes-off created when inserting events via API
Works well.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 04:24 PM   #20
Vadium
Human being with feelings
 
Vadium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
# Notation view: improve y-alignment of notes
Big thanks!!!
__________________
macOS 10.13.6, personal/small business use license
Vadium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.