Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2018, 03:08 AM   #161
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreiko View Post
Hey guys, hope you're well. Any other ways of solving the problem? Thanks!

No not until the developers update Reapers GUI code to run smoother on macOS.., as has been said already is that if FL Studio can all move and look sharp on macOS then Reaper can be made to run smoother and look better on macOS also.

.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.14.5.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 07:32 AM   #162
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur8me View Post
No not until the developers update Reapers GUI code to run smoother on macOS.., as has been said already is that if FL Studio can all move and look sharp on macOS then Reaper can be made to run smoother and look better on macOS also.

.

.
Even FLStudio benefits from this 'fix' though.

FLStudio also has a much simpler GUI and begins to lag very badly when you have many things open.

I own the best machine you can buy from Apple, and I can make FLStudio's GUI crawl to a snails pace without too much effort. Put the same project on a 2013 iMac and it runs fine.

That said, FLStudio does work nicely with basic workflows. Reaper is pretty sluggish and ugly in those scenarios. The comparison is definitely valid.
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more...
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 03:35 PM   #163
talustalus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 433
Default A solution in the works yet?

I experience exactly the same laggyness when plugin GUIs are open. It's unworkable unfortunately.

I'm new to Reaper (trialing it currently) and I absolutely love it, but for this one (not small) plugin GUI slow down issue.

Has anyone heard more about a potential fix?
talustalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 11:37 PM   #164
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 961
Default

I fear, that Cockos is more interested in Linux support, than optimizing Mac performance

That‘s one of the reasons, why Studio One is now my number one DAW and Reaper only number two. But the main reason are S1‘s songwriting capabilities, especially the new chord and arranger tracks.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 04:32 PM   #165
sw_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 22
Default

I’m also waiting for this extremely annoying issue to be fixed. I have no problems of this kind of lag in any other software. It’s bad in a small project but almost impossible to work when the tracks start to line up. And above all it’s killing a lot of creativity when you “chose not to scroll up to that one track and lower an envelope some dB” just because chances are good you’ll scroll right by the track due too the choppy interface... and so you don’t bother.

If they don’t intend to fix this I’d love to at least have them acknowledge the issue and perhaps like “it’s not fully compatible” or something like that. But still... it’s been like this for years!! And I love reaper so much. Both ideology and workflow but... Fix it already!

Enough ranting...

iMac 5k 2017. Radeon Pro 580 8gb gpu. Mojave. Payed reaper license.
sw_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 09:00 AM   #166
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aymara View Post
I fear, that Cockos is more interested in Linux support, than optimizing Mac performance

...
Well, they see the same writing on the wall there I think...

This isn't a general OSX issue though. Most of us have more responsive operation with OSX vs Windows. If whatever the scenario is here can be identified, I'm sure Cockos would be interested in curing it.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 01:10 PM   #167
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
This isn't a general OSX issue though. Most of us have more responsive operation with OSX vs Windows.
Might it be mainly an 5k iMac issue? I mean the non-Pro models.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 05:33 PM   #168
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,656
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Well, they see the same writing on the wall there I think...

This isn't a general OSX issue though. Most of us have more responsive operation with OSX vs Windows. If whatever the scenario is here can be identified, I'm sure Cockos would be interested in curing it.
It is a general Apple issue, Serr. Just not for everyone. It's not hardware dependent. It's software...

Just like the USB-C problems, it doesn't hit every user. So Apple can keep it up sticking their collective heads in the sand.


It seems the Finder can't even count anymore:

https://macperformanceguide.com/blog...izeFolder.html

And that's just the latest one. Applecore rot, indeed.
__________________
“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity” Albert Einstein
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 11:23 PM   #169
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrano View Post
It seems the Finder can't even count anymore
Thanks for the tip, didn‘t notice that so far. Apple‘s software QA is a pure mess since a few years.

As I always say: A one year OS life cycle is a complete no-go! And because MS follows the same strategy now, I expect similar things to happen to Windows ... I remember an update for example, that destroyed the TCP stack.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 03:05 AM   #170
sw_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aymara View Post
Might it be mainly an 5k iMac issue? I mean the non-Pro models.
I don't know but I really don't think that could be the issue since rendering a desktop gui should't need that kind of CPU/GPU power. And it's not like the CPU or the GPU is close to hit maximum usage either, far from it. And my Radeon Pro 580 8gb GPU should fix that workload pretty, pretty easy.

But to change angle of the question -is there anybody out there who runs Mac with a screen resolution higher than 1080 and where Reaper runs as smooth as on a windows machine?

PS. I just saw this video yesterday... and that is one year old -so still no improvements.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmdIOlI81Fg
sw_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 03:09 AM   #171
sw_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 22
Default

Btw. How can we get in touch and have a comment from Cockos? It's like complicate radio silence on the subject from them.

1) Do they know about it?
2) What's causing it?
3) Are they doing anything about it?
sw_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 05:25 AM   #172
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw_ View Post
1) Do they know about it?
On page 3 Justin participated in this discussion, so yes, Cockos knows about it.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 05:58 AM   #173
sw_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aymara View Post
On page 3 Justin participated in this discussion, so yes, Cockos knows about it.
Yeah, I saw those posts but that was posted way back in early 2017 (on a Sierra machine). I mean that IF they had some interest and/or knowledge about it one would only hope that they would have made some progress in these last two years. Or at least officially made it clear somewhere that Reaper is not suited for Macs with high resolution screens.
sw_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 05:59 AM   #174
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw_ View Post
Yeah, I saw those posts but that was posted way back in early 2017 (on a Sierra machine). I mean that IF they had some interest and/or knowledge about it one would only hope that they would have made some progress in these last two years. Or at least officially made it clear somewhere that Reaper is not suited for Macs with high resolution screens.
Yes, it seems this topic is on hold from a dev perspective ... don‘t know, though.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 04:15 AM   #175
kabas
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7
Default no improvements yet?

I love how reaper works really fine on windows, but on my 2014 Macbook pro it still bad.
__________________
Listen more, speak less
kabas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 03:40 PM   #176
piotr979
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Default Reaper 32 vs 64

Not sure if anybody noticed that, but today I discovered that 32bit version of reaper (i386) is working much faster (GUI I mean) than 64bit on my iMac 27 2018 5k.
Unfortunately due to the fact is 32bit I cant really use it (I have all 64bit plugs).

But why is that? Why 32bit version is very usable comparing to 64bit (especially piano roll is not that choppy anymore)?
piotr979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 07:58 AM   #177
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,586
Default

The latest +dev builds in the prerelease forum are testing some improvements using Metal to update the display, which should make for some big performance improvements on the 5k iMacs...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 08:02 AM   #178
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
... using Metal to update the display, ...
... is pretty good news
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 08:41 AM   #179
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 9,148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
The latest +dev builds in the prerelease forum are testing some improvements using Metal to update the display, which should make for some big performance improvements on the 5k iMacs...
Happy dance!
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 07:55 PM   #180
IadAslan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 26
Default

Having the exact same problems as OP in 2019 with the following setup:

Reaper 5.979

MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2018)
macOS Mojave 10.14.5 (18F203)
2,9 GHz Intel Core i9
32 GB 2400 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro Vega 20 4080 MB
1TB SSD internal
4TB SSD Samsung external via USB-C
5TB HDD LaCie external via USB-C
UAD Apollo Twin MKII via Thunderbolt 2 to USB-C Adapter
Apple Magic Mouse 2 via Bluetooth

The horrible lag and lack of precision is keeping me from fully switching to Reaper at this point. Literally every other DAW is running smooth on my machine.
IadAslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 08:01 PM   #181
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,586
Default

Please check out the pre-release forum and the latest development builds, they will likely improve things for you!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 11:07 PM   #182
IadAslan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Please check out the pre-release forum and the latest development builds, they will likely improve things for you!
Thanks I didn't know about that! Works very nice so far!

Edit: GUI performance definitely decreases on my end the larger the project gets...

Last edited by IadAslan; 07-11-2019 at 11:31 PM.
IadAslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:58 AM   #183
IadAslan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Please check out the pre-release forum and the latest development builds, they will likely improve things for you!
Ok I noticed a weird thing. Initially I installed the 32Bit version for macOS by mistake, which runs flawlessly in terms of graphics performance. The 64Bit version however (even the public update that just came out) still has the same graphics problems as OP mentioned on my system...
IadAslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:03 AM   #184
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IadAslan View Post
Ok I noticed a weird thing. Initially I installed the 32Bit version for macOS by mistake, which runs flawlessly in terms of graphics performance. The 64Bit version however (even the public update that just came out) still has the same graphics problems as OP mentioned on my system...
The public release (5.980) does not have the graphic improvements, be sure to test the 64-bit version of 5.980+dev0711.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 07:10 AM   #185
reinaldo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1
Default Graphic improvements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
The public release (5.980) does not have the graphic improvements, be sure to test the 64-bit version of 5.980+dev0711.
Hi Justin! Is there an ETA on when the public release will include the graphic improvements? I'm running +dev0705 on my iMac Pro 5K Mojave with the Default HD theme and the UI works without any lags. I'm more than happy to test any pre release builds.

Thanks!

PS: I recently switched from 12+ years working with ProTools. Reaper blows my mind away by the minute.
reinaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 08:01 AM   #186
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reinaldo View Post
Hi Justin! Is there an ETA on when the public release will include the graphic improvements? I'm running +dev0705 on my iMac Pro 5K Mojave with the Default HD theme and the UI works without any lags. I'm more than happy to test any pre release builds.

Thanks!

PS: I recently switched from 12+ years working with ProTools. Reaper blows my mind away by the minute.
No ETA, sorry, but it will definitely be at least 1 month (these are pretty major changes that need a lot of pre-release testing).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 06:26 AM   #187
JacobAguilera
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
No ETA, sorry, but it will definitely be at least 1 month (these are pretty major changes that need a lot of pre-release testing).
Same issue here. I'm really waiting for dev team to fix this. It became too slow to use on MAC. My projects are getting stucked and late delivered because of this.

I hope will get a fix asap.
JacobAguilera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 07:59 AM   #188
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JacobAguilera View Post
Same issue here. I'm really waiting for dev team to fix this. It became too slow to use on MAC. My projects are getting stucked and late delivered because of this.

I hope will get a fix asap.
You can try the +dev builds, if you like. Check out the pre-release forum.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 11:59 PM   #189
quadrifoglio
Human being with feelings
 
quadrifoglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 39
Default

Hello everyone,

Just testing v5.983+dev 1002/64 rev921415 (2 oct 2019), everything works perfectly, there is no lag in HiRes mode, also it runs better and more fluid than with LowRes.
It is perfect!

Great job!
quadrifoglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 12:14 AM   #190
IadAslan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadrifoglio View Post
Hello everyone,

Just testing v5.983+dev 1002/64 rev921415 (2 oct 2019), everything works perfectly, there is no lag in HiRes mode, also it runs better and more fluid than with LowRes.
It is perfect!

Great job!
Can't confirm that unfortunately - what are your system specs?
IadAslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 08:19 AM   #191
quadrifoglio
Human being with feelings
 
quadrifoglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 39
Default

It is iMac 5K 2017, Intel i5, ATI RX580, Mojave.

Try resetting everything to factory settings and start from there.

Hi Justin, when will this fix be implemented in regular Reaper?
quadrifoglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 11:56 AM   #192
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadrifoglio View Post
It is iMac 5K 2017, Intel i5, ATI RX580, Mojave.

Try resetting everything to factory settings and start from there.

Hi Justin, when will this fix be implemented in regular Reaper?
Not too much longer, but a bit yet.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.