Old 11-14-2019, 08:43 PM   #1
xlliilliillx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Default Bypassing Plugins on Folder Track

I have a folder track that is titled as my Guitar Bus, with three guitar subfolders underneath it. One is panned hard right and hard left, with the third being panned near the center. The two guitars on the outsides have a couple of resonant frequencies both in the upper mids as well as the upper bass range which I would like to treat both with surgical eq and Multiband. Is there a way for me to process these with a plugin on the Guitar Bus Folder without affecting the center guitar? I know I could make another track and make a send, but this would cause them to process in parallel rather than negating the original track, correct? I'd assume I could use a combination of channels and routing to keep them specially processed on the Bus track, but I also feel like there is a way for me to send them to a separate track and then mute the output of the originals so that they aren't processed together. How can I get around this? Thanks!
xlliilliillx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 09:22 PM   #2
JohnnyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
JohnnyMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Twin Cities, Mn
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xlliilliillx View Post
I have a folder track that is titled as my Guitar Bus, with three guitar subfolders underneath it. One is panned hard right and hard left, with the third being panned near the center. The two guitars on the outsides have a couple of resonant frequencies both in the upper mids as well as the upper bass range which I would like to treat both with surgical eq and Multiband. Is there a way for me to process these with a plugin on the Guitar Bus Folder without affecting the center guitar? I know I could make another track and make a send, but this would cause them to process in parallel rather than negating the original track, correct? I'd assume I could use a combination of channels and routing to keep them specially processed on the Bus track, but I also feel like there is a way for me to send them to a separate track and then mute the output of the originals so that they aren't processed together. How can I get around this? Thanks!
Hi,
I'm not sure why you don't just put an EQ or compressor or dynamic EQ on each gtr track and fix the resonant frequencies that way? Can explain why you are avoiding that?

I don't understand the other things you wrote.

Regarding the gtr folder you describe, if you use mid side processing and EQ only the sides, you could affect mostly only the panned gtrs without affecting the center panned one, but both Left and right sides would get the same EQ.
JohnnyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 03:19 PM   #3
xlliilliillx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Yeah I can, I have a "Guitar Bus" Folder Track Containing Three Sub-folders, "Guitar Bus Left", "Guitar Bus Right", and "Guitar Bus Center". Each of these sub-folders contains two tracks each, a "guitar high" and "guitar low". I didn't produce it, but that's how I have it organized so I can top down mix on it. Rather than putting multiple plugins on 4 tracks to tackle the resonances I'd just like to put a plugin on the guitar master and only treat certain tracks. Could I not set a certain plugin on the guitar bus to only affect certain channels, say if the guitar left and right tracks are sent to those channels or something? I know I could use ms processing or something like that, or do each one separately, I'd just like to see if there is a way to do it all on the bus. Hope this clarifies, thanks.
xlliilliillx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 03:45 PM   #4
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,337
Default

Send the center guitar to channels 3/4 on the guitar bus. Use any plugin you want to combine that with the 1/2 channels after they've been processed. There are dedicated channel mixer plugs, but you could really use the I/O pins for any plugin at all.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 04:11 PM   #5
JohnnyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
JohnnyMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Twin Cities, Mn
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xlliilliillx View Post
Yeah I can, I have a "Guitar Bus" Folder Track Containing Three Sub-folders, "Guitar Bus Left", "Guitar Bus Right", and "Guitar Bus Center". Each of these sub-folders contains two tracks each, a "guitar high" and "guitar low". I didn't produce it, but that's how I have it organized so I can top down mix on it. Rather than putting multiple plugins on 4 tracks to tackle the resonances I'd just like to put a plugin on the guitar master and only treat certain tracks. Could I not set a certain plugin on the guitar bus to only affect certain channels, say if the guitar left and right tracks are sent to those channels or something? I know I could use ms processing or something like that, or do each one separately, I'd just like to see if there is a way to do it all on the bus. Hope this clarifies, thanks.
I guess you could do that but I don't think you're saving much time or anything. Seems easier just to slap a plug on each guitar and treat the individual resonances. Unless its the same guitar on each part (same guitar, amp, mic, signal chain, what have you) those resonances will be at different frequencies anyhow, so the same EQ for all would start to affect all the guitars if the frequencies overlap at all, wouldn't it? Now if it was the same guitar signal chain on all 3 then I think it would work.
JohnnyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 01:11 AM   #6
Dex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xlliilliillx View Post
Yeah I can, I have a "Guitar Bus" Folder Track Containing Three Sub-folders, "Guitar Bus Left", "Guitar Bus Right", and "Guitar Bus Center". Each of these sub-folders contains two tracks each, a "guitar high" and "guitar low". I didn't produce it, but that's how I have it organized so I can top down mix on it. Rather than putting multiple plugins on 4 tracks to tackle the resonances I'd just like to put a plugin on the guitar master and only treat certain tracks. Could I not set a certain plugin on the guitar bus to only affect certain channels, say if the guitar left and right tracks are sent to those channels or something? I know I could use ms processing or something like that, or do each one separately, I'd just like to see if there is a way to do it all on the bus. Hope this clarifies, thanks.
Add another folder “guitar bus sides” inside your guitar bus folder and put the left and right bus folders inside that. Put your new eq on the new folder.
Dex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.