Old 11-24-2010, 12:09 PM   #1
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,914
Default FR: Make LICEcap For Mac

Hi all,
The title pretty much says it. Can we please have a version of LICEcap for Mac?

Thanks, Wyatt
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 01:33 AM   #2
Some Guy
Human being with feelings
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 415
Default

yes please, licecap for mac!!
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 10:02 AM   #3
buckman
Human being with feelings
 
buckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,676
Default

+10000!
__________________
==
Reaper 6 needs Area Selection!
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=122
buckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 03:01 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

There is a test version that is incomplete (no mouse cursor writing, no hotkey support, other stuff incomplete) at http://landoleet.org/licecap

Only tested on 10.6, but should work on 10.5 too, not sure about 10.4 though.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 03:27 PM   #5
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There is a test version that is incomplete (no mouse cursor writing, no hotkey support, other stuff incomplete) at http://landoleet.org/licecap

Only tested on 10.6, but should work on 10.5 too, not sure about 10.4 though.
workin good here on 10.6
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 04:13 PM   #6
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Question

This is just a niggle of a question , but is there a really important reason why the mac builds of LiceCap and REAPER use such blocky/fugly buttons instead of the nice round OS ones?

LiceCap test build also working here under 10.6.8

s'great
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 08:05 AM   #7
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,914
Default

Thanks!
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 06:18 AM   #8
ReVizer
Human being with feelings
 
ReVizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Russia, P-Posad
Posts: 25
Default

In Lion not work
ReVizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 11:56 AM   #9
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
mrelwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,367
Default

Tried on OSX 10.7.1 Lion:

- No image output, only black (with the correct image size though).
- Cursor movement is recorded, but the cursor icon stays on on all cursor positions.
__________________
______Announcing__mrelwood plugins______
.. MacBook Pro 15" Late '13 .. Scarlett 6i6, Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000) .. FCA610 .. EVE: SC207 .. Focal: Alpha 65, CMS 40, Listen Pro ..
mrelwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:49 AM   #10
Some Guy
Human being with feelings
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 415
Default

it's not working for me on snow leopard. same behavior as the above poster mentioned. i get a black gif that only shows the cursor, but it's not moving.

i feel a little left out on the mac, as this is a useful tool to get better support.
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 04:06 AM   #11
Some Guy
Human being with feelings
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 415
Default

here's the problem:

Attached Images
File Type: gif Mouse:Keyboard.gif (57.1 KB, 1798 views)
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 02:34 AM   #12
Tom Drinkwater
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 262
Default

yep i have that problem too.

it has been a while, has there been a solution?

osx lion 10.7.3
Tom Drinkwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 03:33 AM   #13
geoffroy
Human being with feelings
 
geoffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 423
Default

looking fwd for os 10.7 support!
__________________
http://www.brocoli.org
geoffroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:45 PM   #14
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

Here's a test build with Lion/Mountain Lion support:

http://landoleet.org/licecap/licecap121.dmg

(It also changes the way the screen is captured on 10.6, so hopefully it works right there too!).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:13 AM   #15
geoffroy
Human being with feelings
 
geoffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 423
Default

Thanks a lot Justin ! Works great on Mac OS 10.8 !

Cheers
__________________
http://www.brocoli.org
geoffroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:44 AM   #16
Tom Drinkwater
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 262
Default

i haven't tried it yet, but thanks so much, this really helps with demonstrating stuff on the forum!
Tom Drinkwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 09:00 AM   #17
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Thanks!
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:01 AM   #18
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,605
Default

Awesome, thanks!
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:13 AM   #19
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffroy View Post
Thanks a lot Justin ! Works great on Mac OS 10.8 !
Same here.

There is one thing that I am still missing though, compared to screen capture apps like ScreenFlow: the mouse pointer is always shown with the default pointer icon. If it would somehow be possible to capture the pointer icon exactly as it appears in REAPER, that would be highly useful. If I want to show some behaviour involving the mouse pointers (such as these - now fixed - bugs), I will still have to use something else.
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:45 PM   #20
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

Yeah, mouse cursors on OSX would be great, I just can't find the API to get the current cursor in other processes. Anybody have any ideas?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:50 PM   #21
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,006
Default

Not sure, but perhaps QDGetCursorData, or [NSCursor currentSystemCursor] on OSX 10.6+.
__________________
Martinic Kee Bass - Scanner Vibrato - Elka Panther - Tale's JSFX Pack
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:01 PM   #22
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Perhaps this StackOverflow post is useful; it refers to the NSCursor Class Reference:

Quote:
currentSystemCursor
Returns the current system cursor.

Code:
+ (NSCursor *)currentSystemCursor
Return Value
A cursor whose image and hot spot match those of the currently-displayed cursor on the system

Discussion
This method returns the current system cursor regardless of which application set the cursor, and whether Cocoa or Carbon APIs were used to set it.

This method replaces the now deprecated QDGetCursorData function.

Availability
Available in OS X v10.6 and later.
Declared In
NSCursor.h
[EDIT:] Oh... Tale ninja'd me there. :/
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 07:33 AM   #23
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

Awesome, didn't realize the 10.6+ API was there! That should be straightforward, looking at supporting 10.5 and earlier too.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:14 AM   #24
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

Since you guys were so helpful before -- anybody know of an API to get the mouse button state on OSX? The ones I see only seem to work when you are the active application...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:32 AM   #25
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Since you guys were so helpful before -- anybody know of an API to get the mouse button state on OSX? The ones I see only seem to work when you are the active application...
CGEventTapCreate may be what you're looking for (+ kCGMouseEventClickState).

A bunch of StackOverflow posts relating to this issue:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3...e-my-applicati
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3...t-system-level
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6...vents-in-cocoa
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6...s-in-cocoa-app
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2...-python-on-mac
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...ny-application
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ

Last edited by Banned; 12-02-2012 at 10:53 AM.
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:21 AM   #26
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

Woohoo, thanks a bunch Banned!

http://landoleet.org/licecap/licecap122.dmg

Only tested on 10.8 so far, but cursors and click detection seem to work here! I'll test the cursor grabbing code on 10.4/10.5 tomorrow, it probably doesn't work but anything is possible.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:35 AM   #27
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Working great on OS X 10.8 here too.

And you're quite welcome, I'm glad to be able to help you to provide such an absolutely awesome tool for free (even a great commercial screen cap app like ScreenFlow doesn't give me .gif animations, which are much preferable to 'movie' formats for many purposes including a forum like this one - I would have bought it for a few bucks without hesitation). Thank *you* very much!
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 12:48 PM   #28
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Yay, finally OS X users can now show minor nitpicks as easily as the Window users.

These were still on my to-do list, btw, and made a fine test case: without showing the mouse button presses they would not be very useful.

It takes a bit of experimenting with the max. frame rate to make sure all the clicks are shown; perhaps this could be optimised a bit to catch and show mouse clicks 'between' frames on lower frame rates as well?
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 12:55 PM   #29
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,006
Default

Works on 10.6.8 as well.
__________________
Martinic Kee Bass - Scanner Vibrato - Elka Panther - Tale's JSFX Pack
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 02:56 PM   #30
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banned View Post
It takes a bit of experimenting with the max. frame rate to make sure all the clicks are shown; perhaps this could be optimised a bit to catch and show mouse clicks 'between' frames on lower frame rates as well?
On OSX or Windows? On OSX it has a latch mechanism to always catch.. Windows needs to duplicate that, though.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 04:52 PM   #31
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,588
Default

I'm giving LICE 1.22 a go on PPC 10.5.8 and its crashing. Course that's not a big surprise for a computer that's being left in the dust by most apps these days.

No biggee. I can always turn back.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 05:06 PM   #32
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
On OSX or Windows? On OSX it has a latch mechanism to always catch.. Windows needs to duplicate that, though.
Oh indeed, it does (I'm on OS X, usually)… it's just that with rapid clicks, you just see 'one long click', so to speak (I was trying to show a few problems with rapid mouse clicks). I guess that's simply a limitation of having a low frame rate.

But perhaps you could force adding an extra frame whenever there is a click followed immediately by a release and another click that otherwise would show on the next frame without an intermediate frame showing the release of the click button (i.e. no circle around pointer).
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 06:18 PM   #33
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
I'm giving LICE 1.22 a go on PPC 10.5.8 and its crashing. Course that's not a big surprise for a computer that's being left in the dust by most apps these days.

No biggee. I can always turn back.
I'll look into this soon, it is not surprising...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:33 PM   #34
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

1.22 is updated for OSX on landoleet -- fixes crashing on 10.5/10.4, but it won't show the correct cursor on those OSes. Also it is compiled with ICC again, so it should perform a bit better.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:44 AM   #35
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Justin, there seems to be a minor problem with the display of elapsed time: the numbers sometimes alternate between regular/upside down. Apple frameworks' coordinate system flipping can be quite confusing at times, I guess that may have caught you off-guard somewhere.

__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:26 PM   #36
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banned View Post
Justin, there seems to be a minor problem with the display of elapsed time: the numbers sometimes alternate between regular/upside down. Apple frameworks' coordinate system flipping can be quite confusing at times, I guess that may have caught you off-guard somewhere.

Ahh, good catch, looks like LICE_SubBitmap forgot to implement isFlipped(). Fixing.

Edit: 1.22 updated on landoleet.org/licecap

Last edited by Justin; 12-04-2012 at 03:37 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 01:23 AM   #37
Ruxton
Human being with feelings
 
Ruxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 54
Smile

Cheers for bringing LiceCAP back to life on OSX! chuffed to be capturing animated gifs of feature implementations to submit with pull requests again!
__________________
Cross-platform hooligan, rocking MacBooks & Intel desktops | http://www.selektfew.com/ | http://www.rhythmandpoetry.net/
Ruxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:39 PM   #38
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,588
Default

Just tested. Working fine on PPC - Leopard.

Thanks.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:13 PM   #39
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,308
Default

100% credit goes to white tie for this, but I found it while googling "licecap icon"

Thread post:
http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...62&postcount=4

http://cl.ly/image/0V0s1G3n0d19



I did a hack job cutting it out of the orignal logo, but it looks pretty good in my dock.
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:33 PM   #40
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,588
Default

I can see why as a people-pleasing commercially entity this icon would have been sidelined, but as a cool renegade peace of attitude, I think its a winner.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.