Old 04-28-2017, 09:21 AM   #1
Ajp251
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Default Latency on mac

Hi everyone, i'm new here and new to reaper. I'm a long time protools user. I'm experiencing latency on my guitars. I am a bit confused about how to bring the buffer settings down. I'm using a mac mini,apogee quartet, focusrite isa1. Not sure if its a driver issue as well. Any tips would be welcomed. I will also read the manual.
😀
Ajp251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 10:44 AM   #2
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,028
Default

The I/O buffer that sets your system latency is on the Preferences/Audio/Device page. It's called block size in Reaper. Check the box next to it to enable the control. Unchecked means ignore any value entered here to let a different audio app or control panel app run this.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 12:48 PM   #3
Ajp251
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Default

Ohh thanks. What size should i input for block size?
Ajp251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 01:28 PM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,771
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajp251 View Post
Ohh thanks. What size should i input for block size?
512 is a quite common and pretty "safe" value.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 02:45 PM   #5
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajp251 View Post
Ohh thanks. What size should i input for block size?
Depends on what you are doing.
An analogy might be like asking "What gear should I drive in?"

Low latency is needed for anything to do with live sound. If you are monitoring your input live through the mixing board, you need < 11ms total round trip latency. If you are just mixing already recorded tracks, set it high (eg. 1024 samples) to save CPU for processing.

For live use, set it as low as possible to still have stable operation with the plugins you want to use. 128 samples is a good starting point. If you have a cheaper USB interface though it might take a setting of 64 samples just to make < 11ms which will leave you without much CPU headroom left for a lot of plugins.

You should get a baseline on your system to see what you have to work with. Run a loopback test with each of your interfaces separately and with them in an aggregate device together to see what you have. If you can hit < 11ms at a 128 sample block size you'll be golden for dialing up lots of plugins at that latency.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 03:11 PM   #6
Ajp251
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Default

Ok thanks. I'll investigate some more
Ajp251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.