Old 10-08-2009, 10:57 PM   #1
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default ReaEQ: Spectrum analyzer?

Realtime spectrum/frequency analyzer on the EQ graph in ReaEQ? On/off switch to make it optional.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 11:21 PM   #2
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,258
Default

would be fine. +1
maybe use reafir till then.
(common answer in the threads where this gets adressed)
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 12:00 AM   #3
Broman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 403
Default

Sounds good to me.
Broman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 12:56 AM   #4
drillbit
Human being with feelings
 
drillbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 634
Default

+1

I would use it a bit more if it had this
drillbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 01:45 AM   #5
RRokkenAudio
Human being with feelings
 
RRokkenAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 777
Default

Would be nice, Don't think its gonna happen anytime soon.

Voxengo Gliss is where its at, worth every penny.

~Rob.

+1
RRokkenAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:23 AM   #6
Fannon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 38
Default

Any1 seen the EQ of FruityLoops Studio? This one looks really great! A pleasure to look at. It also shows the freq spectrum in a intresting way. Not by a curve, but by lighting the background.

I also love the c1-c9 and Low-Bass -> Treble thing.

Really would love to see ReaEQ getting this idea.

+1!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2009-09-29 22 27 02.jpg (21.8 KB, 365 views)
Fannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:29 AM   #7
rennect
Human being with feelings
 
rennect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Russian Federation
Posts: 221
Default

+1.

The best EQ with spectrum analyzer i know is from iZotope Ozone.
Voxengo Gliss' spectrum analyzer is somewhat slow by default for me.
And FL's I don't like either, it's looks good, but it's harder to perceive background color.
rennect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:37 AM   #8
stupeT
Human being with feelings
 
stupeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: frankonia
Posts: 1,996
Default

Why not just save a FX chain with EQ and one Spectrum Analyzer before and one after EQ?
__________________
------------------------------------------
Don't read this sentence to it's end, please.
stupeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:58 AM   #9
JFX
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 100
Default +1

+1
I would like the option to have something like the Reafir analyzer in ReaEq -who wouldn't

Sure using two analysers (one before and one after eq) is a workaround but not that practical!

JfX
JFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 06:49 AM   #10
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,917
Default

+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by stupeT View Post
Why not just save a FX chain with EQ and one Spectrum Analyzer before and one after EQ?
1. saving screen space

2. I'd like to see the spectrum curves (preferably in in out in different colors, on/off switchable of course) "under" the EQ bands instead of sperate windows


The FFT analyser code seems already to be there (ReaFIR and JS plugs) so yeah...
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:11 AM   #11
diegux
Human being with feelings
 
diegux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 91
Default

+1 I could really use this a lot
diegux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:14 AM   #12
nfpotter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 1,050
Default

+1 fo' shizzle.
__________________
"A fly was very close to being called a land, 'cause that's what they do half the time."

-Mitch Hedberg
nfpotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:21 AM   #13
shakey.oberon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 996
Default

you read my mind
+100
shakey.oberon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:28 AM   #14
wallace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 472
Default

Great idea +1
wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:40 AM   #15
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default

now in the issues tracker...

http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=1318
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 12:34 PM   #16
hantymansy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kazakhstan
Posts: 94
Default

zomg... let just add more bells and whistles.. use your ears!
hantymansy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:59 PM   #17
GestionSP
Human being with feelings
 
GestionSP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 99
Default

+1

Very usefull.... please
__________________
Digital Audio Recording & Music Production

www.gestionsp.cl
GestionSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 10:34 PM   #18
RRokkenAudio
Human being with feelings
 
RRokkenAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 777
Default

Better interface for Reafir +2
RRokkenAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 02:46 PM   #19
shakey.oberon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hantymansy View Post
zomg... let just add more bells and whistles.. use your ears!
Unfortunately we can't all afford a perfect full range monitoring system and accoustically treated room, so these things are very necessary to most people, me especially

that isn't meant to be sarcastic by the way! ;-)
shakey.oberon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 12:51 AM   #20
Fannon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 38
Default

yes... and because of that good and more presets would be also a very good thing... !
Fannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 01:47 AM   #21
rennect
Human being with feelings
 
rennect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Russian Federation
Posts: 221
Default

Why do you need presets for EQ?
o_O
rennect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 01:49 AM   #22
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,163
Default

Because it's nice to have a starting point!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 02:57 AM   #23
rennect
Human being with feelings
 
rennect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Russian Federation
Posts: 221
Default

So it's good to have intellectual EQ that analyze current spectrum and dynamically adds bands at key frequencies (local mins and maxs), so that we get optimal starting point.

Oh, sorry. Just a random crazy idea.
rennect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 04:07 AM   #24
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default

I support the idea of EQ presets. Why? Because EQ is a tool that's hard to master. If you're good with EQ and mixing in general, you would rarely (if ever) want to use generic presets with EQ. For a newbie however, EQing can be very hard to grasp. A common impulse is to turn stuff up randomly because it usually sounds good. The concept of cutting/shaping frequencies is something that needs to be learned. Several EQ curves which demonstrate low-cut/hi-pass, the telephone effect and some other common curves would be a better starting point. Strictly for educational/demonstrative purposes.

I know for sure that EQ presets helped me when I was starting out.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 11:34 PM   #25
delphi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 420
Default

+1000

I don't want to buy an external eq (voxengo or fabfilter) just to have this feature!
delphi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 06:35 PM   #26
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,661
Default

1) trust your ears. <-- the best argument against spectrum analysis

2) monitors suck. <-- the best argument for spectrum analysis

'most' people have problem 2 whether 1 is true or not.

so, yeah, +1 that spectrum analyzer would be good to slap into the ReaEQ.

especially if the eq graph were a bit bigger (if my memory serves)

but for all that development, it could be sold as a separate plugin.

question then is "does the world need yet another such plugin when so much good competition already exists?"

one that i tried and loved was Apulsoft ApEQ ... its been renamed since.
__________________
thanks!
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 08:09 PM   #27
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,199
Default

+1

I'd use this all the time.

I think 'Spectrum Sidechaining' would also be really cool, where you can see the curve of a different track and EQ the current track using it as a reference.

One way to do this would be to make ReaEQ aware of other instances and have a drop-down selection for the spectrum analyzer input, though I'm sure Cockos could think of a better way to do it...
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 64-bit, Reaper 5(x64), Core i7-5700HQ, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960M, SSD
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 08:36 AM   #28
Mike Stop Continues
Human being with feelings
 
Mike Stop Continues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stupeT View Post
Why not just save a FX chain with EQ and one Spectrum Analyzer before and one after EQ?
Why not just use a player piano? ;P

+1
__________________
-Mike Stop Continues
ReaMenus ...the better menu set.

Last edited by Mike Stop Continues; 05-25-2010 at 05:43 AM. Reason: forgot my +1
Mike Stop Continues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 10:07 AM   #29
RRokkenAudio
Human being with feelings
 
RRokkenAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 777
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitchSlap View Post
+1

I'd use this all the time.

I think 'Spectrum Sidechaining' would also be really cool, where you can see the curve of a different track and EQ the current track using it as a reference.
Leave ReaEQ how it is, its a great track plug. You want that stuff, buy GlissEQ does everything you ask for and more. Love that plug

"+1000 I don't want to buy an external eq (voxengo or fabfilter) just to have this feature!" - Seems like a move to Greece is in order

~Rob.
RRokkenAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 10:26 AM   #30
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RRokkenAudio View Post
Leave ReaEQ how it is, its a great track plug. You want that stuff, buy GlissEQ does everything you ask for and more. Love that plug

"+1000 I don't want to buy an external eq (voxengo or fabfilter) just to have this feature!" - Seems like a move to Greece is in order

~Rob.
Maybe the devs should have left Reaper alone at 1.0 too?

If you're happy with ReaEQ the way it is then back up or rename the DLL and when a new version has features you don't want, you can continue using the version you have now.

Perhaps side-chained spectrum analyzing would be more suited for ReaFIR, but ReaEQ would soooo much better with a basic spectrum analyzer feature.

Thanks for the heads up on GlissEQ, though I'm not about to spend 2x what I paid for my Reaper license just for this feature.

The description does help explain my FR more eloquently though:
Quote:
GlissEQ features real-time spectrum analyzer. Moreover, the spectrum of a track can be exported to any other instance of GlissEQ thus making real-time inter-track spectrum comparisons possible. This can help you free frequency ranges in one track to allow the instrument in another track occupying same frequencies breathe.
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 64-bit, Reaper 5(x64), Core i7-5700HQ, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960M, SSD

Last edited by PitchSlap; 05-24-2010 at 01:18 PM.
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 12:59 PM   #31
HOFX
Human being with feelings
 
HOFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 381
Default

+1

Character count....
HOFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:23 AM   #32
Mike.Pankau
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Fabfilter can show both pre and post EQ application.

http://rekkerd.org/img/201001/fabfilter_proq_screen.png

Definitely worth the $185 for a great EQ.

http://www.fabfilter.com/shop/?article=46
Mike.Pankau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:34 AM   #33
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default

Yeah, FabFilter must be great. And it costs 3x as much as Reaper. Cool

j/k

The point is, there are perfect EQs out there to buy. But this thread is about adding a feature to ReaEQ.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 11:56 PM   #34
delphi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan View Post
The point is, there are perfect EQs out there to buy. But this thread is about adding a feature to ReaEQ.
Yes and i think that ReaEq is really good, IMHO it just miss an overlayed analyzer to confirm what I hear.

Not to mention, that the spectrum analyzer should be enabled or disabled by a checkbox: so if you want you use it, otherwise you save resources.
delphi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2017, 05:10 AM   #35
flusheddata
Human being with feelings
 
flusheddata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leon, Spain
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by delphi View Post
Yes and i think that ReaEq is really good, IMHO it just miss an overlayed analyzer to confirm what I hear.
There is presently though it seems not quite accurate.
__________________
There are 10 types of people.
Those who understand binary and those who do not
flusheddata is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.